We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banchory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty and disappointing”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed at Castlewood two years ago and had a great experience so we returned this week but the place has seriously gone downhill. For a start we went back because the kids had loved the onsite Soft Bear play centre. On arrival we realised it had gone. Building still there but actual softplay not there and neither is the nice little cafe. Instead we were welcomed by an old sofa, and random tables and chairs and linen dumped around. We asked the owner who finally appeared what was going on and she said they'd closed it as there were too many other softplays around. When we told her both Hoseasons and Castlewood have those facilities advertised she said Hoseasons had been told to remove it from their website so it wasn't her problem. She couldn't answer why it was still on their own website! Of course it's their problem!! It is not cheap to stay here and the closure of the softplay and cafe is not reflected in the prices !The websites also advertise an outdoor activity area - what a load of rubbish. There were some old unusable trampolines in an area next to softplay which is now home to the family doberman and an old bouncy castle which is deflated and dumped in the car park. The next problem was the DIRTY HOT TUB. Grit and sand on seats and bottom and scum floating on the top (even a cigarette butt!!). On our second last day so much chlorine had been put in that our skin was badly burned and our eyes were irritated. The smell was overpowering and burned the insides of our nostrils! The children were in tears with the pain on their skin - totally unacceptable. We couldn't use it after that, another waste of our money. We complained and got nothing but excuses and no apologies for the damage to the children's skin. The owner tried to say we had been in it too long but it took a mere 2 minutes for the damage to be done.We had been in it much longer on previous days and were not burned. The lodge was also dirty. The bathrooms stink of damp and the wooden floors are warped and black behind the toilets!!! The ensuite shower drain was blocked so when we had our first shower in there the water flooded the bathroom and there was scum and hair all over the place. We went and bought Mr Muscle drain unblocker and told the owner but were not even offered a refund on the money we'd had to shell out! I also had to take a toothbrush and bleach to the shower screen/surround and the black and scum which came off was absolutely revolting. There was deeply embedded urine on the wall beside the toilet in main bathroom. One of the children found a used sanitary towel behind one of the beds! There is only minimum cutlery and crockery so having the dishwasher is pointless as you need to wash the dishes each time you use them if you want anything to eat off for your next meal. The placemats were needing binned as they had seen better days and they stank and the two dishtowels that were provided were filthy and stank of sick. The kitchen cupboards were dirty and the venetian blinds were caked in dirt. Most of the pillows are really lumpy as well. The bins were right beside our lodge (number 7) and we were wakened most mornings about 8am by different types of bin being emptied! There was a good washing machine but no clothes horse or washing line. It is such a shame as two years ago (obviously when it was newer) it was lovely and of a really great standard but they have just let it go and really don't seem interested in customer's complaints. The location is so beautiful and the surrounding area is stunning but there is no information folder for guests to help with exploring the area and no guest comment book (I wonder why??!!). We will never return to Castlewood and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

just returned from a few days. lodge nice but could do with a spring clean. the lodge slept 8 but only had enough cups/glasses for 4. hot tub got very cloudy very quickly and when asked owner to have a look he said tough luck thats the way it is. 3 of our party fell ill and think this was due to the water in the hot tub not being clean enough. advertised as having soft play on site - which is not open and does not look like it will be opening any time soon. owner never mentioned this even though they could see we have children when we checked in. so all in all a bit of a dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misss46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Furniture falling apart - bunk bed unusable, dining table needs everything tightened up. Found dirty dishes in cupboards and things previous guests had left behind. Sleeps 8 but only enough room for 6 people to have a seat in the living room area. Also not enough cutlery for 8 people. Hot tub water also dirty. Nice location and with some time and attention to maintenance/accommodating the number of people that can sleep would be far better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend with 7 friends for a birthday and thought the lodges were well equipped and beautifully furnished. The view was stunning especially first thing in the morning. The hot tub was a highlight and sat 8 comfortably. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent a weekend here in November and stayed in Lodge 2 - a kerloch lodge.
The lodge has three bedrooms, one double with en-suite shower room, one large twin and another smaller twin, a large bathroom with shower over the bath, and an open plan living/dining/kitchen area. There is a large decked area outside with a lovely big hot tub.
The lodges are kept in good condition. When we arrived the lights ouside on our deck werent working, but they notified us of this and they were repaired by the time we go up the next morning. Great. Inside the lodges are nice and modern, and very clean, and are equiped with everything you need. There is lots of storage space in the kitchen/living area.
When we stayed previously, you had to pay for electricity meter cards, but this is no longer the case. The power is included in the price you pay now. Much better.
Outside there is lots of space for parking, 2 spaces beside each lodge, and a massive car park. There are lovely views out over the surrounding hills, and there is field full of deer right opposite the lodges.
Nearby banchory provides lots of shops if you forget to take anything. There is a Tesco and a Morrisons as well as lots of smaller stores. There are chinese and Indian restaurants if you fancy a take-away. We have bought dinner form the Memory of China restaurant on both arrival nights, and their food is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLoAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the lodge as a couple for a week over the xmas and New Year period 27th of December to the 3rd of January. We could not fault the lodge we stayed in (number 10) it was lovely and modern and was very spacious. The kitchen living and dining area was all open plan which made it feel like a large space and it had fantastic views. The bedrooms were great also we had a two bedroom lodge one double room with an en suite and one twin room both were very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice also had a bath with an overhead shower that was powerful. The lodge had a hot tub that was the highlight of our stay, as you can imagine it was extremely cold outside but the hot tub still was extremely warm and you did not feel the cold once you were in. I would like to add that in some of the past reviews people have mentioned that the staff come around everyday to make sure everything is going well, for us this was'nt the case and we were glad that no one was coming everyday to check up on us and I know this will be of a benefit to the people who dont want to be bothered and who just want to have a peaceful break away from it all. On New Years eve the owners were hosting a party in the soft bear centre that they invited all the guests to and I thought this was a nice touch if you wanted to socialise with the other guests on NYE, however we did not go but did step out of our lodge to watch the lovely fireworks display they put on just after the bells. The lodges are well worth the money and it is a lovely peaceful place. Would 100% go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEGAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bedroom lodge (6 adults, 2 children and a small dog) and the lodge was a great size. Our lodge (number 4) had a great uninterrupted view and the hot tub was a great way to chill out. Staff were very friendly and I would recommend anyone to visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank steel1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
3.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
577 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
1.0 mi away
Feughside Inn
Feughside Inn
#1 of 2 in Strachan
108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inchmarlo Golf Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park

Property: Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park
Address: Castlewood | Strachan, Banchory AB31 6NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Banchory
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castlewood Leisure Club And Holiday Park
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park Hotel Banchory
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing