We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old house, old rooms”
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tor-na-Coille
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great location with lots of charm and helpful staff. But the rooms need attention some updating and maintenance issues. Occupied two rooms during my visit with the family and both had problems and antiquated. The layout is a bit of a maze to and tricky when your left to your own devices. Great breakfast !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Tor-na-Coille
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had an overnight stay in the junior suite and it was very good. Huge bedroom area and a separate sitting area. Very clean including the bathroom, no complaints there.
Staff were all very very helpful and friendly. Grounds were in perfect condition and the distance to centre of Banchory 5 minutes walk.

Not a complaint as it was good was the breakfast. It was good but not great, it was ok. The coffee was quite weak.
But overall, would return without a thought.

Room Tip: If you like plenty space, the junior suite :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just had a four night stay along with some elderly relatives while attending a wedding in nearby Aboyne. Considering our relatives like traditional and we prefer more contemporary both our needs were met with the newly re-furbished hotel. As previously mentioned the food is superb and plentiful. The situation is very quiet and well placed on the edge of Banchory within a nice strolling distance to the facilities of the town. Clean, warm and very stylish, we stayed in a junior suite that we really didn't want to leave. What's not to like? We will be back.
For alternative things to do we can recommend the walk to Scolty Hill and Go Ape at Crathes Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights last week whilst he was fishing on the River Dee.
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

We took our Labrador with us and so had a basic room but it was perfectly adequate with nice furnishings and a modern infinity shower. Very comfy bed with nice linens.

Food was excellent. We enjoyed every meal and found the prices reasonable. Presentation was very good and portions ample.

Staff were very friendly and eager to please - I did not encounter one grumpy person.

I would go back in a heartbeat - Tor-na-Coille was a refreshing change from those dark, dour Scottish hotels!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannetteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hotel and the room we had (16) are excellent. The best thing about the place is the food, though. They are seemingly ambitious to get awards, and what we found, they must be very close. An absolute cracker was in one of the dishes something they called "Bloody Mary Jelly", just as only one ingredient on a dish with grilles salmon. Incredible taste. Prices are mor ethan adequate for what you get. Reservation for dinner should be made since many locals eat there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dietmar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Banchory is an ideal location to visit Royal Deeside. Tor-na-Coille has a pleasant situation with good gardens. A typical Scottish Victorian baronial mansion, it has excellent and spacious public rooms, recently refurbished. Our bedroom was immaculate - also refurbished and excellent - we were upgraded to a Master bedroom. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. Service was willing and courteous but slapdash and amateur - our pre-dinner drinks took an age to come; the table d'hote menu advertised in the bedroom had been removed; the brown toast requested appeared as white. But overall a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The second floor bedrooms are not the usual maids' rooms, but spacious bedrooms with ante rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlkleyMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I have just enjoyed an overnight stay at the Torna-coille hotel with dinner, bed and breakfast. We were made so welcome by all the staff we met, our room was an upgrade so comfortable clean and quiet. The dinner and breakfast were excellent. We will return even though we are not far from home. Thank you all.

Evelyn and George Thomson

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
184 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
364 reviews
14.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
276 reviews
15.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range: £76 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing