We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Do Better”

The New Ocean Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed on bank holiday weekend in May 2012, but rather unimpressed. The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful and polite, but if you're looking for luxury in any form, don't bother. Evening meal was at best, edible but was very rushed and very forgetful. Breakfast was ok, but you can spend just a little more money and find a far higher standard of accomodation elsewhere.
The hotel is dated, our room was very small and you could hear other guests next door, above and below, so didn't sleep well. I think the owners should spend some time trying out other hotels in the south west as there are plenty of a much higher standard for similar costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    90
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
93
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

had a great time food and table service excellent the room was nice and clean everyone had a easter egg on table on sunday morning which was a surprise also had a free bar weekend also had a lift in hotel as we took father-in-law on break who has trouble with stairs so that was a great help we would go back again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterhartwell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

first visit to new ocean hotel,clean and tidy room with views .good wholesome food.service exellent.good standard of evening entertainment with free bar,will return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visited this hotel on the weekend 31 March 12 found this hotel very clean the staff went out of their way to help. We was on all inclusive bar package for the weekend this runs from 17.45 till 22,00 every night only problem we had that only one member was in-attendance and it got very busy at 21.30 (you get charged after 22.00) Our room was on the 3rd floor it can be a bit noisy as it is at the front I would recommend a back room but not 4th floor as they are very small, ok if on your own For a 2 star good value for money. Would visit again

Room Tip: Would go for a back room front can be a bit noisy not 4th floor very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty24480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our room was dirty and dated, Only one 13 amp socket which powered the tiny TV. The food was dreadful, we ate out twice. The waiting staff were anxious to please but untrained. Had we not been on a coach trip we would not have stayed.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, which refect just your opinion. I really can not understand why you didn't ask to see management, we are there every day.
Regards
Gerry Redmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Had a all inclusive bar weekend break at the New Ocean, Good value for money. Drinks were of good quality. Food was good except for the Saturday evening, which lacked choice,and didnt enjoy at all, the jam roly poly had obviously been microwaved and was inedible. Bedroom was comfortable and tea/coffee was replenished every day but mine was very dark and had a view of the next door building although other family members had a sea view room. All the staff seemed very efficient and friendly. would definately go back again when going to Weston.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just got back from a weekend at the New Ocean Hotel, The room we had was on the top (4th) floor and was a nice clean big room with flat screen tv, and tea making facilities, ok the lift is a bit dated but done the job. the food was very good expecially for my wife who is on a Gluten free diet, the chef could not do enough for her, gluten free soup, bread, main meals and toast for breakfast. the free bar (5.45 till 10pm) was good beer, cider,murphys and lager on draught. also there was wine and various shorts. the entertainment on both nights was ok, and a game of bingo for the women. Overall it was good value for money and we will return later on in the year. The hotel is on the front but about 10mins walk to the shops. the only drawback is that there was very little parking but many sidestreets to parkup, no onsite parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
598 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
173 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Property: The New Ocean Hotel
Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing