We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, intimate venue for weddings or romantic breaks”
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banchory Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous, intimate venue for weddings or romantic breaks”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We held our wedding dinner and reception at Banchory Lodge hotel in July 2010. The location of this hotel, on the banks of the river Dee, surrounded by mature trees, is absolutely stunning. We had a lovely, sunny weekend which allowed us to make the most of it. The main dining room has large windows looking out over the river, as do 2 of the lounges. The furnishings are a country-house style - very charming, antique-ish and individual. The honeymoon suite is huge and has beautiful views over the river. Perfect for getting ready on the big day. Susan at the hotel was brilliant as our wedding organiser and facilitated a wonderful weekend, considering all the details that didn't even occur to us and ensuring the celebrations were incredibly memorable and ran smoothly and effortlessly (on our part!). The food for all our meals was great - we had a delicious wedding dinner and an evening buffet, both of which went down very well with us and our guests. The night before our wedding, we had a large family dinner which Susan arranged for us in one of the residents' lounges at a huge table which was really special. Banchory Lodge was very accommodating and keen to help us with all the personal touches for our day, including laying out all our wedding cakes (homemade), favours, table names etc. The hotel also provided flowers for all the tables and throughout the hotel. Overall, this was a stunning place to hold our celebrations and represented good value too. Highly recommended. We've been back again for a few overnight stays and dinner and have been charmed every time. In winter, there is a roaring log fire in the main lounge, which is perfect after walking along by the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    169
    47
    37
    12
See reviews for
154
201
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed here whilst working in Banchory, I liked the old style charm of the place and found the room warm, spotless and a magnificent view of the river Dee from the window. Staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel really welcome. I would definitely go back as a leisure trip with family or friends. If fishing or country sports are your thing then there is even more on offer. If I was going to be picky the food is quite expensive but not that unusually priced. All in all good value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRASSM0NKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Stayed at this location for 2 nights as part of a tour of Scotland. The hotel staff were wonderful and happily accomodated a group of 30 Americans. We had breakfast and our dinner here during the stay and the food was fantastic!!
Each of the rooms is different and that is part of the charm. The location is very peaceful along the banks of the river. It was quite pleasant to spend time outside enjoying the lovely grounds and the gardens. Would highly recommended to anyone. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Have read the negative reviews however our experience was nothing but first class. Our room (number 24) was very large with french windows looking out (albiet over the car park) to some stunning views accompanied by the sound of the rushing water. Some of the furnishing were somewhat tired perhaps however they did add to the character and the huge bed was supremely comfortable. The large modern bathroom was a delight with bath and separate large shower. All the staff were extremely pleasant, professional and very attentive. The table d'hote bar menu served in the cosy lounge was very good and a particular bargain with 2 courses for 2 for £22. The optional a la carte bar or restaurant menus were extremely extensive and there is a good wine list. We obtained a bargain B&B deal through a voucher bought from the Groupon website but would not be averse to return paying the going rate through some of the other websites. Overall I recommend this as an excellent hotel to visit for a totally relaxing short break.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delandfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stay here frequently. The location and views are simply breathtaking. Yes, it is old fashioned and a bit quirky. Yes, the facilities are not state of the art (but has wifi) and could do with a makeover, so dont come llooking for modern 5 star comfort. But it is comfortable in a homely sort of way. Yes, the restaurant is unlikely to win a Michelin star, but the food is good quality honest cooking, using local beef, venison and fish. The dining room can be austere when quiet, but the restaurant food can be served in the cosy bar or lounge. Never been treated rudely in many stays, and some staff are very attentive. Given the views from some of the rooms, I find the prices a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

If you want food that is Boring, Bland and Overpriced , this is the place to go. If you want the Owner and Staff to be rude to you, this is the place to go. Saying that its such a shame as this Tired. Old Hotel is in a really beautiful Location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy-bear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Food very average and overpriced. Staff very rude including the owner Mrs Jaffrey. Well known by locals as having terrible customer service. The manageress and owner have a very bad attitude and failed to apologise for bad service and extremely rude behaviour. My family and I left the hotel feeling very stressed with the experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsettersparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
182 reviews
15.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
12.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Property: Banchory Lodge
Address: Banchory Lodge Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing