We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Douglas Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banchory Lodge(Banchory)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
16
21
21
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
21
21
4
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We have had several meals here and the food is always great but not cheap.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NakkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I'd never ordinarily write about a place if i had a bad experience. Having stayed here there is no way these posts (bar the one about the slick website) make any sense. The place is scruff and situated over a dead end pub. Everything about it was cheap or tacky at best. Small rooms, stale air, poor furnishings and appalling bathrooms.

There arent many places to stay in this town - my advice is avoid staying in Banchory unless you have to!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumbler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevedouglas, Owner at Douglas Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

I was a little disappointed to read this review, unsurprisingly. If guests have such strong feelings we would encourage them to bring them up during their stay, which according to this review was in July 2008, so not a prompt review by any means.
We pride our selves on our service and the cleanliness of our hotel, we employ young enthusiastic staff and a very professional Kitchen staff. However after 20 years in the Hospitality industry I am aware of the fact that you can not please all the people all of the time, and hope that anyone reading this response is willing to give us a try if they are planning on coming to this beautiful part of the world.
Thank you for taking the time to read this response.
Steve & Kirsty Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Douglas Arms while passing through Banchory on our journey through Scotland.
We didnt arrive at the hotel til around 8:30pm but we were greeted with a friendly smile and was also given a table for dinner which was just what we needed, the meal filled us up, was very tasty, and was the perfect end to the day. (thank you chef)
The room we stayed in wasn't smaller than expected and couldnt have been more comfortable.
After a terrific nights sleep we awoke to a lovely cooked breakfast and another friendly smile!
If only all the places we stayed at were as nice as the Douglas Arms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank slopes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed at the Douglas Arms whilst in Banchory for our friends wedding and we had a lovely experience. All the staff were incredibly friendly and we were made to feel extremely welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, although not the largest.
We stayed for a few nights and ate in the restaurant twice. Our meals were delicious, much better than usual hotel grub, and the service was always polite and friendly.
All in all the staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful. We'll definitely be back. And they sell real coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maggie04uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We booked this on the strength of the very professional-looking website; we were extremely disappointed. We expected a stylish small hotel but we got a tatty pub. Yes, they are doing it up, but hardly with the verve that the website suggests. We were given a dingy, badly-lit room, scuffed wallpaper, cheap pine furniture, with a tatty bathroom (lots of broken tiles, frayed light-pulls etc.) - and it looked nothing on earth like the room in their picture. The room was very noisy, both from the bar below and from other rooms, where we could clearly hear other people's conversations.We can only assume that we got one of the unmodernised rooms - but they still charged us the same price.

The evening meal was adequate but nowhere near as interesting as the website suggests. I had a fairly predictable duck in cherry sauce and my wife had a tired stuffed aubergine. More like glorified Beefeater than 'boutique' pub.

We checked out after one of the three planned nights and were told without apology that "it is an expensive area" and that the "website makes it clear what it is like" (In our opinion it does not). We were told that we would have to forfeit £75 for the second unstayed night as "they could have filled it many times over". At no point did the management seem concerned at our dissatisfaction. They refused to budge on a thing and we now wish we had stuck to our guns and refused to pay. We moved on on and found infinitely superior accommodation for the same price elsewhere.

As it presently stands, if you want what the website shows, go elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank indie-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews