We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful long week end”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It's always worrying when you tell your friends that certain hotels are wonderful, even more so when 18 of them take your advice and come with you for a holiday! but once again the New Ocean
provided us with everything....free bar...great food...entertainment...really helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, one of our group asked for 'Gluten free'....no problem!
The only thing I did notice was that the top of the radiator needed a little more attention with the Hoover to remove a thick layer of dust....as I have mentioned this on their response form I am sure this small niggle has already been sorted!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front, for a lovely sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are pleased you all enjoyed your weekend. We are happy to cater for any special dietary requirements for any guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel as part of a coach party. The majority of guests were mature in years - though not in spirit! - and overall they felt that the hotel offers very good value for money.
Like many English seaside resorts, the buildings are not best suited to provide the level of service and comfort found on the Continent. Access to bedrooms was a navigational challenge at first, but one soon found the best route. Our room had twin beds and a large shower room, with tea and coffee making facilities and a modern (small) flat screen TV. The mattresses appeared life expired, as you could feel and hear every spring when you turned over. The floorboards made moving quietly around the room a challenge.
On a more positive note, the food and service in the restaurant were very good. The breakfast buffet filled the hungriest of guests and the evening meal offered a good choice, including smaller or larger portions.
The staff are wonderful. Always pleasant and smiling, they multitask throughout the day and cover waiting at table, cleaning and bar work.
Overall, a welcoming and comfortable hotel for a short break.

Richard & Chris, Lincolnshire

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view may suffer from road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the food and staff, who all work hard to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I along with two other couples stayed at this Hotel from 28/02/2014 to 02/03/2-14, we had a great weekend the rooms were warm and very comfortable food was excellent, and the staff look after you very well. The entertainment over the weekend was excellent with a free bar from 17-45 to 22-00 hrs it made a great weekend with it being my wife,s birthday and our 46th anniversary. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff and entertainers.

We are pleased you enjoyed your birthday and anniversary celebrations and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I wrote a comment about poor sausages at breakfast after a visit to the New Ocean. On my next visit the supplier had been changed and a much improved offering was served at breakfast.
Just proves that management read and react, where possible, to these reviews
Already booked for our next visit
Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, sit and drink a cuppa and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do try and act on any suggestions guests may have where possible and are glad you enjoyed your sausages this time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time visiting this hotel, Winter wine makers break,as a group we had the whole hotel to ourselves.We were well looked after the staff were more than helpful, the food was well presented and hot the breakfast was buffet and no stinting on the portions. The entertainment was excellent each night being different but difficult to choose which was best as every bodies choice will differ, for me the best night was Sunday's all nights were good to dance to or just to sit and listen.for me the only negative was the rooms were too hot, I feel they could save on heating if they could turn the heating down.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the boating lake with a full view of the coastline and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derwent15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for all your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the food whilst at the hotel and the various entertainers.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked the whole hotel for a gathering of like minded people, choosing to provide our own specialised entertainment. The hotel were very accommodating to our needs. Having liaised with the hotels staff throughout the year. I found them to be very kind,helpful and happy to oblige. The waiting and bar staff were the friendliest and always ready with a smile.
The rooms are very clean,warm and cosy, if I had to be picky the bedding/curtains could do with an upgrade.
The food - always a choice and served piping hot, for the money I felt it was great value. A vegetarian option might have been useful. It on the whole excellent value.
The group certainly took advantage of the free bar from 6-10.
We had such a brilliant time we have booked all the rooms for next year!!

Room Tip: 208 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teenie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about all the staff. We do have vegetarian meals available if required, just mention it to reception.

We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A group of friends hired the whole hotel for the first weekend of the season, we occupied all 53 rooms and took advantage of the 'free bar weekend' thereby testing the staff and resources to the limit. I am pleased to say they passed with flying colours. Every member of staff was friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel had been refurbished and the rooms were clean and fresh with lovely white cotton bedding and well appointed. Food and drink was excellent, compliments to the chef and the waiting staff. Thank you all for a great time! So much so, that we have booked the entire hotel for the same week next year.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

We are glad everyone enjoyed their weekend here and made full use of the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#10 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing