We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Douglas Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Banchory B&B and Inns
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Had an early tea on Saturday evening, as usual the bar staff were pleasant and fast. The fish and chips are great...along with the onion rings! The decking at the back is great for a sunny afternoons drinking. I have eaten here a few times this year and always enjoyed it so it gets the thumbs up from me. Perhaps the toilets could be improved a bit but its not a reason to avoid the place by any means.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEGK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Douglas Arms along with my wife and family during May of 2011, The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious walls are thin but this is more than made up for by the hospitality from all persons conected with this Hotel. The owners and staff were amazing nothing is to much trouble and always a smile.

Thank you for a great stay look forward to coming back

Room Tip: dont sleep over bar if early night required
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1847mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Visit the Douglas Arms in Banchory for a friendly welcome, great food and atmosphere. Whether visiting with friends or family members all are made welcome by the staff at this friendly Hotel, Bar & Restaurant. There are alway specials available each day, and I have tried a few, but my most favourite is the fish and homemade chips. If you visit Banchory, the Douglas Arms is a must, and in the warmer months there is a great outside terrace to soak up the rays whilst downing a cool pint or two. (N.B I have never stayed in the hotel overnight)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I remembered how the Douglas Arms used to look about 25 years ago when I used to go there for Pipe Band Practice! Delighted to see the Hotel extensively improved and characterful sections like the fireplaces and the old public bar unchanged. Warm and friendly staff and a hearty breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We have had several meals here and the food is always great but not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NakkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

I'd never ordinarily write about a place if i had a bad experience. Having stayed here there is no way these posts (bar the one about the slick website) make any sense. The place is scruff and situated over a dead end pub. Everything about it was cheap or tacky at best. Small rooms, stale air, poor furnishings and appalling bathrooms.

There arent many places to stay in this town - my advice is avoid staying in Banchory unless you have to!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevedouglas, Owner at Douglas Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
I was a little disappointed to read this review, unsurprisingly. If guests have such strong feelings we would encourage them to bring them up during their stay, which according to this review was in July 2008, so not a prompt review by any means.
We pride our selves on our service and the cleanliness of our hotel, we employ young enthusiastic staff and a very professional Kitchen staff. However after 20 years in the Hospitality industry I am aware of the fact that you can not please all the people all of the time, and hope that anyone reading this response is willing to give us a try if they are planning on coming to this beautiful part of the world.
Thank you for taking the time to read this response.
Steve & Kirsty Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banchory hotels

Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Douglas Arms while passing through Banchory on our journey through Scotland.
We didnt arrive at the hotel til around 8:30pm but we were greeted with a friendly smile and was also given a table for dinner which was just what we needed, the meal filled us up, was very tasty, and was the perfect end to the day. (thank you chef)
The room we stayed in wasn't smaller than expected and couldnt have been more comfortable.
After a terrific nights sleep we awoke to a lovely cooked breakfast and another friendly smile!
If only all the places we stayed at were as nice as the Douglas Arms.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slopes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.0 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Banchory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
14.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms Hotel

Property: Douglas Arms Hotel
Address: 22 High Street, Banchory AB31 5SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Douglas Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run hotel who pride ourselves on high standards of product and service. Our rooms are clean and modern all with flat screen TVs and DVD players. Our menu changes seasonally and we have a rotation of real ales on which we pride ourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Douglas Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Hotel Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing