We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wounderful Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wounderful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A group of friends hired the whole hotel for the first weekend of the season, we occupied all 53 rooms and took advantage of the 'free bar weekend' thereby testing the staff and resources to the limit. I am pleased to say they passed with flying colours. Every member of staff was friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel had been refurbished and the rooms were clean and fresh with lovely white cotton bedding and well appointed. Food and drink was excellent, compliments to the chef and the waiting staff. Thank you all for a great time! So much so, that we have booked the entire hotel for the same week next year.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are glad everyone enjoyed their weekend here and made full use of the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    88
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
91
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just had a brilliant long weekend at The New Ocean Hotel and was pleasantly surprised by both the hotel itself and the staff too.Good large sized room overlooking the sea and was very clean and comfortable. The food was very acceptable too and served by very accommodating staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. I don't think I have ever been anywhere with the same value for money and the location is great. Just a short walk into town but I imagine in the height of season when town is very busy and noisy this location would prove to be nice and quiet. All in all very impressed and it is quite disappointing to see reviews slating this place off when you think what you are getting for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpiderRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hotel.

The sea views are lovely from the bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just had a very enjoyable long weekend in the New Ocean and what a surprise , the staff were all first class and for once all had the right attitude , nothing was too much trouble and any requests were carried out with a genuine smile , they are a breath of fresh are and I was very impressed with each and every meal too , the hotel is very clean and comfortable and guests will not be disappointed when they stay here , top marks and well done to all staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spinnerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. Our staff all work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgworth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have stayed at the New Ocean Hotel several times but never around Christmas. We tried to stay for New Year but I think the Hotel had been booked for this time for many months and I can understand why. We managed to book a holiday in between Christmas and New Year, we had a room at the front of the Hotel, therefore having a sea view, which was a great advantage.

The staff were delightful and despite having a busy time working over Christmas had all the time in the world to chat to us and give us directions when necessary. The Receptionists and Management were always on hand to help and the atmosphere was one of good cheer and indulgence, in fact we were very disappointed we couldn't stay on to see in the New Year at the New Ocean Hotel.

The variety of choices for supper was outstanding and we were always asked if we had had enough or would we like something else ( which would have been difficult as the portions are very generous)

The Hotel is spotless and the rooms, serviced daily were of such a high standard.
Our room had recently been decorated and obviously had a new carpet and refurbished bathroom. May I say that no-one could ask for anything more when visiting The New Ocean Hotel. I dare say we shall be visiting again shortly but we will certainly be booking early for the festive season of 2014.

Well done to all at the New Ocean Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on the hardworking staff.
We are glad you enjoyed your Twixmas break and the festivities. We look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our club went on a 'tinsel & turkey' four day mid week break to the New Ocean Hotel at Weston Super Mare.It was quite cheap when you considered you had drinks included from 6pm until 10pm,but I think this was just a smoke screen to hide the fact that the hotel was old and in need of an update like a good old fashioned working mens club. The entertainment was good old fashioned songs from yesteryear, OK if you are 75 plus or can remember the 40's,50's and 60'sThe food was canteenish, the breakfast was fine but the quality was very cheap but what did we expect.
The Christmas dinner was the worst I,ve ever had, the quality of the turkey and veg was terrible.
But we did have a wonderful time, was it because we were with our friends or the free alcohol ?
.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorrie5836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I really am surprised by this review as senior management were available every day of your holiday and the only comments we had were outstanding food, entertainment and staff: our internal review questionnaires were also outstanding. We are pleased your group enjoyed themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Realy enjoyed the weeken I can hardly believe the value for money.everything is at at a good standard staff tip top.i was a bit concerned with a couple of the latest reviews but I think they are a bit confused between being quite young and being immature, thankfully the guest were all grown up during our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john.martin1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I don't usually comment on hotels/ holidays, but l really felt l should re this hotel.We have quite a lot of holidays and have to say the friendly service was probably the best we have come across.The breakfast was really good,entertainment good fun,the free bar amazing.well done!
also l wasn't particularly looking forward to Weston itself, but was very pleasantly surprised by the town and the area near to the hotel.
thank you
[some happy Welsh, unlike your other Welsh guests and their awful behaviour]

Room Tip: maybe a sea view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, especially about the friendly staff. We are glad you enjoyed your break with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Property: The New Ocean Hotel
Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing