We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed at the Smiths Hotel with my sister for the weekend of T4 On The Beach and simply needed a comfortable room whilst the event was taking place. I am seventeen and am not generally fussy about accomodation so I was disappointed when the hotel did not even match up to my expectations!

We had been told check-in was at 2pm and after 4 hours of train jouneys and a 20 minute walk with suitcases just wanted to relax in our room. However, after arriving at 2:45pm and discovering that our room would not be ready for a further half hour we were not pleased and had to sit in an uncomfortable dingy room with our suitcases until the housekeeper was finished (many other people like us were in the same position). The room and facilities were better than expected when we did eventually get to our room though... clean and fairly modern with a flat screen tv. We also had an amazing view of the beach as we were located in a second floor room on the sea front.

The first night we stayed was a Saturday night, and expected there to be some noise outside because of clubs etc obviously, but did not expect to be kept awake until 2am (when we were getting up at 4:30am to begin queuing early for T4OTB) because of the hotel next door's bar/club which was playing terribly loud music all through the night. I don't expect that anyone got to sleep with that outside; we certainly didn't. I found the Sunday night much better due to this not happening, however.

I only tasted the hotel's food when I had breakfast on Monday morning but this cannot be faulted. The food was served within five minutes by a polite waiter and was delicious and hot. The tables were clean and there was a lovely atmosphere. Based on this i would definitely recommend the hotel's food.

Overall, I would not stay in this hotel again and personally think it is overpriced, at £40 per night per person, for the service I received. The location and food are positive aspects of the experience, and the lack of sleep and bad customer service are the negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01MrsDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 451 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Room was pokey, stuffy, claustraphobic and looking very tired, which is how I felt when I left. Noisy at night with doors slamming and noisy pipe work. One of the night porters was rude and unhelpful, propping up the bar with a pint on our return in the early hours; sorry we disturbed you when you were there to do a job! En-suite - I use the term loosely, was in need of attention it also needed the sink to join it in the bathroom!
On the plus side the hotel was well stiuated but don't expect to leave your car in the car park, only enough room for 8 cars at the most. And apparently the food was good (although one meal took an hour to be served).
In my opinion the hotel is over priced. We were also unable to gain access to the free wi-fi.
My tip try another hotel with good reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

the staff wasnt the most friendly, but they were okay. when we came back after being out for a while they saw us and didnt even say hello. thought it was a bit odd.
our room had a fantastic view. the room reminded me of a holiday inn or something like that, not very personal. but it was clean and met normal standards. the heating had been lefted on for us in the room and it was lovely and toasty!
the ensuite is small even the shower cubical is.

we stayed in the winter so of a night it was pretty cold and could have done with a duvet rather than an old blanket and sheet. i didnt like the idea of using the blanket because i cant imagine they get washed after each stay cause they would take forever to dry. a duvet would have made me feel much more comfortable and hygenic.

we ate they a couple of times and the food is great. the waitress was very nice and attentive.

of a night up untill about 1am there were children running around and slamming doors and that really annoyed me as i had an interview the next day. the adults didnt even seem to care!

the location is great, its right on the beach and town center. and a short car/bus ride from the station.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Staff really friendly and helpful. En suite facilities were not described as shower only but it was vey clean. However, the shower room was very small and the toilet base was cracked. The basin was the size of a cloakroom basin, you couldn't shave in it or wash your face - only your hands. TVs in the rooms were working OK but they are analogue - no extra channels available. The breakfasts were adequate. However, felt hotel of this size could offer more choice, if you didn't want beans for instance, no alternative was offered, When I asked for Continental breakfast after tasting the full English, was told that as noone had asked for it for a while, they may not have one!! Managed to find me a couple of croissants eventually. The hotel had obviously redecorated most of the main rooms on the gound floor and these were great. However, room where non residents could eat a meal was in desperate need of face lift, bench seating area was very worn, there were water marks on ceiling - not a welcoming space. Unfortunately, I don't think I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolsie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank newstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 20-24 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £47 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Hotel Weston-super-Mare features a range of 48 comfortable, stylish and spacious en-suite bedrooms and 8 luxury suites, many with spectacular sea views. Make Smiths Hotel your first choice when choosing a holiday hotel in Weston super Mare or Somerset. The hotel is Situated in a prime location on the beautiful seafront of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset. Smiths Hotel is a family run hotel that affords spectacular views across Weston bay from the Victorian theme terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing