We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the New Ocean from 18th to 21st April to celebrate my in laws 60th Wedding Anniversary (party of eleven) including my 3 year old granddaughter & I must say we have had a great weekend, the staff were brilliant always polite & more than helpful, the food was great & punctual service every time.
The entertainment on Friday was really good with the artist creating a great atmosphere & playing non stop from about 8.45 till turned 11pm.
I must be honest the entertainment on the next two nights wasn't as good in my opinion, a duo on Saturday who to be fair sounded ok but the male member (who also called a game of bingo prior to their set)was too much of a thing, like an aged red coat & a bit annoying for my liking.

But that hasn't detracted from the lovely weekend we have had. A big Thank you to everyone for their & hard work goes out all the staff .

Dave Carnall

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. We do work hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us. We are pleased the anniversary celebrations were enjoyed by everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

having stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago over the Christmas period we were delighted with the service so my husband and I booked again.we stayed from the 4th to 7th of April 2014 and we were not disappointed the hotel had been refurbished the rooms were spotless.the meals were plentiful and the staff were all accommodating nothing to much trouble for them.If you stay from a Friday to a Monday there is a free bar from 6pm to 10pm with entertainment from 8pm to 11pm.we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: room 207 looking over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for all your kind comments. We look forward to you welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

On a 5 day trip with Opal travel,(who are very good) stayed at New Ocean, on arrival our bedroom was a little small (actually rabbit hutch comes to mind) but after saying we we not satisfied we were given the keys to 2 other rooms which were excellent, we opted for 312 a very light & airy room with plenty of space, the postage stamp (television) on the wall was very small, I have never been in a hotel with such a small TV however this is a minor detail, The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were exceptional, especially the waiters who were always smiling and couldn't do enough for you, also reception were very helpful in finding us a lovely room, The food was not 5 star but very good homely fare,well cooked and good portions and the icing on the cake was the free bar every night from 6-10 pm, don't know now they do it.

It is a little gem of a hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 316, very small and bathroom minute, room 312 very bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We always try to satisfy our guests requirements and we are glad you were pleased with your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the New Ocean 26th March just overnight the food was excellent room clean the only I thing was the entertainment in evening was on from 8.40 till 10pm they were really good but could not believe when they said they had to finish at 10 pm the room was full I was at a loss if you were in Europe they would be just getting started.

Mrs D Hunter

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolores H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It's always worrying when you tell your friends that certain hotels are wonderful, even more so when 18 of them take your advice and come with you for a holiday! but once again the New Ocean
provided us with everything....free bar...great food...entertainment...really helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, one of our group asked for 'Gluten free'....no problem!
The only thing I did notice was that the top of the radiator needed a little more attention with the Hoover to remove a thick layer of dust....as I have mentioned this on their response form I am sure this small niggle has already been sorted!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front, for a lovely sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are pleased you all enjoyed your weekend. We are happy to cater for any special dietary requirements for any guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel as part of a coach party. The majority of guests were mature in years - though not in spirit! - and overall they felt that the hotel offers very good value for money.
Like many English seaside resorts, the buildings are not best suited to provide the level of service and comfort found on the Continent. Access to bedrooms was a navigational challenge at first, but one soon found the best route. Our room had twin beds and a large shower room, with tea and coffee making facilities and a modern (small) flat screen TV. The mattresses appeared life expired, as you could feel and hear every spring when you turned over. The floorboards made moving quietly around the room a challenge.
On a more positive note, the food and service in the restaurant were very good. The breakfast buffet filled the hungriest of guests and the evening meal offered a good choice, including smaller or larger portions.
The staff are wonderful. Always pleasant and smiling, they multitask throughout the day and cover waiting at table, cleaning and bar work.
Overall, a welcoming and comfortable hotel for a short break.

Richard & Chris, Lincolnshire

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view may suffer from road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the food and staff, who all work hard to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I along with two other couples stayed at this Hotel from 28/02/2014 to 02/03/2-14, we had a great weekend the rooms were warm and very comfortable food was excellent, and the staff look after you very well. The entertainment over the weekend was excellent with a free bar from 17-45 to 22-00 hrs it made a great weekend with it being my wife,s birthday and our 46th anniversary. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff and entertainers.

We are pleased you enjoyed your birthday and anniversary celebrations and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing