We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable B&B”
Review of Lewinsdale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lewinsdale Lodge
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at Lewisham lodge from 18th - 20th August 2014. very friendly, helpful and welcoming. breakfast was lovely. various choices. Des and Carol are a lovely couple, who did everything to make our stay enjoyable. My bedroom was lovely, decorated well, and was very comfortable with all relevant facilities.
would definitely return. Would recommend it to anyone.
thank you Des and Carol.

Olga

Room Tip: ground floor designs more modern, than upstairs. Good access for wheelchair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 499olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just had a two night stay at Lewinsdale Lodge with my wife and two teenage sons. We enjoyed our stay at the Lodge & must agree it is well situated. Lewinsdale Lodge is run by a very nice friendly couple, we didn't spend much time in their company but when we did bump into them, they were very pleasant. We did encounter one or two minor problems in our double bedroom i.e the toilet seat was a very lose fitting along with one of the shelves in the bathroom, our sons twin room was fine. Breakfast was cooked well but not the largest we have ever encountered, in fairness though we are used to eating large -ish portions at home. Our overall view was that the price is about fair for Lewinsdale Lodge & would stay again but would more than likely checkout one or two others first.

Room Tip: Roadside room a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Lewinsdale Lodge. Carol and Des were perfect hosts and we enjoyed seeing their grand-daughters helping in the daily routine. The room was clean and tidy on arrival and cleaned every day of out visit. An excellent choice for breakfast, perfectly poached eggs.Fantastic position close to the beach and amenities, but in a quiet neighbourhood especially at night. Marvelous value for money. If we are down that way again we will not hesitate to book with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely comfortable guest house with friendly owners, positioned really near the sea front. Spoke a few times to Carol before our arrival regarding extra requirements for my Mother who uses a walker & wheelchair, & she couldn't have been more helpful. Nicely decorated large rooms upstairs with comfortable beds; something you don't get in a lot of places, when I generally can't wait to get back to my own bed! The rooms downstairs which can cater for the less abled were a little smaller, but i think the owners are restricted by what was done before they took over. Great breakfasts with a good selection. Parking round the back which was a bonus. Really good value - I think whoever says it's costly clearly doesn't get out very much!
5 in our party & we're already planning our next visit.
Stayed June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very surprised at other reviews as our stay was lovely, we have stayed all over the world from Cyprus to Honolulu and our stay at Lewinsdale Lodge was just as special, our hosts were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, very clean and fresh, with a comfortable bed. The lounge was also lovely we were able to come and go as we pleased. We will always remember our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Arrived with my 3 year old, first impressions of the room were cramped but sufficient, but then I started to notice things... Bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from previous visitors and was full to the top with used sanitary towels.
The doilies on the tea tray have tea stains all over it, so clearly not changed. There was a long mirror fixed to the wall and a big chunk was missing form the bottom and was razor sharp, had to cover with plasters as I had a toddler in the room.
You are given a key to let your self in & out of the side door, which is OK if you don't mind being greeted with a big trough full of cigarette butts. Most of all the bathroom stank of sewage and drains which permeated the room. Only saving grace really was the breakfast, very good and well cooked and plenty of variety.When we checked out, I gave my keys over and said 'thanks were leaving now' and he just glared at me for a second over his glasses, took the keys and carried on with what he was doing. Plenty of places to stay in Weston, would not stay here again. I have never written a bad review before, but felt that in this case I had too.Stayed a while ago but just saw the place in a search engine which prompted me to write this. Stayed September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerlove71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had one night, passing through. Weston was very pleasant but this hotel was not. Shabby rooms and tatty furniture; seemed like everything and the decorations was from the 1970s and worn out. A good breakfast, however.
Expensive for the offering.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 283Coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
3.8 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pontins Sand Bay Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Moorlands Country Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinsdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinsdale Lodge

Address: 5-7 Clevedon Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinsdale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lewinsdale Lodge is a 12 bedroom guest house situated just two minutes off the sea front. There are 5 ground floor rooms with walk in showers particularly suited to the less able. Evening meals are served in a bright spacious Dining room, each room with their own table.A very small car park is available on a first come first served basis.There is also free parking on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lewinsdale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing