We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did it take us sooo long to return?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Demetris Taverna

Demetris Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greek with fish and steaks our speciality closed on sundays open from 18.45 until 22.30
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Why did it take us sooo long to return?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

It's been a while since I last visited this establishment but was in the town and decided to pop in on the off chance of getting a table - after being greeted like a long lost member of the family I was invited to take a drink at the Bar. After a very short time I was shown to my table, ordered food from the "specials board" and chatted with the very friendly waiting staff. My food arrived together with an excellent bottle of house wine - everything was just fantastic, just as I had remembered my last visit! Why oh why had I been away for sooo long. Demetri and staff, you are wonderful, your food choices remain as good as ever and your Wine List just gets better. I will return to the best family restaurant very shortly - thanks Demetri for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lister205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    61
    17
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Demetries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

First of all I want to thank the staff for their warm welcome! It was wonderful to go into a traditional Greek restaurant in the UK and feel like you were on holiday and one of the family. It's a beautiful setting and has a fantastic atmosphere. We ordered the Sheftalia for starters and Souvlaki for main and both were superb. Exactly what we expected. Traditional Greek food and beautifully cooked! As mentioned the atmosphere was great, Greek music and friendly staff, bustling with people and made us feel like we were 2000 miles away in Greece. A gem of a place and well worth a visit if in the area. We also booked late and they were very accommodating! Will definitely come back next time we are in the area, it was a gorgeous meal and we had a fantastic time! Compliments to the chefs and staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank DannDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor for this restaurant I decided to book for the 2 of us for Friday last week on our weekend visit to Weston Super Mare. I am SO glad I did. From the moment we entered I knew we were going to have a great experience. The place was packed so obviously booking is a must. Not the largest of restaurants so therefore the atmosphere has to be just right and Dimitri and his team ensure it is. We decided to have the Meze, at £23 per head I hoped it would be good - we weren't disappointed! As each course arrived we were explained each dish - a fabulous way to experience Greek food. Apart from one little hiccup from a new waitress (she brought the dessert menu before the Meze dishes were finished!) the evening was fantastic. The food was beautifully flavoured and there was loads!! Make sure you go there hungry! Dimitri is the perfect host and ensured that he saw and spent some time with everyone in the restaurant during the evening. So for a meal for two or a gang of you it's a fantastic night and one that I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's a bit unispiring from outside, but based on Tripadvisor reviews, we gave it a try, and we're very glad we did: inside it's welcoming. Great food, friendly, efficient service, and good value. Portion sizes were good, and decent wine and beer on offer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Been here a few time and each time we have always been greeted with a warm welcome. Food is excellent and so is the service. Highly recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Demetris Taverna also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Demetris Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing