We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now a regular visitor”

Hadleys at Number One
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Now a regular visitor”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Love this restaurant, been for both breakfast and lunches. Food is always good and the service excellent. Sunday lunch has a fixed menu which always has something that we like. The bay window upstairs gives great views of the pretty Boulevard. Try it, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    33
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hadleys at 1 the Boulevard”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice atmosphere. Food was absolutely lovely. We went in for lunch and thought that the prices were reasonable for a resturant of this calibre

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SPdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best restuaurant in town”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We have just celebrated my mother 80th birthday . Mark and Gillian and the whole family were great the food is always excellent and the service is always with a smile it is always like dinner with friends. all I would say if you do not enjoy the experience its your fault and you must be hard to please. Keep it going to a fab couple . Tim and Tim

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tim1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walk on in!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Superbly run by Gillian and Mark, the food is quite exceptional and hard to beat in central Weston-super-Mare.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianMark, Manager at Hadleys at Number One, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you very much Anne. We are glad you and your party enjoyed the evening and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“walk on by....”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Visiting friends in Weston and went there for my brothers birthday dinner, was told that it was worth a visit, boy i should of carried on walking.
Upon arrival at 8pm there were just 2 other tables, we were seated at the door where the other tables kept going out for cigarettes - fortunately they had left witin 45minutes and no one else arrived. Even being the only table the staff were not very attentive.
The starters arrived, bland, poorly presented not what we expected, sorry, I forget, the warm bread rolls and butter were appreciated.
Main courses - Fillet of Beef Rossini, we renamed it - cat food... Pork overcooked, rare steak cooked through.
Whenever we needed more drinks we had to ask, obviously they make enough money so they don't need to upsell.
At least they said they would make an effort for the birthday dessert - wait a minute, they forgot! To be excused on a busy night but they weren't. Cheese served cold out of the fridge, trio of chocolate, first time I have seen a chocolate garnish as part of the trio, pastry soggy on this and the apple tart that seriously lacked apple.
Is this really the best Weston has to offer??

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Leanneworrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianMark, Owner at Hadleys at Number One, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
t is always helpful to receive comments and we work hard to achieve the positive remarks that have been previously posted on this site.

We were therefore surprised to see this one. During the evening you did not express any sign of dissatisfaction, we were on hand and always ask the table 5-10 minutes into main course if everything is ok and if there is anything else required. This is why we cannot understand such vehement comments. A quiet word at the time or at the end of the evening could have allowed us to address your unhappiness.

However, we take comments seriously and will be checking the dishes you have mentioned. I can assure you and any readers of this that the ‘cat food’ is a smooth pate under the fillet steak, which is on top of a piece of fried bread and this is typical of a Steak Rossini.

In response to your final remark – ‘is this really the best Weston has to offer’ – we certainly do not profess to be the best, but we do our utmost to ensure our customers enjoy their evening, breakfast or lunch etc, enjoy the food and certainly to make them feel they want to walk back in the door. We are sorry you did not feel this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadleys at Number One also viewed

Milton, Weston-super-Mare
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare
 

Been to Hadleys at Number One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing