We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The free parking is a real bonus!”
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Colonial
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The free parking is a real bonus!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room we stayed in was on the second floor and could only be accessed by going up lots of stairs! Not a particular problem for us but if you had a heavy case or were elderly/unfit you would need to ask for a first floor room. This establishment does not have a lift.
The staff were friendly and the room was clean. However both soap containers were empty and we were only provided with one pillow each. we only stayed one night so didn't bother making a fuss but felt that 2 pillows should be available in the room without having to request them. The room was quite draughty as the window seal had blown.
The breakfast was very nice and the host was efficient and friendly. We had the usual options of fruit, yogurts and cereal followed by a cooked breakfast. Our food was well cooked and tasty...no complaints here.
All in all a reasonable price for an average room.
PS The free parking is a real bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    92
    60
    15
    39
See reviews for
61
142
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during February. We were in room 6 which is on the second floor with superb views of the sea and Grand Pier. The room was spacious, light, clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities we expect these days. Town centre was a very short walk away. There are free car parking spaces for guests and staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was very well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stopped at this (Marston's chain) seafront pub/hotel on Sunday 26th January to try the '2 course roast meals for £15' offer. The pub itself is quite large and was rather busy so we were advised that our meal would take 30 minutes. It was well worth the wait. The roast meal was excellent with tender beef, nicely cooked fresh broccoli and carrots, tasty stuffing and yorkshire pudding, peas, and 'proper' gravy. The apple and plum pie with custard dessert was also delicious and the excellent presentation of both meals far exceeded our expectations. This pub clearly had very competent and conscientious chef/kitchen staff working on this day. (I can't comment on the hotel accommodation but two minor points regarding the pub - there was a dripping leak in the ceiling below the front flat roof and the ladies toilet door could do with a lick of paint).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_the_Bristolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhondda s-wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recommend this hotel ...we had a 2 night stay .. rooms are spacious clean with sea views ..well pleased with the choice of breakfast ... Clean fluffy towels .. parking space so close ..staff were friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

a hotel and two 4 one pub on the seafront with parking this is hard to find on the seafront at Weston The rooms and bathrooms are large and very clean.The service and breakfast has improved a lot since our last visit last year.Many of the rooms have a sea view

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9 it is a bit of a hike as it is on the top floor but was a large room room 1 is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shep-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived about 9 oclock for a meal there were kids running round all over the place luckily they didn't stay long. The meal was well cooked and piping hot. The barman needs to put a smile on his face

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scorpioladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

what a fantastic hotel, very acomodating and breakfast included was HUGE! we had a room facing the sea, ordered a taxi from the hotel and it came in minutes. definitly a good stay, its a hotel ontop of a good pub.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
798 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Property: The Old Colonial
Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing