We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hotel close to the sea front”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Location superb, in front of the seafront promenade. Not clearly identified, not easy to find. I found later it is specially equipped for the blind and disabled, but that was not of course a problem for us. Quite an old age range, we felt like we were the youngest there (and I am 56 …).
Friendly staff. We were not so impressed with the bathroom, no internet, bedding ok, TV poor, decor that does need updating but rooms were spacious. My room had a backyard view … but Cardiff was totally full that weekend.
Parking was complicated (and it was a weekend in May …).
Very good breakfast with many choices and altogether a 3* hotel very well located and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

We enjoyed our previous stay so much we decided to return. Having noted the Lauristons slight drop down the ratings we read the recent reviews and noted the only criticism being of the breakfast Fungi! The hotel is close to perfect and we rate it excellent - despite a boring breakfast mushroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff, and excellent facilities for people with disabilities. We took my Dad for a weekend in Weston, and stayed in the Lauriston. It was ideal, given that my needs a rollator to get about. They lent us a wheelchair to take him around in the evening. All in all, just what we needed and reasonable prices. A lovely touch was an Easter egg for each guest at breakfast on Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

nice friendly clean hotel,close to beach and town, breakfast was ok avoid the mushrooms not nice at all. Only down side was light on outside bedroom window which they said could not be turned off so perhaps a blind to sort problem out would work.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Was very nice. Caters for visually impaired people and dogs. Clean and tidy. No dog smell or dog hairs which was good as we are not dog lovers but decided guide dogs would be well behaved so we would try it and glad we did!

Close to town and view of pier from room was great. staff were helpful, Nice bar area and entertainment is provided but it was corrie disaster week so we went to room before it started!! Beds very soft in our twin room and i would not want to stay for more than a couple of nights but would go and stay again for a weekend. Infact mum is booking to take some friends in January.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sal_0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We chose this hotel as it was listed as dog friendly, which is something of a rarity these days. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly reception staff who made sure our two dogs had a bed each and food bowls. The room itself (Room 40) was in the basement, away from the main hotel floors, but this was better in our opinion just in case the dogs decided to bark. The room was huge and so was the bathroom. We comfortably fitted three beds and two dog beds in with lots of room to spare. I would compare the overall size to a good size suite in other hotels.

I cannot praise the staff enough for being friendly, attentive and professional. Nothing was too much trouble and they even offered to dog sit whilst we took dinner away from the hotel. They are used to dealing with dogs, as the hotel caters for the visually impaired and they are totally geared up for guide dogs. They even offer towels at the front door for any woofer that had been swimming in the Bristol Channel!

The only slight downside was the breakfast. It's the usual Full English with cereals, etc to start, but some of the items just didn't look appetising. My wife couldnt eat the mushrooms as they were just a pale grey and looked insipid. Please don't think this is a major gripe as I ate all my mushroom-free breakfast and liked it. We've just had better...

Anyway, we'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who had a dog (or dogs) and wanted to explorer Weston-super-Mare and the area. Its location is great (virtually on the beach and 5 mins from the Town Centre). The staff are top notch, rooms clean and we'll certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Had trouble finding hotel with road works, and small signage, but when arrived we had a lovely time, good breakfast and nice gardens to sit and relax, looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 6-12 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £48 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on Weston-super-Mare’s sea front, the Lauriston Hotel is situated within fragrant landscaped gardens overlooking Weston Bay’s promenade. Staying with us means you are in an ideal location for visiting the Grand Pier, exploring Weston-super-Mare, and going on some fantastic walks in the nearby parks and along the beaches. We are also a dog friendly hotel, and are happy to welcome you and your well-behaved canine companions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing