We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pine Cone in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennyalla...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Bill and Mattie were lovely hosts who made my stay so comfortable and welcoming. The attention to detail made to make guests feel relaxed and at home is evident and I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a holiday in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the excellent hosts
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Bijou 2 room apartment + bathroom”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We returned to the Pine Cone for a second stay as we so enjoyed our first visit.
It is effectively a 'Granny annexe' to Pine Lodge and provides a large double bedroom with Shower room/ basin/WC. The second room is the combined living room/kitchen / diner.

The small kitchenette is cleverly designed with sink, preparation area, two burner hob and microwave. There is a large fridge which the owner generously stocked with local eggs, bread milk and home made jam.

The welcome was so warm - we could't wait to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: The noise from the kitchen extractor fan!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Newbridge-on-Wye, United Kingdom
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Pine Cone is great accommodation and Bill & Mattie are fantastic hosts. Daisy the Wheaten Terrier was a joy & made Izzie our Border Terrier most welcome :)
Mattie was most helpful giving us details of the local area & the facilities in Banchory which is a short walk away.

Thank you Bill, Mattie & Daisy for a lovely short break, we will hopefully see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location & very peaceful
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Sue - many thanks for your very kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you all stay at the Pine Cone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyke004
Algoz, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful, tranquil haven”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay and we will definitely come back. Tyke our wee dog loves the open space and the wood at the bottom of the enormous garden. The Pine Cone has everything you could ever need and Bill and Matti are lovely and generous hosts. I love the way the kitchen is concealed behind lovely wooden doors and the shower is something else. As I say we will be back again at some stage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your very kind remarks.it was a pleasure to have you stay at The Pine Cone. Daisy has misses Tyke!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJrich09
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were thoroughly spoilt at this amazing self catering B and B! The rooms were luxurious and very well equipped with everything we could possibly want or need and the views were stunning of the gorgeous garden and wood. Hosts were so kind, helpful and generous and just wished we had booked in for longer. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
It was wonderful to have our first visitors from New Zealand and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic Hideaway”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Apologies - meant to write sooner!
Although our short stay at the Pine Cone was a few months ago, it is still recalled with much pleasure. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing time in this wee haven on our 'Getaway Christmas'.
The Pine Cone is so cosy and really tastefully decorated throughout with the added Christmas decorations being a very nice welcoming touch. The starter provisions were extremely generous and way beyond starter status!
Katy, our black Labrador enjoyed meeting Daisy the owners' Wheaten Terrier and exploring the grounds around the Pine Cone.
The annexe is tiny but so cleverly laid out with a beautiful bedroom containing a huge luxuriously comfortable bed; lots of storage and a very warm en-suite. The small lounge/dining room with a kitchen hidden behind folding doors is cleverly designed and perfectly adequate for two people.
There is no cooker - just a microwave; two ringed hob and a separate small oven/grill if required....with a bit of juggling we succeeded in cooking a full Christmas Dinner - it was certainly fun!
The main entertainment is the variety of birds at the many feeding stations and there is the definite feeling of bringing the outdoors in as there is glass on three sides offering a view of the garden and woodland beyond.
The owners Bill and Matti are so welcoming, considerate, friendly; their hospitality is exceptional!
We would certainly return to this wee gem of a place.

Ian and Lynn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quite and tasteful decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
It was a pleasure to have you spend Christmas at the Pine Cone and we thanks you for your very kind remarks.To look forward to welcoming you back at some future time. Regards Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali2512
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Looked for a quiet retreat for 2 adults and 2 dogs whilst our kitchen was being fitted. Lovely quaint annexe. Felt obliged to keep our dogs on lead as the first day our springer Saw a rabbit and decided to leave the garden/ shared forest. Lovely hospitality groceries and the couple who owns the annexe very hospitable and friendly. Would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
It was good to have you and your dogs stay at the Pine Cone.Hope you enjoy your new kitchen. Regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing