We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENTERTAINMENT AND GENERAL FEEDBACK”
Review of Anchor Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Head Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Me and my Husband provided the entertainment for the guests on Friday night. First time at this hotel and we stayed overnight. We felt very comfortable and all of the staff were so friendly and accommodating - Janet is a really nice lady and her husband is very nice and we had a good chat and laugh. The reception staff, the bar staff and the overnight hotel porter were very friendly. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. We didn't stay for breakfast as we had to go off to another show but everyone looked happy and fulfilled coming up from the dining room and generally the atmosphere was great and everyone seemed to have enjoyed their week at the Anchor Head Hotel. Lovely views as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you to Janet and all of her staff. xx

Room Tip: Sea view room was great but I am sure all rooms are equally as lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bobbles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this Leisureplex Hotel , Although a bit dated , the room was clean , as was the Hotel in general , Breakfast and evening meals could not be faulted , staff very friendly , entertainment good although only provided on two nights . The Hotel , which has a great location overlooking the bay , is a fair walk from the town centre , but there is a bus stop handy. All in all a very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: when booking your holiday ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mal811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have always enjoyed holidays at the Leisureplex hotels but this one is really good. Clean and comfortable and the food was very good indeed, generous portions, hot and well cooked (even the plates were hot), exceptional for a 2* hotel. My husband found the steps into the hotel a bit of a bind with his stroller and I do prefer fitted under-sheets on the beds but this is nit-picking - I truly think this hotel deserves a third star.

Room Tip: Our room 116 was on the small side but perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MerseaIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel end of April beginning of May. The room was spotless. Bathroom clean, shower brilliant. Bed very comfy. Dining staff pleasant. Breakfast tasty, good portion. Dinner, very nice. Entertainment not bad as it was the start of the season. It was a good walk along the prom to get to the town centre. Not good if your unable to walk far. All in all, I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tinkerbell471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was my first experience of a Leisureplex Hotel and it won't be the last, God willing. Just returned from a great value five-day break at the Anchor Head Hotel, which ticked all the boxes.

The Anchor Head is a large Georgian townhouse, full of character and surprisingly well-maintained for a building of its age. Every effort has been made to make the building as accessible as possible; all steps within the hotel have rails and there is a small lift to all floors.

Porter service of cases to and from our room was particularly appreciated; a little touch that made life much easier.

The steps to the front door and two steps down to the dining room from the stairs/lift make it unsuitable for wheelchair users but those able to walk a few steps with support should be OK.

We had Room 101, and after a few initial jokes about this, we were delighted with our walk in shower and clean, well -furnished and maintained room. Do make sure you ask at reception for a shower safety mat if allocated a room with a shower. The shower floor is textured but still very slippery; we missed seeing that the mats were available and bought one locally.

Staggered mealtimes meant that service was relatively quick and efficient; special thanks to our charming young table staff Andrew, Joely and Becky (?). Overall, the food was of a very good standard. Desserts and starters in particular were larger and more imaginatively served than in most hotels of this type. There is a wide choice at breakfast too with everything brought to the table.

Being used to lower drinks prices in the North East, the amounts charged for drinks were a bit of a shock, but a quick bit of local research revealed they were average for the area. At a fiver a glass, the house red and house white were thankfully very drinkable.

We were delighted by the entertainment on the final night of our stay. Singer Dan Droid has a tremendously versatile voice, covering all genres and eras ( but really excelling at musical theatre with a lovely 'Some Enchanted Evening'.) The bingo sessions were enjoyed by many, ditto the table quiz.

Travelling with Alfa Travel, we were really pleased with our inclusive excursions. No stops at mill or factory shops - unless you count picking up the coach at Cheddar's Cheese Factory outlet after being dropped off at the top of the (very pretty) village.
The guided bus tour of Bath with experienced Blue Badge Guide Val was a winner. Please don't miss this if it's offered to you. It really added to the enjoyment of a beautiful place.
Our tour driver Mally was simply the best; continually pointing out places of interest himself and choosing routes that added maximum sightseeing value to the trips out.
The overall experience has converted me to the Leisureplex chain as being far more suitable for my needs as a disabled person. Thanks to all staff for your efforts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DurhamAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Alfa tour holiday staying at Anchor Head. what a great time we had. our driver Terry was great very informative. Janet and her staff at the Hotel were all very Helpful and friendly. the food was good and plentiful. And although numbers were few the evening entertainment was fantastic . we even had a great photo taken by the hotel photographer.. We would certainly recommend both Alfa Tours and the Anchor head Hotel....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

First time with Alfa on a 5day break Oct 2013.Will definitely use them again.Hotel is Leisureplex Ltd hotel part of Alfa and appears recently refurbished and is located east end of promanade,about 20 minutes walk from centre but bus stop nearby.Our room 208 sea view,smallish but perfectly adequate,comfy and nice and warm.Good choice of meals excellent service,thanks Becky.Dan and Liam gave 1st class friendly service when Bar opened at 5.30pm.Bingo and Entertainment every night.All the staff treated us like friends on a return visit.Driver Terry a nice guy ,very safe and `in charge` is an asset to the Company.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 49Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Head Hotel

Address: 16-19 Claremont Crescent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £60 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Head Hotel - Weston-Super-Mare [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star Symbols]Splendidly situated between Weston's two piers and close to the boating slipway and a small beach; the promenade walk begins right next to the hotel. 52 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Attractive TV lounge and delightful bar with dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There are magnificent views of the bay from the TV lounge, restaurants and many of the bedrooms. Small lift serves all floors (few stairs from lift to restaurant).A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing