We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 eat for price of one”
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Colonial
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“2 eat for price of one”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Used this bar/ restaurant for 3 nights. Was with a large group of friends and 2 of us decided to have the 14oz rib eye steak with all the trimmings as it seemed good value at the price. Worked out at £8.00 each. At that price I didn't expect much, but the food when it arrived was simply amazing. A thick well cooked steak with chips, onion rings, tomato and peas. One of the best steaks I have eaten at any price. Seemed almost to be fillet. I went back the 2nd night and had the same again. Just as nice. On the 3rd night it was chicken melt at £6.00 each. 2 large moist chicken breasts with bacon, cheese and bbq sauce. Once again perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a starter, unless a big eater. You may even have trouble managing a desert. 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    95
    61
    15
    39
See reviews for
61
145
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on here and was a little unsure about eating here. We had eaten here in the past when we visited Weston.
I had the pork loin with black pudding, it was delicious. My husband had the jalapeño burger & enjoyed that too. The staff were friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. It is a 2for1 pub, but one of the best I've been to in its chain.
Will be going again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jogger1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Plus Side
Staff are lovely
Great Location

Down Side
Place Stinks
Rooms are dark and dingy
Walls are like tracing paper
Pillow stank ! YUK !

Cant comment on the food as I didn't bother sticking around - Not good value for money

Room Tip: Don't bother - better hotels with cleaner rooms and better priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here with a friend in a family room - very good size, 1 x double bed & 1 x single bed with fair sized bathroom.

Excellent location right on the seafront.

Ate dinner in the bar/restaurant area - very slow service and poor food, but it is 2-4-1 and very cheap so you get what you pay for I guess!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJKons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent last weekend at this hotel. First impressions fab location almost opposite the pier, near the shops and on the promenade. Good pub serving good food at great prices underneath the hotel rooms. (Marsden Pub).
The rooms. Tatty and in desperate need of a makeover. When we arrived on the Saturday the room was freezing. My husband spoke to reception who came up to feel the storage radiators and said that they would heat up overnight and it would be warm the next day. In fairness she did bring us a convector heater but that did not give off much heat and therefore the room was draughty and cool.
We spent the 1st night in the room and went out exploring etc.
True to form the radiators were nice and warm the next morning.
In the morning I went to freshen up and use the toilet. They have sanilav type of boxes on the toilets.When I flushed the chain the waste started to come up the plug in the bath. It was awful. The smell was awful and excrement was coming up the plug.
Once again my husband went down to reception who came up straight away and said they would have to move us next door and arrange for a plummer straight away.
Again our time was wasted in moving all our stuff next door.
We got ready and went out after breakfast which was good on both days.
On returning about 1pm the smell of sewrage and drains on our landing was awful. The plummer was next door.
All in all they did address problems as they arose, however we were only there for 2 nights and our stay was fraught with problems.
Would not recommend this hotel and would certainly not return. The old addage you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We were put in 2 rooms and both were as bad as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room we stayed in was on the second floor and could only be accessed by going up lots of stairs! Not a particular problem for us but if you had a heavy case or were elderly/unfit you would need to ask for a first floor room. This establishment does not have a lift.
The staff were friendly and the room was clean. However both soap containers were empty and we were only provided with one pillow each. we only stayed one night so didn't bother making a fuss but felt that 2 pillows should be available in the room without having to request them. The room was quite draughty as the window seal had blown.
The breakfast was very nice and the host was efficient and friendly. We had the usual options of fruit, yogurts and cereal followed by a cooked breakfast. Our food was well cooked and tasty...no complaints here.
All in all a reasonable price for an average room.
PS The free parking is a real bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during February. We were in room 6 which is on the second floor with superb views of the sea and Grand Pier. The room was spacious, light, clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities we expect these days. Town centre was a very short walk away. There are free car parking spaces for guests and staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was very well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Property: The Old Colonial
Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing