We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Birchfield Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a coach trip and found the hotel to be clean, well run with very polite staff. Ample food at breakfast and a choice of evening meals with also the option of vegetarian dishes and a selection of salads. Our room was spacious with good wardrobe space and an extremely powerful shower. There is a lift to all floors. Views overlooking the bay in some rooms and part of restaurant. The hotel is within walking distance of the town (about 10/15 minute walk and on a flat promenade). About 1minute walk to the sea. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seasideEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have some lovely sea views from the dining room and our lounge and sun terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Having stayed at the New Ocean hotel at twixmas we did not know what to expect at the Birchfield hotel, but we were not dissapointed.There were six of us that went for my brothers 50th birthday,we stayed friday to monday the 18th March.We had a fantastic time, the rooms were great, the food and free bar 6pm to 10pm we could'nt fault, and staff were very friendly.We also met some lovely guests while we were there which made our stay even more enjoyable.A big thank you to all staff, can't wait to come back to both hotels again soon. Would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: A higher floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed the birthday weekend and look forward to welcoming you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

arrived by car and found a parking space in front of the hotel planed not to use the car so didnt mind anyone parking behind me.good welcome by receptonist and was swiftly given the key.room was lovely and clean beds were excellent and towels clean and fluffy.plenty of room for clothes.evening meal served quickly on hot plates.food was excellent and good choice.breakfast was buffet style but you could ask for others like haddock and poached eggs which were brilliant.good selection in free bar and entertainment was good.overall an excellent value for money weekend.will come again.but hope its not so windy, really windy.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the level with the lift if you dont like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the food. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the sister hotel the New Ocean. We gave this one a go. Arrived Friday-Monday breakfast,4 Coarse evening meal and free bar 6pm-10pm. The rooms although dated were very clean. Had a room on third floor facing the sea. Housemaid called daily, changed towels and restocked coffee and tea. Buffet breakfast have what you want. Evening meal served at 6pm slight clash with bar opening. Good quality food served piping hot but slightly small portions. Great choice of drinks from the bar. Wine, beer larger cider ect.
Entertainment with Phil Friday very good. Saturday artist not very friendly. Duo Sunday average. Overall a great value weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank reynolds1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a fully inclusive weekend, what great value, lovely friendly staff, food was good, plenty to drink, entertainment each night, large clean bedroom, only downside was it had a bath with no shower, or shower attachment, Though the water pressure was great they could have had an attachment there. The beach is a few minutes walk away, town and pier about 20 mins, could recommend the bus trip to sand beach, £3 return, great views from the top of the bus

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank BigglesWestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your comments. We do have shower attachments available from reception, and would of been happy to of provided you with one. Thank you for your kind words with regard to the staff and entertainment and if we are lucky enough we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A nice welcoming smile on arrival. Our room was absolutely spotless. The beds were very comfortable. The only thing that I can complain about, and I would not mark the hotel down for it, as it applies to almost everywhere that we stay, is that hotels will insist on fitting shower curtains to showers that are over the bath. It is uncomfortable to have a wet shower curtain clinging to the legs. A hinged door would be most welcome, together with a grab rail to aid getting out over a high sided bath, and an anti slip shower mat to prevent potential accidents.

The restaurant service was impeccable, from efficient and friendly staff. If you want posh stuff like a bit of this and a bit of that together with a bit of fancy trimming on your plate, don't expect it here. What you will be presented with is good honest English food, nicely cooked and served with a smile on nice HOT plates. Puddings do not consist of abysmal helpings with a dusting of caster sugar, and a fancy line of syrup on the plate, again you can expect a decent helping of a recognisable food. If a crumble is offered it will be a decent helping with a generous helping of creamy custard. Pastries are also well presented with a helping of ice cream or real cream, NOT stuff out of a spray can. Breakfast offers a good choice of cereals, prunes and grapefruit segments, and a good English breakfast, or kippers , mackerel, etc. If you go hungry here it is your own fault. The evening entertainment is fine, and you will only have to sit through ONE game of the dreaded bingo, so the bingo fans are happy, and those who hate it don't suffer. The free evening bar on sort breaks is a real bonus.

All in all a really good holiday. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith and Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Manager at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for recent review. I appreciate your comments, we do have rubber bath mats available from reception, but if you do book again with us, do request a walk-in for ease. Thank you for the kind comments with regard to the food and entertainment, and we do hope we can welcome you here once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived very friendly welcome good food nice room plenty to do free bar in the evenings and entertainment very good will return again and recommend to family and friends all staff very helpful and friendly

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review. it lovely to know that you enjoyed your break with us and you have a friendly welcome on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Birchfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Birchfield Hotel

Address: 8-9 Manilla Crescent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing