We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative experience at The Old Colonial, we'll not be eating there again!”
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Colonial
woolavington, somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Negative experience at The Old Colonial, we'll not be eating there again!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have used the old colonial many times over the last 2 years,sometimes with up to 9 people dining, but we will not be returning! We had a negative experience there today. Unhelpful staff, who refused to give rice instead of chips. Something to do with cost and management directive!(We were told that we could swop chips for any other potato, but I explained that my son could not eat any potato. How hard would it have been to swop a bit of rice for chips, especially as there was curry on the menu! ) Slow service, coleslaw that was clearly 'off', small portion sizes and it was only on the way home that I realised we had n't even had the onion rings we ordered and paid for!

With several eateries within metres of the old colonial, you would think that customer satisfaction mattered.

Needless to say, we will not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saracen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    96
    61
    16
    40
See reviews for
62
147
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

the food here was fabulous piping hot freshly cooked unusual menu all the popular choices but varied and different i had lime mango chicken with indian sauce and nan bread delicious chicken/ ribs burgers lovely pulled pork flavour on top and cowboy burger fish chips two for one 5.0 to 6,00 for a meal excellent didnt stay there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Filthy toilets, no paper, rubbish on floor where bins full, service extremely slow, under staffed. Don't bother! Food was also very average as if it was school dinners. It was a warm Saturday and there was no excuse for the lack of cleanliness or staffing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Middlebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

we stayed for just 1 night but found the hotel to be very good. our bedroom was very large overlooking the beach and bay a magnificent view with flat screen tv and double bed.the food was good service was ok good beer and wine selection .this hotel would make an ideal base for a bit of west country touring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel, just ate in the restaurant. Myself and my two children were familiar with the "Two for One" on the meals as we have a pub at home run by the same chain. Well this place is nothing like our pub back home... Unless if you're into dry chicken, stale chips, tasteless sauces, brown salad leaves and rancid jacket potatoes! We were told there was an half an hour wait also... 80 minutes later, our food finally arrived, I'd already complained by this time. It was disgusting, coupled with the awful service... definitely one to avoid. Lots of better places around - wish we'd looked first!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMosedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We ordered at 1:15 and we ordered our drinks at roundabout the same time. They told us that our food would have a 30 minute wait which we were okay about. After 1 hour we complained in a log queue of many people complaining. They said that they would bring our dinner and they did 10 minutes later. The enchiladas were tasteless and the chicken was completely dry. There was only 1 waiter and another came out when our meal was served. I do not recommend for anyone who is staying in Weston-Super-Mare.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have stayed at the old colonial 3 times now, each time the rooms have been very good,clean, nice big fluffy towels, good quality tea and coffee with more available if wanted, also 2 bottles of water on arrival.The staff are always helpful if they do seem over worked.The breakfasts are excellent and served to your table, its nice because the breakfast is only for residents, not open to all, so a nice personal service is delivered.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 1 and 6 both are of equal good standard,1 is up 1 flight of stairs, 6 is up 3 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
574 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Property: The Old Colonial
Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing