We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just gets better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our recent visit to this hotel was as good, if not better than the previous three.
Met up with friends again. Food was excellent, especially Christmas dinner, a present from Father Christmas and great entertainment. Very warm rooms and even the weather was good for November
Many thanks for great value and good fun break. See you again soon

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are great but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that each time you visit you are enjoying your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My first experience of this type of break but for the price paid it was a great weekend. Clean comfortable room, view did not matter for the short time there, good food with adequate choices.
The entertainment for this type of break in my opinion was excellent, much better than any I have previously experienced on 5 day breaks. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Well done
"The New Ocean Hotel"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Manager at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you found entertainment to be excellent, our entertainers do work hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great Hotel, Staff very friendly and helpful,very good selection of food nothing too much trouble,
we paid to upgrade to a sea view room that was well worth it,this hotel has everything you need for a relaxing holiday.Entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable,it was a turkey / tinnsal so the hotel was all decorated christmas tree and all.we enjoyed Christmas eve, christmas day, boxing day, and new years eve.Sorry we had to leave but all good things come to an end.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1949AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed our Tinsel & Turkey break. I do agree that upgrading your room to a sea view is worth it for the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, rooms were spotless. The buffet breakfast was just what you need after the night before. Add to that the tasty evening meal and it all adds up to a great stay. The only negative was the entertainment were forced to squeeze in a session of bingo due to the insistance of one of the coaches...not everyones cup of tea.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ShaneE1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am please that you enjoyed both breakfast and our four course evening meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

nice comfortable hotel, some rooms a little small but adequate, food very good selection, staff very helpful, great prices and good entertainment in the evenings, our club members all enjoyed the weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I go along with previous reviews spotlessly clean staff very friendly and helpful. Could have done with more staff on for evening meal and they did learn that a pot of tea for three did need more than one teabag!! Entertainment was excellent. How do they do free drinks all evening? unfortunately this was abused by some who were legless and language was awful, Spoilt it for others.

Room Tip: all varied sea views were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that you thought our entertainment was excellent, this is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have just returned from weekend break at this Hotel.My room was one of the best I have had, clean fresh, and plenty of tea etc. The staff were fantastic and entertainment very good, food was good and plenty of it. BUT why do they give free drinks from 6 - 10pm. I dont know how they can afford it? and surely people dont go for the free drinks do they? the hotel was very good without the free drink, and before anyone thinks I dont drink- I do. Unfortunatly for us there was another coach load there who abused the free drink and spoilt our weekend somewhat.I had no sleep at all thanks to the other coach load of drunks. I have given five stars in spite of this as I do think the hotel and staff were that good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that other guests spoilt your weekend with us and I do appreciate your kind comments about the rooms, staff and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing