We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean Room Rotten Noise all night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Clean Room Rotten Noise all night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here just for one night.
The room was great a triple room with spotless bathroom.
However none of us got any sleep due to the incessant drone of what we can only assume is an extractor? at one point we had two droning noises at different pitches....Chinese torture indeed!
Why on earth these extractors are on all night defies description? We left early very tired and fed up.
Maybe the hotel should consider the rooms at the back of the hotel to avoid other clients having to suffer all night its really thoughtless to have these machines on all night!!

Room Tip: By all means stay here its a good place but make sure that you sleep at the front of the hotel not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimijoy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    129
    73
    25
    34
See reviews for
95
134
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Check in was very professional. Parked in a pay and display just down from hotel for £10 for 24hrs. Room 26 was a nice room, bit on the small side for a family room, but had a nice balcony. Sea view was nice. Although I was surprised to find lots of cig butts in the flower pots! Asked in the bar for an extra pillow as no one on reception. Unfortunately the lady had no clue what I was talking about (English not her first language) and we never got a pillow!
Went to bed - but not able to sleep due to very loud music from next doors karaoke until late. Eventually dropped off and then woken by the hen and stag of parties returning home. In fairness I did hear someone shouting at them to shut up! They woke up my little one - not much sleep for us! Didn't pay for breakfast - but noticed that not many people seemed to be eating there. Got stuck in the lift - don't use unless you have too - looks ancient!! It's a nice hotel, not really worth £124 per night room only though. Especially when we didn't sleep!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Smiths is on the sea front and we had a sea view which was great, convenient for the shops
The hotel is a bit on the dark side, hated the lift which is carpeted, ceiling an all. The staff were all very freindly and helpful, food was good.The double room was a tad small, but the bed did have mattress protecters on. We stayed four nights here and really enjoyed it, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst all my family stayed in another hotel (which was fully booked) so I only used this room to sleep in and hardly spent anymore time there. I had a single room and it was very compact with very little room to walk around the bed and move around in the bathroom. My view was of the kitchen extraction fan which was very noisy and meant my room smelt of grease and this was made more unpleasant by the fact it had been a very hot day so my room was nice and toasty and smelly!

Having said all of that, for £42 room only, I thought it was pretty good value and a very good location on the sea front.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umbrella_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend, we booked to stay for 2 nights as we were attending a concert being held on Weston Super Mare beach. The location of this hotel is fantastic, convenient for the beach and a short walk to bars/shops/pier etc. The receptionist who greeted us was friendly and check in was quick. Disappointingly, this is about the extent of the positive aspects of our stay.

We were shown to room number 8, on the ground floor. As soon as we walked in we we're hit with the temperature of the room and realised that there were no windows at all, just a small ceiling 'window' in the bathroom letting in minimal light, this felt quite chlaustrophobic.
We found a fan and turned it straight on, but it wasn't very effective, seemed to just circulate warm air. We resorted to propping the door open to try to circulate a breeze which resulted in everyone who walked down the corridor being able to see into our room.
We had breakfast in the morning, in a deathly silent restaurant. As we walked in we were greeted by a young waitress, then a member of kitchen staff stuck his head out of the kitchen door and shouted at her, she turned around and apologised to us for him shouting! Another couple came in and had their orders taken, food arrived, missing toast, so the young waitress proceeded to go into the kitchen to shout at a member of staff, which was awkward for us to listen to as the restaurant was so silent we heard every word! Very unprofessional. Food tasted ok but so blandly presented, just very plain, and not much food on huge white plates.
We were woken up on a couple of occasions in the night as the walls were thin and we heard people stomping down the corridors.

I'm not normally one to write negative reviews, and I'm in no way snobby about hotels, but I'm sorry to say, that we just did not really enjoy our stay here :(

Room Tip: Avoid room number 8 as no windows, very very hot and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150Nix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

strongly recommend to everyone, had a beautiful double room with balcony & stunning sea view, food fabulous, staff friendly & helpful especialy the young man on reception!!! absolutely will be going to stay again!!!!! if I had to find a negative it would be that no mattress or pillow protecters on beds, overall top marks on everything smiths hotel, thanks for a great wkend stay.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

lovely hotel service was excellent and staff very friendly and accommodating. Recommend this as a great place to stay, nice and clean. food was really good full English breakfast and a choice of evening meals.

Room Tip: we had a 1st floor room cases were taken from us and put outside our allocated room. the hotel is op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plonker200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Property: Smiths Hotel
Address: 20-24 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Hotel Weston-super-Mare features a range of 48 comfortable, stylish and spacious en-suite bedrooms and 8 luxury suites, many with spectacular sea views. Make Smiths Hotel your first choice when choosing a holiday hotel in Weston super Mare or Somerset. The hotel is Situated in a prime location on the beautiful seafront of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset. Smiths Hotel is a family run hotel that affords spectacular views across Weston bay from the Victorian theme terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing