We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Anchor Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Head Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just had a lovely sunny 6 day break in Weston-Super-Mare. This hotel provides an excellent clean and tidy service with the friendly touch - nothing was ' too much trouble '. Dining - Food was good with varied choice and staff 'spot on'. Would recommend it as good value and a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Would advise the physically impaired to be aware they may have difficulty with stairs although ther...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gill127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

Just did a 5 day break with Alfa to this hotel, turkey and tinsel, with fancy dress thrown in. Never been to this part of the world before and it was wonderful. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are warm and clean, food is great, and bar and lounge areas are light and spacious. And the sea view has to be seen to be appreciated. Everyone from the Manageress Janet through to waiters, bar staff and reception pulled out all the stops to make sure our stay was memorable for all the right reasons.
We were kept entertained so well we didn't have time to notice how bad the weather was, not that we would have cared, the holiday overall was so much fun. Will, the barman come entertainments "director" made sure there was never a dull moment and it was laughs all the way, especially with his bingo calling.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, but the trips were informative and varied. And a 10 minute brisk walk along the promenade brought us to the town centre where there is good shopping.Thanks to our coach driver Terry who did a really good job. We went for my husband's 65th birthday and everyone made sure it was a party from start to finish.
One last word. We had never done fancy dress before and were very uncertain, but thought we'd give it a go anyway. It was the best decision we have ever made. It was brilliant, with everyone being cheered and cheering, whether taking part or not. Please, if you have the chance, you have to give it a try. Believe me, you will enjoy it.
Thank you to all at the Anchor, our coach driver, and all the wonderful new friends we made. It was 5 days of pure pleasure. And we can't wait to go back and do it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible. Rear of hotel overlooks the road but the sea view is beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Maureen053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel was excellent, staff and manager where really helpful and friendly. nothing was to much trouble for them. Nathan the waiter who had only been their a few weeks was excellent and courteous. Rooms where spacious and clean, decor was good. Food was lovely with good portion sizes. Location was good we had a excellent sea view. Entertainment every night was good, staff joined in which made the night even more enjoyable. Would definitively recommend this hotel, we were a group of approx 20 and everyone only had good things to say, so much so we are all thinking of returning again next year. Thanks to everyone at the hotel Anchor head.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christopher95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Anchor hotel is clean and comfortable. What you would expect for price. It was unfortunate that the week we stayed staff had returned to Poland and staff where off sick
so the dinning was understaffed to say the least. had to wait a long time to be served by very
stessed staff. The food when we got it was quite good but had I been sitting in a resturant I would have walked out or refused to pay. The rest of the holiday was fine especially trips and
our coach driver Bill was lovely doing thing 'his way'.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank violet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Anchor head hotel was a great little hotel at the end of a victorian terrace style crescent
small enough to be well run without crowds of people milling about in telly rooms and corridors looking lost. The meals were breakfast and dinner basis with a table number designated to you and a time of when you would be served so the waiters could concentrate on you at meal times great no waiting to the table being cleared for your next course.Food great and there was a chefs special every day and a wide range of veggie options,
This hotel is right next to the sea in fact when the tide is in the water is under your windows if you have a sea view room. The age group of the clientel was the 45 to 70 year olds
entertainments were very good and fun Recommend this hotel for a short break who want a relaxed friendly break to sit and relax
Derek stayed 3/10/2011 for 4days great

Room Tip: sea view rooms are not over looked and great views of cardiff bay
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docker1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This hotel, owned by Leisureplex, is part of the Alfa Travel coach company. It is located a little way out of town at far end of the seafront but buses are to hand. The staff work hard to please and this shows in the cleanliness and quality of the food. Sea view rooms are worth extra but others face a crescent just off main road. Still relatively quiet even on road side. Hotel is small but friendly. The restaurant is more akin to a large guesthouse. Worth a stay and Alfa Travel provide excellent excursions to such places as Bath and Cheddar Gorge. Predominently for the Over 60s as reflected in the entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank holidayman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Hotel management and staff appeared to go out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. Nothing was too much trouble. We asked for 2 more pillows on the evening of arrival, and within half an hour, they were placed into our room. The room itself was very clean, and was kept that way throughout our stay. The food was ample and a good variety was on offer each day, with a ''chef of the day'' dish too. The restaraunt staff worked very hard in making sure that we weren't waiting for any one meal, and were very curtious and helpful throughout. The back of the hotel overlooked the sea, with plenty of seating to see the beautiful views, with a very spacious, very clean, patio to sit and watch the fish swim in the pond on the patio. There are a few steps to the walkway, but even though I walked with sticks, I still managed them. My husband and myself will deffinitely be going back to the Anchor Head Hotel, and can recomend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank staffsBezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Head Hotel

Address: 16-19 Claremont Crescent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Head Hotel - Weston-Super-Mare [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star Symbols]Splendidly situated between Weston's two piers and close to the boating slipway and a small beach; the promenade walk begins right next to the hotel. 52 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Attractive TV lounge and delightful bar with dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There are magnificent views of the bay from the TV lounge, restaurants and many of the bedrooms. Small lift serves all floors (few stairs from lift to restaurant).A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing