We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a good clean.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went away last weekend with my girlfriend, paying £80 per night for a two night break including breakfast.

Negatives.
1. We changed room three times. The first two rooms we had were very shabby and the bathrooms really quite dirty. The third room they gave us was a small improvement as it had clearly been refurbished within the last twenty years and the bathroom was only a bit dirty. All three rooms were however, very small. This is a hotel where they've split every room into as many smaller rooms as possible resulting in rooms not a great deal bigger than the double bed in them. Generally, the quality of the rooms was very poor; shabby and dirty.

2. Very disorganised at breakfast. You are given a piece of paper with a table number on it when you check-in. We asked a waiter where our table was but he looked at us as if we were from another planet. Most of the staff are foreign and some speak almost no English at all. He eventually managed to find our table but it took him about ten minutes during which time we were just left standing there with no idea as to whether he was just ignoring us or not. Once seated I waited ten minutes and then gave up and had to go and ask for coffee.

3. Very small portions.

4. Fire alarm went off at 715 in the morning. Absolutely deafening. Stayed on for about ten minutes before going off again.

5. Limited parking. A couple of spaces outside the hotel. We had to park up the road but did manage to find somewhere fairly easily.

Positives.
1. The quality of the food was generally pretty good, just tiny portions.

2. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant (as was the guy behind the bar).

This hotel also seems to be favoured by the older generation. I'm 46 and was probably the youngest guest in the hotel by some distance. Neither good nor bad of course but dependant on your age and what sort of weekend you're looking for. Might explain the small food portions though.

Can't really recommend this hotel unless you're able to get it at a knock down price. It's well past it's refurbishment date and the rooms are dirty.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's been cleaned this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, however the majority of the reviews for the time you stayed with us were excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day all inclusive break .Not knowing what to expect we decided to review it for others as it is somewhat unusual to be offered all inc in the uk and we use all inc all the time abroad however this is a bit different to that .
We arrived early on a Friday pre check in and had a nightmare parking the car I had to leave it approx 3/4 of a mile away and as it's a company car it was a bit concerning although it turned out alright .
Food was excellent but we did not like having to be at dinner at a certain time breakfast was more flexible but isn't a buffet it is a servery but nice none the less fresh orange juice porridge full English and everything else you need .
Drinks on the all inclusive were excellent nice lager nice wine wide choice and friendly staff .
Entertainment is for the older age group really we are mid forties but we did know this but the male member of the duo on the sat night we thought was rude to some guests commenting on some peoples appearance we both thought was thoroughly inappropriate .He didn't direct any comments at us but we left anyway and went to a pub up the road and ended up watching football on a big screen as it was the night of the england opening game and the hotel only had a communal tv in reception and the bar closed during match so we were pleasantly surprised to be treated to a free Chinese buffet at half time and a very welcoming landlord at the Claremont vaults about a minute up the hill we actually spent sunday afternoon in there watching his entertainment as well .
On to the room we was told we would be on floor one as there was a sea view available right at the top which I said on booking we didn't want because of the stairs etc so we were told we d have a twin lower down however we ended up in the double right at the top of the hotel although the lift was perfectly ok it is very old and made my wife nervous to say the least .last weekend was very very hot and even worse at the top of the hotel it was mid twenties and lovely to be away in but we were shocked to find that the central heating was on in the room for a short while in the morning and wouldn't turn off we reported this to reception and was told it was due to the number of elderly guests I was shocked when told this I thought they were joking so we went out . The window only had a small top opener and in fact if it was installed today due to current and new legislation it would be deemed illegal as a fire hazard as it is the only method of escape ( I am qualified to say this I manufacture windows on a large scale ) and you would not be able to exit through it if there was a fire in the corridor we both commented what would we do .shower was very small in a very big bathroom room on the small side and tv very small .

There was a fire alarm on our departure day and we exited the hotel at 7.30 am but there were no staff to take a roll call or let us know what on earth was going on and a number of elderly guests had to take stairs to exit but that's the rules the first we heard was a shout 10 mins later that all was ok and to go back to your rooms .

Overall for the price it was nice stay but not something we would do again .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c0vw0lves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your comments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the first time that our Group had been in Weston-Super-Mare the Management and staff were Friendly Helpful and attentive at all times. If going to Weston-Super-Mare I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
I would also recommend that if you have the time take a trip on the Horse Drawn Barge at Tiverton what a lovely way to spend 2 1/2 hours also a visit to Wells Cathedral is another location not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased everyone enjoyed their stay with us and visiting local tourist attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once again a great long weekend at the New Ocean. Good food, good entertainment, free drinks clean rooms and the sun came out. Sandra and Phil are mad
Already booked for June ( Red Arrows) and July See you soon

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoy your stays at the New Ocean and always look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here with another couple for an all inclusive weekend, could not fault it as it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly but top marks to Kay and Stacey on reception and bar, you could have a laugh with them and nothing was too much trouble.We would go again as it made a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A very nice and clean hotel, The food was also very nice and staff were all polite and courteous. also the selection of food was very good also (However be careful at breakfast as it is a tad chaotic to start with) we let the elder guests get there food and went up after it had all settled down). I travelled on a coach Trip with KM Of Chesterfield and Richard the driver was very good and very cheerful. I did not like being served my alcohol in a glass that had not been cleaned properly owing to there still being lipstick on the rim from a previous drinker. Maybe the staff should be a bit more diligent or receive better training when serving at the bar. It also states that tables should NOT be reserved by leaving partly drunk alcohol whilst guests went for there dinner as they would be removed as being finished with. This was never implemented so it is something that management should look at. Apart from these niggles the week went quite well and Weston Super Mare apart from being rather expensive was very nice. Be warned though that if you wish to have a walk on the pier it will cost you £1 each just for the privilege, Got the resort out of my system now and may return but not to this hotel I'm afraid

Room Tip: A short walk to the newsagents in the morning if you need a newspaper and get the lungs working befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gooner1Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the problems with the bar but these have been rectified. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

JUST GOT back from Weston super mare .. stay at this hotel and very pleased and surprise . as booked as a cheap break All area were clean and tidy . The staff were friendly and helpful . . . FOOD was great fresh veg, good choice , and hot .!! lovely breakfast again hot and fresh .. good start to the day . EVENING were ok ..free bar .. mostly singing 60s songs ,, but still had fun and people there knew how to party !!..and most oap on till 11ish .! had a good laugh and enjoyed it all A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL !!! WELL DONE !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123anita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the food. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing