We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wanted to Bring My Bed Home”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Did not know what to expect but was in no way disappointed. Reception was efficient and friendly, room and bathroom very good for the price paid and the bed (which normally is too hard/soft/lumpy etc) was more comfortable than our own.

Had dinner elsewhere but breakfasts were very good with plenty of choices and well prepared.

Did not try the bar but there is an excellent (although could be very busy) Wetherspoons across the road with at least five "real" ales on for the beer lover.

Very good location for both pier areas and the beach, town centre shops just a few minutes away.

Pity about the weather but hey ho better to have a few days in wet and windy Weston SM than to be at work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

I found this Hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we wanted to take our dogs on holiday to the seaside, their last swim this year , so to speak ! Craig booked us in for our 3 night stay b/b. He was also on reception when we arrived a bit wind swept . Straight away I could feel how welcoming everyone was " not always the case when you have a dog with you ". Our room was on the top floor no 35 with side view of the beach and gardens, splendid.Dog bowls and beds available for your pets. Nice ! The hotel is a listed building so is large, spacious, and CLEAN...Perfect for owners and Pets..The dinning room was also nice ,we ate there twice during our stay the staff were excellent couldn't do enough for us. The three days went by very quickly ,as it does when things go well and when we left we knew we would be returning early next year with our Dogs..to the Lauriston.. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff who looked after us especially Craig, Cassie, Bethany. Our chatty service maid and bar staff, a Big Woop ! Woop ! And see ya all next year regards Jeanette Andy and the pooches. Xx

Room Tip: Room 35 good but as it looks out onto front you get a bit of traffic noise, only during the day.all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilltshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in October and had a second room booked for my in laws.
The hotel staff were really welcoming and helpful. Lots of nice touches for the dog like bowls, a bed, a spend area and clean towels to dry off. Our room was large and very well located. We would see the whole of the pier which was a lovely treat. I had asked for a quiet room for the in laws. As a result this was at the back of the hotel and was a much smaller room and not really as nice.
The only downside I felt was the breakfast which was not especially good.
I would definitely stay here again. It's a wonderful location and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popscolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a lovely clean hotel. Our room was large with lovely high ceilings. The beds were clean and comfy.
We were able to take our dog and they were plenty of facilities to walk her. A dog blanket and feeding bowls were provided.
The staff were helpful and polite.
The dining room was faultless and we had a superb breakfast.
We stayed only one night and will definitely return
Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Great hotel to take your dog because it's a minute from the dog friendly part of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill442003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just stayed here for two days and would go back to the Lauriston no problem at all, very friendly staff, a hight standard of cleanliness in our room, and the dinning room and food we couldn`t fault.
Only parking for about twenty cars but we parked with no problem, we also saw a few people with their dogs staying there but again no problem.
We would book this hotel again and it`s pretty central for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have a new dog and love Weston Super Mare so decided to book in to a dog friendly hotel for one night. The Lauriston was recommended through a friend of a friend. On booking the staff (Craig) were really helpful over the phone, we've never taken a dog to a hotel before and he answered all of my questions and was extremely polite. We were offered a choice of rooms and we went for a downstairs front facing room G1 which overlooks the garden. The room was £70.00 for B&B. We got a good parking space within the grounds and booked in with Craig again very helpful and showed us the 'spend area' for the dogs to go. Nothing seems too much bother. We ordered breakfast in our room as you are not allowed to take non guide dogs into the restaurant and our dog is too anxious to leave in the room. On arrival we ordered our breakfast. The room was large, comfortable and they laid on dog bowls and a big cushion for the dog - lovely. The gardens are really nicely kept and although virtually on the seafront there was no noise at all. The next morning we anticipated our pre ordered breakfast at 9am. Just after 9 the cleaner knocked (you don't need to book out until 10) We thought this would be our breakfast arriving so the cleaner told the desk and they rang us. I think we had been forgotten about as we had to tell them our order again and breakfast arrived about 15 minutes later. Sadly it was extremely dry and overcooked, all the condiments to apply to toast but no toast. We were charged £3.00 for this room service. I don't stay in many hotels (having a dog) so this was a treat for us all so I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast situation, and I'm not a fussy eater at all. I have never seen fried bread so fried that it curls up like a prawn cracker. I don't know if our breakfast was a reflection of what you would get in the restaurant or just thrown together a bit late? Don't know what we could have done differently to ensure breakfast was served better. The friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere and how super accommodating they are of people and their pets have earned this rating of very good overall. There is a lovely photo album in the lobby of some the guests, their guide dogs and clearly this place is well loved by many returning visitors.

Room Tip: front facing rooms on ground floor overlook garden, front facing upstairs and you get a sea view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claymudpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is very traditional and targetted at an aging market. What we had not been aware of on booking is that it is run by a charity and wish this was publicised as I feel it is a point of difference. We had a lovely room on the front (although noisey with late night revellers). Friendly staff, very clean room. Breakfast was not so good - you are put on a set table and cannot choose and staff were not very friendly first thing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itinerantur17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 6-12 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing