We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sunfold

The Sunfold
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunfold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

It was a shocking experience! I have never ever been to anything like it, it had no style at all, the staff were rude and didn't listen to our requests, our personal belongings got put on the floor just so they could make the bed when we asked them not to, bathroom was far too small and just plasterboard walls so you could hear everything, and yes it smelt like cigarettes when you walked in. The bed was so uncomfortable i had no sleep whilst i was there, Also when we was leaving they just shut the door on us just as we was loading the car so we wasn't able to go back in as if they didn't care about use. To be honest I don't know how you haven't been shut down

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billybob98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
i am absolutely astonished, that they could be so derogatory, the room they had is beautiful , it has a beautiful balcony you can see pictures on the internet, it has lovely views, i am sorry that you feel this way but i would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

we didn't even get to stay at the hotel as it was horrible smelt of damp. poor condition and wouldn't stay there again stains on mattress, loo roll in balcony door wall paper coming off me and my partner couldn't wait to get out the owners didn't want to give us a refund but we didnt give up we got it back i hope.

Room Tip: dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
the room they are talking about is the one on the internet with a balcony, it is a lovely room with no sign of damp it has decking outside and has great views , these peole went down the road and found something cheaper and grotty,, because when they came in i showed them the room, they never said anything ,and before they went out they never said anything. and came back and then said that they were not satisfied , , but when i went up to the room they had messed up the room had tea and coffee used the shower so they had a good time at my expense. so i know that it was because they had seen something probably more their own standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Sunfold and found the place to be very warm and welcoming. We had a family room with a sea view, which we found to be really nicely decorated and well furnished. It was wonderful to sit on the sofa and watch the tide and the promenade lights. The sachets of shower gel and shampoo and conditioner were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-Uppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed at the Sunfold for two nights end of September. We asked for a seaview room which we were given, but it needed updating. The floorboards creaked so badly that we were always thinking of the poor guests below us, hearing us moving about. The towels were clean but a bit grubby and worn. The bed was so uncomfortable that we had to put the spare quilt on top of the mattress to make it a bit better. Breakfast was good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
what a load of rubbish, the room they had is 2 rooms one which is a bed room and the other is a lounge area with tv , what more do people want from a room , it has a lovely view with 2 rooms you have plenty of space , the bed was updated last year so it is not possible to be uncomfortable, i give up on certain people who expect 5 star accommodation when they are only paying £60.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Totally adequate room, clean, all facilities provided. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked to order. Situated on the front and ten minutes walk to town centre. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Upon arrival the entrance smells strongly of cigarettes - our room at the back was very small
carpet grubby wallpaper grubby no teaspoon on tea tray. The shower is very poor. The breakfast however was very good.

I would say perhaps pay a few pounds more and get that bit better qualty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
IT IS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH.
I do not have a room with a broken shower or dirty carpets or anythingelse , i am 3 star rated by visit england, the people who did this did not stay here and they know it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed the 1st of June to the 3rd June 12. While checking in i was interupted by John the owner to move my car a few inches forward. We checked in and was given the room we booked which was the balcony room. Jackie the female owner was a little concerned because we had a two year old with us and she was worried about the balcony. We found this really sweet and cosiderate. She showed us another family room which she offered us for no further cost but we declined because our plans were to tire our daugheter out and then sit out on the balcony with a drink once she had dropped off. Jackie was really helpful and cheery all weekend. Less can be said for her husband who moaned about children in the bar area even though we were only there for ten minutes. The last day was the lowest we tried asking him a question and he rudely said i do not have time for you I'm busy. We understood he was busy and all we wanted was for him to pop up and see us in the lounge when he had time.

All in all i'd recommend this hotel. I think Jackie worked extremely hard but her husband needs a lesson in customer services. Saying that we would go back because the hotel, location, breakfast and rooms were good.

Room Tip: There are only 3 to 4 parking spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camellia Lodge Guest House
Camellia Lodge Guest House
#18 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunfold

Property: The Sunfold
Address: 39 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunfold 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sunfold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing