We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here end of July. Overall great holiday, food was lovely , staff also very nice, Waiters were all very friendly and polite. Hotel was very cheap and cheerful, was marred by walls so thin and we had no sleep due to snorer next door, rooms very basic, in need of lick of paint so you take chance stopping in a hotel such as this. But like I say, was a great holiday and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    88
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
91
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just got back from a four day break at this hotel and found it to be wonderful.
No not 5 star but then we did not pay five star prices either.
Hotel is a Victorian style building and so a little dated in places but you could not fault the staff or the food 10 out of 10 well done to you all.
Management ask us for our ideas on their Hotel so this may help in the future, there were a few little blips that could be ironed out.
We paid extra for an upgrade and sea view which was fine but management need to have a 20 point check list for each room which they do each month so that silly little things do not get missed.
The light above the bed did not work, the T.V stations were tuned in the wrong way around, and the picture above the bed has a screw sticking out, just a couple of turns with a screwdriver would have sorted that one out. likewise the front of the hotel has a lovely little garden area that the smokers use but the plant pots had not been looked after and the roses all needed dead heading and spraying as they were dying from leaf mould, these are the first things your guests see as the enter the hotel and first impressions count. silly as I say but important as well.
Would I stay there again, absolutely and there were lots of guests on their third or fourth visits which is always a good sign. thanks once again for a great four days. Roy and Hazel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the food at our hotel. We do check maintenance on a regular basis but are always pleased to be advised at reception if light bulbs or televisions etc aren't working so we can fix them. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 6yr old daughter and we loved it. Breakfast was fantastic, the entertainment was great (bingo and singers). I loved the fact that our room (202) had a small balcony & gorgeous view. All the staff were friendly and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearcls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your holiday and the lovely sea view from your room. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The welcome to the New Ocean was friendly and helpful from the start. While the dinner menu was limited to three main meals they were good choices and different every evening, accompanied by a starter and followed by a sweet. Tea, Coffee, and the very substantial choice from the bar made the meal very satisfying.
The staff, mostly Hungarians, were extremely pleasant and went out of their way to ensure that you received everything you had ordered. The service was very quick too, probably 5 minutes wait at most for the main course.
The entertainment while not very diverse, with singers being the main and only choice, was nevertheless not really an issue, because the with the ages of most of the guests being 60 plus ,and the songs being from that era, within an hour of the start everyone joined in singing along, or dancing, with the natural friendship of that period coming forth, which made for a good evening, especially as the bar was free from 6-10 pm
The only downside was from a personal point of view and that was that the room had one window that would only open 7 inches. In a room occupied by 4 persons during the night it became extremely warm and uncomfortable. Once again though praise is due where it was deserved in that I asked if we could have a fan and though none were available at the New Ocean the sister hotel The Birchfield let us have one and the problems was solved.
Breakfast apparently was pretty good and I say apparently because I do not partake of that particular meal but I think it was the favourite of my two grandsons who did.
The price for 3 nights stay for my wife, myself and two grandsons aged 7 and 9 was £477 this for 3 nights accommodation and entertainment, breakfast and evening meal, plus free between 6 and 10 each evening, I consider good value. If you bring the atmosphere and friendly staff into the equation then I good value it certainly is , and considering the boys loved being pampered they enjoyed every minute which is what the holiday was all about.
The weather was a little changeable and threatening at times but one short thunderstorm was not going to spoil this holiday.
Just one criticism, and this must apply to most the hotels in Weston, was the lack of adequate car parking. I would imagine that the management would give me free accommodation for a year if I could come uo with a solution to that problem.
All in all I though the New Ocean Hotel at Weston is good value and a home from home if you choose to make it that.

Room Tip: If you are an early to bed person choose room level 3. The noise from the entertainment on level on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramboryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased you and your grandchildren enjoyed your break with us. All our staff work hard to ensure all our guests have a good holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cefn hengoed
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best weekends for a long time . Lovely staff helpful , food great . We had breakfast and evening meal with drinks from 6 till 10 inc . Entertainment good rooms are old fashioned but very clean . Good location plenty to do and see. We will be back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank gerwyncefnhengoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

just come back tonight write review while still fresh .location brilliant overlooking bridge /shore. room clean ,waiting staff although not from our country were brilliant patrick and the boys made you fell very welcome.entertainment good singalong and with free bar even better .like i say get what you pay for dont beilve all the reviews visit its ok .[bloke in the red shoes with the big ears ] thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j7jingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday, all our staff do their best to make everyone feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

For the very cheap price of the room, and an extra £4 each to be picked up by a coach from where we live in Birmigham and then taken back after our stay, it was extremely good value for money! The staff were lovely, the hotel was clean and had a lovable Fawlty Towers element to it. The rooms weren't exactly spacious, and we were the youngest there by about 30 years. However this didn't bother us as the hotels ideal seafront location, a 5 minute walk from the pier, meant that we spent very little time in the from. Along with this, our sea view room was wonderful! I would definatly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JakeMackinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Property: The New Ocean Hotel
Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing