We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Birchfield Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived very friendly welcome good food nice room plenty to do free bar in the evenings and entertainment very good will return again and recommend to family and friends all staff very helpful and friendly

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. it lovely to know that you enjoyed your break with us and you have a friendly welcome on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am not usually one for reviewing hotels, but this is the exception. My wife and I have just returned from the Birchfield after one of the most enjoyable weekend breaks we have had. The location was perfect, overlooking the Marine Lake and Knightstone Island. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, it was a wonderful experience. The staff were helpful and courteous, the hotel is kept spotless, our room was at the front of the hotel with a wonderful sea view. Other guests were so friendly, especially the coach party from Wales.

Evening meals were very good with a choice of at least 3 starters and mains. This is to be expected for this type of hotel but what was a surprise were the quality and size of the meals and the choice of 4 kinds of potatoes ( roast, new, chips or mashed). I have a good appetite and left the table well fed, in fact, on Saturday, I couldn't even take the dessert.

The breakfast was served buffet style, as much as you wanted. Again, excellent quality. Would we stay here again? Most definitely and we are already planning our return next year, this time with some friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieD387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Manager at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to return next year with your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Immediately helpful staff began break well for us. Relaxing time. We will definitely return. Thanks. Good location in quieter area close to flat walks to coves. Overlooks the marina. Large lift to all floors with easy access from the ground level.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baz6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing time with us and enjoyed the nearby walks around marine lake/madeira cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Have just returned from The New Birchfield-would like to rename it as "Cheers" as everyone knows your name!!
All of the guests are so friendly and make you feel very welcome, it's a real pleasure to be greeted by everyone staying and making new friends.
The Hotel itself is pleasant, breakfast very good, evening meals nice (albeit a bit small) and the staff are very helpful. Service was very quick and well organised.
Rooms serviced daily and although the room was basic it met our needs nicely-we could get out of our bedroom through a large window onto a lovely decked area, this was lovely during the day although at night was not as great as we had no other windows to allow air into the room.
Now for the free bar, this was an excellent addition to the hotel and you could have any drinks on the list from 5.45pm-10pm, this included soft drinks, spirits and draught lagers/beers............we were on a family break so did not really over indulge but oh my god some people got there monies worth and there were some red faces the next morning over breakfast!!
Entertainment was not really for us being slightly younger than the age group in the hotel but Phil the Friday night entertainer was good for a laugh and helped everyone mix. All 3 nights it was different male performers singing and interacting, the guy on sat (Dick) was slightly less engaging.
All in all a good break and we would return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your family stay with us . The restaurant does offer larger as well as smaller meals, if you do stay with us again, please ask! Also thank you for your kind words regarding the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

just back what a fab 4 days , lovely time , hotel is excellent staff go out of there way to help , will be returning for 7th holiday next year at Birchfield , this hotel cateres for everyone young and young at heart , room are spacious and airy the hotel inside is immaculate the place is spotless ,food amazing choices and the buffet breakfast Full english , porridge , fruit cereal fab !!! ,the entertainment was great but thurs night Dan the man increadable voice , , young man who will go far and being a past prof singer he was as good as anyone in the west end , was horrifid when a memeber of staff said they complained omg are they deaf everyone has a off night good luck dan hope hes on next year , missed u Phil fell asleep sorry lol , this hotel deserves a 4 star value for money and cant wait to go back ,ps i forgot to say the veiws are increadable , looking across the sea , and madria cove is worth looking at , thank you. manager and staff worth there wait in gold, jacqui smith family and poppy dog x

Room Tip: higher sea views !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquiblue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment and I will pass this on to Dan. We will look forward to welcoming you and (poppy) back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just returned from another wonderful monday to friday stay at the birchfield my seventh year and second year for my daughters and small grandchildren. The rooms are clean and spacious the food is very good with a lot of choice there is also childrens meals avaliable . staff are always friendly and helpful.Entertainment is always excellent phil has everyone laughing ,but we love kim sad we did not see you may be next time.Thankyou from caroline garrod cole and family.

Room Tip: 401 and 407
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinegarrodcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Its lovely that you have visited us for the last 7 years along with your family, as we do try and cater for all ages!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I took a party of 24 to this hotel in June staying Fri to Mon and there was not a single complaint of any sort from the whole party.
They offer everything you want, cleanliness, good food and drink with entertainment thrown in.
The location is also excellent with great views from the terrace.
If the weather is kind as it was for us then you would not do better abroad.
We shall be returning once again next year with an even bigger party.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izziepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that all of your party enjoyed their stay with us, and we will be delighted to welcome you all back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Birchfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Birchfield Hotel

Address: 8-9 Manilla Crescent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing