We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"DISAPPOINTING 2ND VISIT"”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After visiting this hotel in March this year we were impressed by the friendly and comfortable atmosphere of the hotel so we decided to take another short break in July. What a difference 4 months make. We requested the same room we had in March which we were given and it was still a pleasant room except for the fact we had no bath plug and the shower was cold. We went to reception as we were going out to dinner on our first evening to ask for a bath plug. The man who was on reception that evening was sprawled out in a chair behind the reception desk on the phone which appeared to be a private call. We waited and waited and waited he just looked straight through us as if we were not there until we got fed up of waiting and left. The same person was on the desk the following morning so I spoke to him about the attitude to us the previous evening and the only response was if I thought he was being rude then sorry. He could not have cared less. The other problem was breakfast we sat at the table for 20mins. before I went and asked a waitress if we could have coffee and give our breakfast order she did so with the most miserable attitude. Whilst I understand that the staff need to spend more time per table to help the visually impaired I do not think it is acceptable to just walk past and ignore other guests and I do not think having only 2 waitresses on duty at mealtimes is sufficient I did not ask at the time to speak to someone in authority as we were only there a couple of days and I did not want my break made anymore uncomfortable. I did however write an email to Vision Hotels customer service and over a month later no-one has had the decency to acknowledge it. If the company take this attitude is it surprising that certain members of staff take the same attitude. After our visit in March I recommended this hotel to a number of people but will not be doing that in future nor will I be booking again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank worldwiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Whilst this hotel is specifically geared towards the visually impaired it offers good value and quality service for all it's customers with what budget constraints it must be under.

Well located, side- on to the promenade, this hotel offers a friendly and efficient service, rooms are clean and the shower works well. Accepting the budget constraints the rooms are to an acceptable standard and breakfast offered good food with a substantial menu option and table service.

It's always good to support a "not for profit" hotel like the Lauriston as there are not many around. It would however be good to see better use of the extensive front garden area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was excellent value for money and fun to stay here. A warm welcome and friendly staff throughout, plenty of parking space, a generous sized room with a very comfy huge king-sized bed and a tasty and naughty fry-up to start the day. What made it fun though was the quirkiness of the place, the feeling that at every turn I expected to bump into Monsieur Poirot.

Location couldn’t have been better for what I consider to be:
• The best pub in town for traditionally brewed and well-kept local ale – The Regency: Turn left and walk to the top of the road, turn left and it’s 50 yards on the right.
• The best tearoom of all time – The Blitz: a memory of 1940’s life for those who were or weren’t there – 5 minutes walk.
• Arguably Weston’s best fish and chip restaurant – Papa’s: next to The Blitz Tearoom.

These places excepted Mr. Sinatra sang of “My Kind of Town,” but I’m sure never about Weston – however strangely we found ourselves on our second visit within three weeks. The reason was purely to visit the second of the islands out in the bay. For some inexplicable reason, after a lifetime of travelling and seeing some of the World’s most spectacular sights we were still bound by an obsession to set foot on two small lumps of rock out in the Bristol Channel.

But whatever reason you have to come here, the Laureston is okay. Surely only those without imagination would sit at breakfast and fail to assign characters from a live whodunnit to your fellow guests. There’ll be a doctor of course, and a vicar…..but alas no longer a Major Crudgington-Smythe since he met with the mishap in the dining room the night before. My money was on the vicar’s wife.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top (2nd) floor. Probably was quieter so a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel very friendly to us and our little dog, stayed in sea view room, room was big and on third floor can't remember the number of the room, had a lovely breakfast. The hotel is tired and need's a refresh, but very clean, if we had not had our dog with us we would not have stayed not many pet friendly hotels around, just because we love our pets doesn't mean we want lower standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topnana60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good location, only over the road from 'Spoons and very close to the pier. This is a Vision hotels which specialise in hotels for Blind People/Visually impaired. Staff very friendly and rooms of a good size. Downsides are no Wifi in bedrooms which is not acceptable in this day and age especially when you are on a roaming tariff. Breakfast which is not buffet was very small. Overall though I would recommend this, get you breakfast at Spoons if you have a bigger appetite!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wokingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wow, my Polski princess and i decided to go British this weekend so instead of jetting off we decided to head down to the west country. Being from London we decided to travel half way on Thursday night and carry on friday morning. We booked the Lauriston because the pictures looked fine and at £80 p.night assumed it would be good. We requested a sea view.We got a view of the back yard.The hotel is very tired and the double rooms are as big as a single. You had no room to move or put your luggage. The bathroom was small and the taps dripped all night.The breakfast was limited, pre cooked and bland. It may be ideal for the clientelle it attracts as it is very disabled friendly which is nice and dogs allowed but for a pleasing relaxed visit i wouldnt bother. There are far better hotels in the vicinity and cheaper. This hotel needs refurbishing and quickly

Room Tip: wi fi only works in certain partsof thehotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the Lauriston Hotel with my Partner and our two dogs. I have to first of all remark at how friendly and helpful the staff are. Always smiling and asking how our day was. Really attentive. I must also comment on how fantastic the hotel was for our dogs They have dog towels right by the front entrance so that you can dry them off after a day playing in the sea. They also have a doggy shower room as well as a little grassed area just for the dogs where they can do their business. The hotel smelt fresh and was incredibly clean. Our room was sizeable, clean and very comfortable. Once again the dogs were well catered for with dog beds in the room as well as food and water bowls. All in all it was a very enjoyable day and we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 34 which had a slight view of the sea. Was quite noisy at times, but nothing that preven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
630 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 6-12 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £58 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing