We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, dated, average food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself and approximately 20 male friends chose this hotel for a weekend gathering in Weston-super-Mare. The main attractions were a free bar (for certain drinks) between 6-10pm each night, a 3-course evening meal and breakfast all included in what was advertised as a modest price. Except the price ultimately wasn't modest.

The hotel manager ambushed one of our group on the first night with a demand for an £800 deposit on account of "bad behaviour", which said individual felt obliged/pressured to pay and such deposit was promptly retained in its entirety on our departure. This is despite the fact that the hotel suffered no physical damage whatsoever during our stay. Granted, if you feed 20 young men free alcohol for 4 hours, you will naturally hear some rowdy songs in the bar. If you give a drunken member of such a group a master key to every room in the hotel, there's a chance that master key won't be used exclusively to unlock that drunken member's door. However, gross negligence on behalf of the owners in facilitating such instances should not justify an £800 penalty where the hotelier has not suffered any monetary loss whatsoever. If you do choose to stay here and you are asked to provide a deposit on arrival - don't pay it. The owners will look for any excuse to pocket not just part of it, but all of it.

In summary, if you're a group looking to stay in a relatively cheap hotel with free alcohol and food, don't stay here. It sounds too good to be true and it is. Alternatively, if you're a single person or couple looking for a nice hotel to stay in, don't stay here. The rooms are basic, tired, dated, and the food is very average indeed. You would also need a telescope to watch television - the one in my room was smaller than an A4 sheet of paper.

The owners of this hotel should be grateful that the individual who was harshly penalised to the tune of £800 would not permit a claim to be pursued in the small claims court, because there is a very good chance that such a claim would have been successful.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

In reply to your review I am sorry that you feel that we unfairly retained your deposit of £800. To clarify this deposit was agreed by yourselves before you made any booking with us (as we do not generally take bookings for large same sex parties) and on your assurance that you were here to play golf and all behaviour would be appropriate. It quickly became apparent that your ‘golf weekend’ was in fact a stag party (which we do not accept bookings from) and your appalling behaviour during your two night stay (throwing food in the dining room, physical fights within your group, sneaking girls in to the hotel for free drinks, threatening behaviour towards other guests etc.) caused distress and upset to many other guests staying at the hotel leading us to offer them all a reduction on their next booking with us.

I find it very sad that a fellow business owner would feel that it is acceptable to belittle our award winning hotel on a public site when you were behaving as immature brats. Your custom is not welcome at our hotels and perhaps an apology from your party to our staff and guests would have been more appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our recent visit to this hotel was as good, if not better than the previous three.
Met up with friends again. Food was excellent, especially Christmas dinner, a present from Father Christmas and great entertainment. Very warm rooms and even the weather was good for November
Many thanks for great value and good fun break. See you again soon

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are great but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that each time you visit you are enjoying your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My first experience of this type of break but for the price paid it was a great weekend. Clean comfortable room, view did not matter for the short time there, good food with adequate choices.
The entertainment for this type of break in my opinion was excellent, much better than any I have previously experienced on 5 day breaks. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Well done
"The New Ocean Hotel"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Manager at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you found entertainment to be excellent, our entertainers do work hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great Hotel, Staff very friendly and helpful,very good selection of food nothing too much trouble,
we paid to upgrade to a sea view room that was well worth it,this hotel has everything you need for a relaxing holiday.Entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable,it was a turkey / tinnsal so the hotel was all decorated christmas tree and all.we enjoyed Christmas eve, christmas day, boxing day, and new years eve.Sorry we had to leave but all good things come to an end.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1949AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed our Tinsel & Turkey break. I do agree that upgrading your room to a sea view is worth it for the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, rooms were spotless. The buffet breakfast was just what you need after the night before. Add to that the tasty evening meal and it all adds up to a great stay. The only negative was the entertainment were forced to squeeze in a session of bingo due to the insistance of one of the coaches...not everyones cup of tea.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ShaneE1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am please that you enjoyed both breakfast and our four course evening meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

nice comfortable hotel, some rooms a little small but adequate, food very good selection, staff very helpful, great prices and good entertainment in the evenings, our club members all enjoyed the weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I go along with previous reviews spotlessly clean staff very friendly and helpful. Could have done with more staff on for evening meal and they did learn that a pot of tea for three did need more than one teabag!! Entertainment was excellent. How do they do free drinks all evening? unfortunately this was abused by some who were legless and language was awful, Spoilt it for others.

Room Tip: all varied sea views were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that you thought our entertainment was excellent, this is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing