We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Colonial
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here may 2014 for two nights small hotel, ok for a night or two, rooms clean and tidy, if you have front sea view room expect some noise not only from traffic but from bars next door.
Breakfast good but no fresh fruit offered just cereal.This is a cheap and cheerfull hotel with no
thrills, for longer breaks i would not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very busy, short staffed, they had run out of pie only had one left of Steak and Kidney and one of Chicken and Mushroom. Were told we had a 40 min wait although the food arrived within 30min, served by a surly waitress. Pie was dry the filling questionable, chips slightly warm. Very disappointed would not eat there again.

Inside and out in need of some attention all felt quite tacky, all set up to cater for tourists and not for locals who might want to visit on a regular basis.

Would not give a second chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good location right on the seafront, 2-4-1 value in the pub/restaurant, very large room - plenty of room for our 4 suitcases! - with large wardrobe and drawer space. Good desk/workspace with wi-fi free of charge. Very helpful staff carried our very heavy suitcases (our 2-night stay was part of a longer holiday) up to the second floor. Be aware there are 40 steep steps up to the second floor, no lift - a bit wearing if you want to nip back to your room for something. Only other negative was don't think our room had daily hoovering (if so needs either new vacuum or vacuumer!) Oh, I didn't like the breakfast sausage but my partner thought they were lovely! A definite plus is the availability of free, allocated parking space. Ideal base for visiting Weston's annual Sand Sculpture Festival.

Room Tip: I would imagine the first floor rooms are not so quiet, being above the very large pub/restaurant bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annieonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Used this bar/ restaurant for 3 nights. Was with a large group of friends and 2 of us decided to have the 14oz rib eye steak with all the trimmings as it seemed good value at the price. Worked out at £8.00 each. At that price I didn't expect much, but the food when it arrived was simply amazing. A thick well cooked steak with chips, onion rings, tomato and peas. One of the best steaks I have eaten at any price. Seemed almost to be fillet. I went back the 2nd night and had the same again. Just as nice. On the 3rd night it was chicken melt at £6.00 each. 2 large moist chicken breasts with bacon, cheese and bbq sauce. Once again perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a starter, unless a big eater. You may even have trouble managing a desert. 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I read the reviews on here and was a little unsure about eating here. We had eaten here in the past when we visited Weston.
I had the pork loin with black pudding, it was delicious. My husband had the jalapeño burger & enjoyed that too. The staff were friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. It is a 2for1 pub, but one of the best I've been to in its chain.
Will be going again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jogger1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Plus Side
Staff are lovely
Great Location

Down Side
Place Stinks
Rooms are dark and dingy
Walls are like tracing paper
Pillow stank ! YUK !

Cant comment on the food as I didn't bother sticking around - Not good value for money

Room Tip: Don't bother - better hotels with cleaner rooms and better priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here with a friend in a family room - very good size, 1 x double bed & 1 x single bed with fair sized bathroom.

Excellent location right on the seafront.

Ate dinner in the bar/restaurant area - very slow service and poor food, but it is 2-4-1 and very cheap so you get what you pay for I guess!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJKons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
451 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
4 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston-super-Mare, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £49 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing