We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired looking and in need of some urgent updating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welbeck Hotel

Welbeck Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welbeck Hotel
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired looking and in need of some urgent updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in group, what can you expect from a 2 star, not got the feel good factor for me. Can't believe these hotels still exist and are accepted in the health & safety inspection. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt relaxed in the back lounge. The buffet was very disappointing all pastry food and no hot food and stale crisps. Parking is an issue (most had to pay and display) although we managed to park free on the next road up from the Karaoke bar. Location is excellent and good views from our window. Kettle shelf was too small for kettle and other items and was dangerous. Carpet not pleasant, bed was comfortable but bedding needs renewing. Breakfast was nice but a choice of menu would have been nice especially eggs.
Please decorate this potentially good hotel and give it the care and attention it needs. Quirky.

Room Tip: Overlooking sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogwalker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I wish I could give it more but I really cant. The staff are friendly and the location is perfectly set along the sea front, but the hotel is beyond dated wether for one night or not. It needs a complete revamp it is a shame because it just brought the whole experience down. The sliding doors to the bathroom. All the creaking and lifted floorboards the rattling doors and the decor. The breakfast was v.good but you do wonder when the other half is coming out. If the place had some money invested into it and a re-furb it could really be a competitor. But for now as it it is it falls flat in terms of the other accommodation close by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shep21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the welbeck hotel only fir 1 night through the bank holiday. This was the only hotel we could find that had rooms available. We payed £33 per adult and £5 for my 6 year old son (altogether 3 adults 1 child). From the outside the hotel is small but from what i heard there is a few rooms in there! It is situated on the sea front not far from the grand pier! The room we had was a family room, a double bed, 2 single beds. The room was not spacious at all for a family but just to sleep in there is acceptable. We had a shower bathroom but the door would not shut properly so privacy is 0. The hotel is not very modern so my opinion on the price is that its a bit expensive, as there was a hotel around the corner with rooms at £22.50 a night and the hotel was a lot bigger and modern! Bad point is the parking, we had to risk leaving the car over night on double yellows and moving it in the morning, there is no car park to the hotel they suggest you park it on the pay car park at the rear but it was full! In the morning we had breakfast (which is included in the price) a cooked breakfast, which was nice! Overall i would stay hear again if i was stopping for a short break

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dannielle-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have just returned from a 5day festive break at this hotel. I can find nothing negative to say about this hotel only positive. This is a family run business and this was reflected in the excellent service we all received nothing was too much trouble for them. hotel was always lovely and warm unlike some we've stayed in previously/food was excellent and two nights entertainment was very good. May not be the most modern hotel you could find around, but would we stay there again most definately YES! YES!YES!

Room Tip: NOs 1 2 3 Excellent views of the sea and pier uver the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LVDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day coach tour to the above.The weather was atrocious, no ones fault. The public areas in this hotel were a little old fashioned but, very comfortable and spotless.The staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The meals were also very good (sometimes a little cold) very tasty and a reasonable choice. The two evenings entertainment they put on were excellent. I have not laughed as much in years, even the singer could equally have been a comedian.
Our room, however, was horrendous! When we arrived it was freezing cold and smelly. It had a separate toilet and washbasin but the shower was in the bedroom, with not even a solid door, just a curtain, which meant that a second person had to hold it in place to be sure of not wetting the carpet. Although this had happened often judging by the stains on the floor.We attempted one shower, the room quickly filled with steam and the windows ( single glazed and metal) were litterally dripping, so we had to open the window in an attempt to stop our clothing getting damp. Then we were freezing cold, again!!
The carpets in bedroom and toilet were badly stained. The kettle did not reach the power point and had obviously been boiled on the carpet many times. The wardrobe doors clunked, the floorboards creaked really loudly. The bed made awful noises when we just breathed and on my partners side as soon as it was sat on went completely flat down to the base.
Such a shame, but, we did not complain to the staff as they were so good.I will however, be writing to the tour operator who could not have checked out this hotel properly Others were also complaining, but, no one else had a shower in their bedroom. Would we go back? After a refurb and to a decent room--- Yes.

Room Tip: Did not hear of any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pi-Wacket11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is in need of refurbishment. My room was spacious and the ensuite very clean although the window was too high to open. With no-one on site overnight and no phone in the room I thought it could be considered dangerous should a fire break out. The food was ok and had a few choices but nothing special. The lounge was small but the view from the lounge at night was lovely. Watching the pier change colour was very relaxing. There was entertainment for two evenings and a bar. I will not stay here again and would hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wragby219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

A very peaceful, quiet hotel on the sea front, 2 minute walk from the grand pier and other amusments. Room was okay, quite small and ensuite was dated but had a CLEAN bath, toilet, wash basin and mirror!! Plenty of tea and coffee in the room, bedding was clean and although we wasn't at front of hotel we could see the sea from our window.

We really liked the fact that you got a key to your room and the main hotel door so that you could come and go as you feel!! (Great oppourtunity for walks along the beach at night or to go to the pub) As a couple we were really pleased with this freedom.. however we did question the safety.. as there is no staff overnight...

There is very minimal parking.. 2 cars can park outside hotel then you have to find somewhere on the streets (which is impossible!) or pay £5 to park overnight in a carpark next to hotel. (It is not owned by the hotel and doesn't look secure.)

Room Tip: Room 23 is adequate but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Honest30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#27 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nook & Harbour Holiday Apartments
Nook & Harbour Holiday Apartment...
#6 of 17 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#8 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbeck Hotel

Property: Welbeck Hotel
Address: 34 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing