We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable”
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tor-na-Coille
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here one night on a weekday in March. This is an old country house that has been refurbished into a (quite fancy) hotel. We had a room on the top floor and it was big and comfortable. The bathroom was small, though, and the shower was a challenge (from antarctic temperatures to sahara in just a tenth of an inch turn of the knob). The location of this hotel is basically in a forest area with not much population around it, so at night it becomes absolutely pitch dark outside, which makes for quite a deep sleep. In the morning we were all startled by a fire alarm that went off, that was a little off-putting. Our room fee included dinner in the restaurant downstairs, which for me was the highlight of our stay. Absolutely lovely food, well cooked, high end quality as well. The lounge was comfortable and made for a nice reading place while enjoying a drink. The breakfast was also very tasty (tip: eggs Benedict). Overall we had a good time here, maybe a bit on the expensive side, but I have to say it was worth it. Another tip: Plenty of nice castles around this area to visit.

Room Tip: As this is an old (mostly wooden) house, a top floor room would be advisable to limit creaking sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D3US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    98
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
91
164
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the 15th February and it was excellent. Our room was spacious, very warm and super clean. We received a bottle of chilled Prosecco as soon as we arrived and enjoyed a 6 course meal at night. All the food was delicious and we were served by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great choice at breakfast time too and can't wait to stay again. Thank you for a relaxing break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magpie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night and booked a junior suite. The room was very large and clean but just top the main entrance. You heard until midnight taxis and cars catching people from the restaurant...
The building is very beautiful but also very old....it is very noisy. You heard each path everywhere into the hotel.

The dinner was good and the service well organised, maybe a little bit on the rush...
The breakfast was correct.

We are desappointed because we did not sleep very well. The heating was too much.

We do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank binouche14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear binouche14,

Thank you for your review and feedback through TA. Firstly we are sorry that you feel disappointed and that you had a disturbed nights sleep. Obviously we are a Hotel & Restaurant that is open to the public and there are times when we are extremely busy with non-resident diners. We are sorry that you felt disturbed by people arriving & departing the property.

Customer feedback and the genuine welfare and care of our guests is a priority to us. If you had communicated and explained your concern we would of tried to accommodate you in a quieter area of the property.

We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort & cleanliness of our Junior Suite and that you were overall satisfied with your Dining experience. Again, we can pace our meal service if you wish a longer meal-time with breaks in-between courses, you just have to ask.

Thanks once more for taking your time to respond and give your feedback on TA.

Kindest Regards, Phillip J. Fleming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I can highly recommend this Hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful at all times and the food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was excellent. The hotel is very comfortable with a lovely lounge and open fire, and the bedrooms well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here early February. Fabulous staff - young but couldn't have been more polite & helpful - best we've experienced in a long time! A special mention to Craig (if I remember that correctly?) En suite deluxe room was spotlessly clean & luxuriously comfortable. We dined in the Bar/Restaurant and the food was exceptionally good with plenty to choose from on the menu. It is a beautiful building and extremely quiet and peaceful in your room. (My mobile did work in the room & the Reception area.) We look forward to booking again later in the year for some more quality relaxation.

Room Tip: we had family in Room 10 and this was exceptionally spacious - even though we loved our Room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicyfruit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Attended a large party for neighbours birthday . Food , considering it was for a large party was really fabulous .
Management and staff very professional, helpful and friendly. Love this hotel , cosy , comfortable and always welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here a couple of times whilst in Banchory on business, very friendly welcoming staff, exceptionally comfortable and a great restaurant with excellent food! Very hard to find fault, but the only niggle is that your mobile phone won't work in most rooms due to the "Faraday Effect" of the granite building! I just loved being "out of touch" from my boss for a few hours!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
596 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
14.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
15.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Property: Tor-na-Coille
Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing