We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fabulous menu .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Colonial
wales uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“a fabulous menu .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

the food here was fabulous piping hot freshly cooked unusual menu all the popular choices but varied and different i had lime mango chicken with indian sauce and nan bread delicious chicken/ ribs burgers lovely pulled pork flavour on top and cowboy burger fish chips two for one 5.0 to 6,00 for a meal excellent didnt stay there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    90
    59
    14
    38
See reviews for
55
140
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Filthy toilets, no paper, rubbish on floor where bins full, service extremely slow, under staffed. Don't bother! Food was also very average as if it was school dinners. It was a warm Saturday and there was no excuse for the lack of cleanliness or staffing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Middlebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

we stayed for just 1 night but found the hotel to be very good. our bedroom was very large overlooking the beach and bay a magnificent view with flat screen tv and double bed.the food was good service was ok good beer and wine selection .this hotel would make an ideal base for a bit of west country touring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel, just ate in the restaurant. Myself and my two children were familiar with the "Two for One" on the meals as we have a pub at home run by the same chain. Well this place is nothing like our pub back home... Unless if you're into dry chicken, stale chips, tasteless sauces, brown salad leaves and rancid jacket potatoes! We were told there was an half an hour wait also... 80 minutes later, our food finally arrived, I'd already complained by this time. It was disgusting, coupled with the awful service... definitely one to avoid. Lots of better places around - wish we'd looked first!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMosedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We ordered at 1:15 and we ordered our drinks at roundabout the same time. They told us that our food would have a 30 minute wait which we were okay about. After 1 hour we complained in a log queue of many people complaining. They said that they would bring our dinner and they did 10 minutes later. The enchiladas were tasteless and the chicken was completely dry. There was only 1 waiter and another came out when our meal was served. I do not recommend for anyone who is staying in Weston-Super-Mare.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have stayed at the old colonial 3 times now, each time the rooms have been very good,clean, nice big fluffy towels, good quality tea and coffee with more available if wanted, also 2 bottles of water on arrival.The staff are always helpful if they do seem over worked.The breakfasts are excellent and served to your table, its nice because the breakfast is only for residents, not open to all, so a nice personal service is delivered.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 1 and 6 both are of equal good standard,1 is up 1 flight of stairs, 6 is up 3 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This place really is great value for money, all meals are 2 for 1 so it works out between 5-7 pounds per meal which is brill. It's in a great location and has good outdoor seating. On the other hand there is a few improvements which could be made. Both times I have eaten here the tables and menus were really dirty and in need of a wipe, the staff seemed to be efficient in tidying the tables and collecting glasses but the tables really do need to be cleaned aswell. The only other downside if both times there have been little things wrong with my order, the first time I paid extra for wedges but still got chips and the second time my burger was missing bacon that I ordered. Overall it's a good place to eat and drink and i would return, the place has the potential to be excellent if they paid more attention to detail and the staff were more efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afoster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#14 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Property: The Old Colonial
Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing