We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights in February 2012, this being our 4th visit. The staff are wonderful, so helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere is calm and comfortable.
The bedrooms are en-suite with baths or showers, and tea making facilities, and are spotlessly clean.
As they are a charity for the blind they are set up with excellent facilities for guide dogs including a shower room and run at the back of the hotel, and welcome well behaved family pets, not that you would notice for not one dog hair is to be seen around the hotel.
The hotel is only 50 mts from the newly developed promenade, and 2 minutes walk from the Winter Gardens and fabulous new Pier.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have views over the bay, and No 7 on the corner an even bigger view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

really nice welcome , great bedroom and lovely food . recommended by a friend and we weren't disappointed . will happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here 17th 2012 Feb for one night we found the room we had was the biggest in the hotel. You may think why so cheap, that is because he hotel is partly subsisted by the blind charity. Although open to the public the hotel is run mainly for the blind, we think this is an excellent idea and found the staff and services very good could not fault them. there is a car park but very tight we seemed to get the last space. we will defiantly be back again.

Room Tip: The twin room is the biggest in the house with big bay windows overlooking the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazzStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for just one night, the staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean. Our room was quite small but adequate. We only paid £ 45 for the 2 of us and that was with a full English breakfast as well. The breakfast was very good, cereal and toast too. It's a bit dated but still very nice, it had more character than the more modern hotels. The only criticism I could say was there wasn't enough parking outside, we got the last space..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The extraordinary low room rate makes you wonder if this hotel is as good as the three star rating and reviews tell you it should be. Rest assured, it is a find.

The Lauriston is clean, tidy and staffed by friendly attentive people. The food in is tasty, hot and plentiful, but the bar is expensive. The hotel is set up to serve people with sight issues, so be aware that there will be fury friends about.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel 3 times now and I have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. Staff are very friendly and very accommodating. Food is excellent and plentiful and the standard of housekeeping is first class. When a room is vacated everything is cleaned, even the inside of drawers and cupboards. It is well located for the centre of the town, theatre and park and and literally a 'stone's throw' from the sea front. This is the only hotel in Weston that I would recommend. Pets are permitted at a charge and a towel awaits you at the front door to wipe your four legged friend's paws. Doggy bedding is even provided if you do not take your own.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of this hotel are excellent. I have never experienced noise from other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have used many hotels over the years and have yet to find one I have felt as welcome at any of them as I was made to feel at this hotel!

I was delayed getting to the hotel thanks to a rail delay and when I got to the hotel I was a little upset to discover the single that I had booked was no longer available due to work being done on the hotel. They hotel had upgraded me to a twin room but had forgotten that I was in need of a bath. I was moved to a different room which had an en-suite shower and a separate bath next door. This was lovely but to top this off the hotel also did something beyond sweet! I had previously asked reception if they could give me the number to a pizza take out, the LOVELY lady on reception offered to ring and order it for me. She did this and when it arrived they had also paid as a sorry for my room not being available. :-) I was so touched.

The room's themselves are basic no frills but immaculate and very very comfortable. Tea and coffee provided each day and biscuits which was fab :-) The cleaning lady was a total sweetie! So helpful! On my first morning the tv was not working and when she knocked to see if my room needed servicing I mentioned the tv, she went out of her way to help me there and then. She checked the wire's, brought a different remote and then even brought a different tv from an empty room. It turned out that the builders had knocked the ariel off lol.

Every single member of staff at the hotel went out of their way and further to help with any query. I asked one night for a heater due to bad weather I had got cold and the lady took it up to my room and plugged it in and turned it on ready for me returning.

The hotel even helped me extend my stay by moving rooms around so I could stay an extra night in the same room. (they also rang the hotel next door in the middle of the previous night to see if they could take me if there was no space in theirs)

I did not try the breakfast so I can not say what the quality was.

I will note for dog owners this hotel had it all!!! dog bowls by the front door and even towels to dry your dogs off and a bin to pop the towels in he he.

I was very very sad to actually be leaving this hotel, everything was perfect. Such lovely lovely place. I loved every minute. What more can I say? oh the beds were fab, I slept soundly each night and plenty of hot water :-)

I would stop there no problem again :-)

Thank you everyone at the hotel for making my trip perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
679 reviews
0 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#6 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 6-12 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based on Weston-super-Mare’s sea front, the Lauriston Hotel is situated within fragrant landscaped gardens overlooking Weston Bay’s promenade. Staying with us means you are in an ideal location for visiting the Grand Pier, exploring Weston-super-Mare, and going on some fantastic walks in the nearby parks and along the beaches. We are also a dog friendly hotel, and are happy to welcome you and your well-behaved canine companions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing