We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Douglas Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Douglas Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Banchory B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I'd never ordinarily write about a place if i had a bad experience. Having stayed here there is no way these posts (bar the one about the slick website) make any sense. The place is scruff and situated over a dead end pub. Everything about it was cheap or tacky at best. Small rooms, stale air, poor furnishings and appalling bathrooms.

There arent many places to stay in this town - my advice is avoid staying in Banchory unless you have to!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumbler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevedouglas, Owner at Douglas Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

I was a little disappointed to read this review, unsurprisingly. If guests have such strong feelings we would encourage them to bring them up during their stay, which according to this review was in July 2008, so not a prompt review by any means.
We pride our selves on our service and the cleanliness of our hotel, we employ young enthusiastic staff and a very professional Kitchen staff. However after 20 years in the Hospitality industry I am aware of the fact that you can not please all the people all of the time, and hope that anyone reading this response is willing to give us a try if they are planning on coming to this beautiful part of the world.
Thank you for taking the time to read this response.
Steve & Kirsty Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Douglas Arms while passing through Banchory on our journey through Scotland.
We didnt arrive at the hotel til around 8:30pm but we were greeted with a friendly smile and was also given a table for dinner which was just what we needed, the meal filled us up, was very tasty, and was the perfect end to the day. (thank you chef)
The room we stayed in wasn't smaller than expected and couldnt have been more comfortable.
After a terrific nights sleep we awoke to a lovely cooked breakfast and another friendly smile!
If only all the places we stayed at were as nice as the Douglas Arms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank slopes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed at the Douglas Arms whilst in Banchory for our friends wedding and we had a lovely experience. All the staff were incredibly friendly and we were made to feel extremely welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, although not the largest.
We stayed for a few nights and ate in the restaurant twice. Our meals were delicious, much better than usual hotel grub, and the service was always polite and friendly.
All in all the staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful. We'll definitely be back. And they sell real coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maggie04uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We booked this on the strength of the very professional-looking website; we were extremely disappointed. We expected a stylish small hotel but we got a tatty pub. Yes, they are doing it up, but hardly with the verve that the website suggests. We were given a dingy, badly-lit room, scuffed wallpaper, cheap pine furniture, with a tatty bathroom (lots of broken tiles, frayed light-pulls etc.) - and it looked nothing on earth like the room in their picture. The room was very noisy, both from the bar below and from other rooms, where we could clearly hear other people's conversations.We can only assume that we got one of the unmodernised rooms - but they still charged us the same price.

The evening meal was adequate but nowhere near as interesting as the website suggests. I had a fairly predictable duck in cherry sauce and my wife had a tired stuffed aubergine. More like glorified Beefeater than 'boutique' pub.

We checked out after one of the three planned nights and were told without apology that "it is an expensive area" and that the "website makes it clear what it is like" (In our opinion it does not). We were told that we would have to forfeit £75 for the second unstayed night as "they could have filled it many times over". At no point did the management seem concerned at our dissatisfaction. They refused to budge on a thing and we now wish we had stuck to our guns and refused to pay. We moved on on and found infinitely superior accommodation for the same price elsewhere.

As it presently stands, if you want what the website shows, go elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank indie-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

nice family run hotel, very welcoming. room was small, but warm and clean. restaurant was excellent, busy obviously popular with locals, dinner and breakfast were tasty and well presented, great service, staff well organised and very pleasant. owners very helpfull. we will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happy_bunny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Inverurie Aberdeenshire
1
Reviewed 19 April 2006

the weekend came to an end all to soon we didnt want to leave as you just couldnt tire of the good food and warm service that you get from this family run hotel and the wonderfull professional expertise of the staff and the hosts , nothing was to much bother and they know the area inside out and were always recommending place's of intrest and being a fussy individual I would recomend not to miss this hotel if looking for a place to stay in the historic town of Banchory.
thanks again for looking after us.
D Greig

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
14
Reviewed 12 December 2003

Everyone was extremely friendly, including all the locals who let us know what to do when in Banchory. They have a section with leaflets explaining what can be done when visiting Banchory. The rooms are ok but it was the people who are absolutely fantastic that we really loved about this place. The hotel itself is situated on the Main street so it's easy to get everywhere. There was extremely friendly and willing staff who work here. I'll definately be staying her when I go back.
Superb.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.0 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
282 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Feughside Inn
Feughside Inn
#1 of 2 in Strachan
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms Hotel

Address: 22 High Street, Banchory AB31 5SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banchory
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Douglas Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run hotel who pride ourselves on high standards of product and service. Our rooms are clean and modern all with flat screen TVs and DVD players. Our menu changes seasonally and we have a rotation of real ales on which we pride ourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Douglas Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Hotel Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing