We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless well appointed accommodation with hospitable hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chark Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chark Farm
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless well appointed accommodation with hospitable hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at Chark farm with our 3 year old and a second family with a 3 and 1 year old. We booked Lowarth Chy and Mesyow Chy as they link internally through one of the twin bedrooms. We couldn't have wished for better accommodation or a more relaxing stay. From the point of booking Jenny, the owner, was welcoming and offered help and advice. The 2 boys were in heaven as soon as we arrived and found the ride on toy tractors, sand pit and huge garden that we had access to from our cottages. Every morning the boys were treated to feeding the goats, hens, pigs and horses. There were even 2 calves to bottle feed. They also came back to the cottages without fail carrying fresh eggs for breakfast. They were also treated to pony rides on Billy the miniture horse and we all had 2 lovely cart rides round the lanes pulled by Jasmine. Clive the farmer even found time to take us round the diary unit and allow the boys on his tractor. The cottages themselves were spotlessly clean and well equiped. Beds were extremely comfortable and all bedrooms were spacious. Kitchen facilities were faultless with both a dishwasher and a washing machine in each. There is plenty to do both on and off the farm including walks through the fields and woods and beaches a short drive away. We would recommend Chark Farm without hesitation to families and those wanting a traditional Cornish holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank originaldob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We didn't realise how fortunate we were to have found Chark Farm until we arrived. Yes, the reviews were good and location seemed perfect - but for a first visit to Cornwall with our young daughter it truly was.

Made up of five converted barns on a dairy farm, Chark offers a central location within Cornwall to easily explore all the county has to offer and more. Being a working farm, each morning if you wished (and our five year old daugher did, and even us adults tagged along...) you donned your wellies and off you went to feed pigs, goats, chickens (and collect eggs for breakfast), let out the pony, g/pigs, ducks, calves etc before setting off on your daily excursions. To be repeated at the end of the day if you wished too.

With only a week at our disposal we found Chark central to beaches, castles, manor houses, hidden gardens, Eden Project, quaint fishing villages, larger towns, Lands End, aquariums, owl sanctuaries and an endless list of things to see and do.

The facitilies are super. Self-catering though with every whim taken care of. We stayed in the smallest, though incredibly spacious barn which was equipped with everything from our own washer/dryer, TV, DVD player, microwave, oven, stove, full kitchen utensils (even an electric can opener), fridge, freezer etc etc. Linen, towels, iron, hairdryer, and almost anything you could think of had been thought of (it is a holiday afterall!)

We left having so enjoyed our time, with our daugher heavy hearted to leave behind all her new animal friends - the farm animals as well as the domesticated ones in the farm dogs and cats and little friends she had made from the neighbouring families staying at Chark.

A wonderful, thoroughlly enjoyable break that we almost don't want to tell anyone else about in fear that our secret will be out. Then again, Clive, Jenny and co need to be regognised for the wonderful home from home and service they offer.

Go stay, you won't regret it for a second.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwixUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

From the moment we arrived on day one, Jenny, Clive, Martin, the animals, the staff, other guests and Uncle John made all of us feel included, on holiday and realise that Chark is a very special place.
I almost don't want to spread the word and want to keep Chark a secret. We aren't a family in the habit of returning time and time again, but I know that one day we will return to Chark.
We aren't a "Townie" family but at Chark we really were in the country. We were in easy distance of loads of things to do, but each morning we had to feed the animals with Jenny, who as the week goes on is happy to let you just get on with it. During the feeding we collected fresh eggs, so fresh we often had to lift the hen off the warm egg. We met other guests who were great and Lisa summed up that being small and mixing every day with a few friends and joining in really made Chark fun.
We were back every evening for feeding and our kids absolutely loved this. It was really important to them to get back in time for feeding or cart rides with Jenny and Jasmine, or just playing on the farm.
Megan went on two trips with Clive and his reluctant farming son, Martin to herd the cows in and take them to the dairy,fantastic. The next day Clive took us to the dairy and showed us a calf that was 30 minutes old and was from one of the cows Megan had brought in the previous day. Wellies are a must as regularly you are wading in recycled grass and cow food!!
We were able to relax and really enjoy everything.
Clive took us all on a tour of the dairy and thanks to Clive for this, it was brilliant.
Leaving Chark was terrible, my daughters are heartbroken at leaving the animals and I had to make sure that Tess had not been dognapped by my 4 year old. We are printing pictures for the girls for homework diaries and pictures in their rooms.
If you are looking for a family farm holiday in Cornwall then Chark is the place. If you are looking for a very quiet little retreat for relaxing, Chark can also be the place. All of the previous reviews are spot on. Thank you to Clive, Jenny, Martin, Uncle John and all at Chark.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Delighted with our stay. Cottages are well equipped and spotlessly clean. The family are friendly and helpful and make us feel at home. Being on the farm you can see the family going about their day to day work, running the farm around you.

My friend and I came for walking and cycling around cornwall and Chark provides a good central location to most of Cornwall. There are pleasant local walks such as the Saints Way but I would say you would need transport to get to most places. At Bodmin one can hire bikes to cycle the lovely Camel trail to Padstow. The nearest shops are a few minutes drive away.

We mostly prepared our own meals at the cottage using the modern kitchen. There is room to park the car outside each cottage. There is free wi-fi but you may need to sit near a window to get it, since the cottages have very thick walls!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

I enjoyed a four day "last minute" break at Chark in Ysla Chy, a beautifully converted barn in what was the old farm yard. Surrounded by goats,horses, cows, ducks, chickens and pigs in a beautiful part of Cornwall - a good location within easy reach of many attractions, local pubs, great walks and good food - it is perfectly located and would suit not just those who "want to get away from work", as I did - but to couples seeking a romantic break or families who want a holiday to remember. The bonus was being able to take my dog with me too. She had a great break and we both came back rested, cared for and searching the diary for when we can come back. A jewel in Cornwall's tourist crown!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizTSouthOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

This was our first holiday as a family with our 11 month old Son. It could not have been more perfect thanks largely to our choice of accomodation.

We were rather concerned that it might be a bit of a nightmare being so far away from all of his home comforts. Far from it. These cottages are really superb. Clean, well furnished and with all the mod-cons you need to do as much or as little as you please. Chark Farm would suit anyone, being so much for both couples or families. For us what really made it was all the opportunaties to explore Clive & Jenny's farm with our little boy. Be it taking one of the optional routes around all the fields, going out with their pet pony, feeding all the animals (from goats to guinea pigs!), being taken for a horse & cart ride, playing chess on the massive outdoor chess board, riding the childrens tractor, playing with the dog, Tess, playing on the swings/slide/trampoline etc. etc.

We stayed in Fenton Chy (which has an ace whirlpool by the way!). A stairgate is fitted, and Jenny can provide a cot, if required.

The local roads take a bit of getting used to but as Clive pointed out, the locals can 'sense' you're about so there's nothing to fear, and he was right. By the end of the week, I was used to the raods, and getting that Cornish 'sense' thing myself!

The location was a real bonus. It's not too far into Cornwall, which made it less of a gruelling journey. Whilst the west is very pleasant, it means adding on another 1.5 hr drive. Much better to be in Bodmin and simply drive down there if you must. Stay here, and you're only 10min from the nearest beech to the south, and 20 min to the north. There's so many options. We did something different everyday as it was only a short drive to do so. Highlights for us were Lusty Glaze Beech in Newquay, Fowey, Polperro, Lanhydrock, Marazon, Boscastle (make sure you walk on to the cliffs beyond the harbour if you can), the Eden Project, Looe and Glendurgen Gardens.

As the previous writter said (also from Robin Hood Country I see!) all the major supermarkets are within a 10-15 min drive to Bodmin or St Austell. There's a lovely chippy just opened in nearby ancient Lostwithiel, and an apparently good chinese.

You really can't go wrong using this place as a base. We've never been back anywhere in the 15 years we've been together as we like to explore, but this place is so bang on we'll be back next year.

It's that good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Nottingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

If you have pre-school children, this is the perfect place for a family holiday.

We have two young children, age 2 and 4, and they loved meeting all of the animals.
Each morning they would quickly get dressed and wait for Jenny to wander across from the farm house. She would then take us all to fetch eggs from the chickens, let the guinea pigs out into their run, and feed the pigs with food scraps collected from each of the cottages.
We also had a ride on the horse and cart, and rides on the family pony, Billy, who my 2 year old daughter is still talking about 6 weeks later!
There is also a trampoline and swing, as well as plenty of safe outside space for the kids to play in.

The accomodation is of a high quality, with stairgates and cots available if you need them.

You can easily reach the beaches on the North and South coasts, and the nearest supermarket is 10 minuites drive away.

Highly recommended for families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
7.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 14 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tregolls Farm
Tregolls Farm
#4 of 42 in Bodmin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chark Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chark Farm

Property: Chark Farm
Address: | Redmoor, Bodmin PL30 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious quality self-catering accommodation on picturesque farm in beautiful mid Cornwall. Some with superb wheelchair access. Family friendly. Open all year. Free wi-fi. Optional complimentary horse and cart ride for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chark Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chark Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing