We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that only cares about taking your money and ignoring your complaints.”
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The York Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel that only cares about taking your money and ignoring your complaints.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited this hotel with 15 other golfers on a one night break. The weather was fantastic full of tourists, holidaymakers and revellers, very lively. First impression of the hotel was very good, location was right by the pier overlooking the sea. I booked into the hotel at reception the lady was very pleasant. The twin room cost in total £88.50 upfront, which included £8.50 for the car which was parked overnight approx 100 yards away in an open car park outside another hotel. My room was on the third floor with a view out the back of the hotel. Very antiquated apart from a modern looking television with no remote! It was my intention to jump straight in the shower as I'd just played a round of golf in the sweltering heat. Unfortunately for me there was no water
pressure so no water coming out of shower! I returned to the beer area, met up with the rest of the golfing party and had a drink. I discovered that we were all staying on the third floor and all of us had the same problems with the showers! Thinking it was only 5pm perhaps the situation will resolve itself later as some hotels put their hot water on
later in day! Returned to my room a few hours later after walk along prom and discovered the same problem with shower! Complained to staff who couldn't sort out the lack of hot water in my room. I was told to use shower in a single room about 25-30 yards down corridor! The shower in this room was boiling hot then stone cold! Later went downstairs to watch Andy Murray semi final and saw Manager. I explained the situation regarding the
shower and I had this vacant, couldn't care less attitude, which in a nutshell meant he couldn't do nothing!! Of course the hotel had my money up front and he stated that there would be no refund other than a few beers over the bar! I informed him that this wasn't good enough and a review on behalf of us 16 golfers will be submitted. He replied, "You can put 18 reviews if you want"
The following morning I again had to use the hot and cold shower in that single room, which was also being used by my golfing friends!
To end a thoroughly disappointing stay I twice ordered coffee with my buffet breakfast and that never arrived! Another case of rip off Britain! Knowing what I know now I wouldn't pay £30 a room never mind nearly £90!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coedycwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for review.
With regards to T.V remote controls,we have them for every room in the hotel & we have in place a refundable deposit as guests remove them from the rooms on a regular basis.
With regards to the water issue this was totally out of our hands as there was a water pressure problem in the area which resulted in low pressure problem.
I was the manager onsite & felt very intimidated by a drunken man who was offered a full refund as we had decided that we could not rectify the problem & was going to close the third floor to guests. but he turned down this offer & as a result he felt 2 free drinks for each member of the golf tour (15 guests) would & i quote " make him laugh"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    129
    58
    36
    44
See reviews for
69
137
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst travelling through the west coast. We decided to book a double room at this hotel following our impression on the appearance of the restaurant and bar area, assuming the rest of the hotel was in the same keeping. We were very disappointed when we went up to our room on the third floor, to find how old and unkempt the room was, compared to the entrance of the hotel. The view from our window was of some flats opposite, which had scaffolding and building works going on. We had no curtains to block out the light and the blinds on the windows were broken. The room was not very soundproofed as we could here guests up and down the corridor all night, also there was no remote control for the TV. One of the bed side lamps did not work. And finally, there was an extension lead in the room for extra sockets!!! The only plus side is the hotel is on the sea front and we were able to park our car in a nearby hotel at a low cost.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the photograph of room online as they are not the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed there overnight on a golf stag weekend. The room was adequate a family one with a single and double bed. The shower went cold though and wouldn't warm up again after my room mate had used it. All rooms the same on third floor. So had to have a cold one. Not good.
The full English breakfast was very good but was served a little late for us 8.30 - 10. The car park was £5 after 5 and vacating by 10am

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishPastieAlemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

we went away for my wifes birthday staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough to help nothing was to much trouble had an evening meal on the saturday it was delicious locality very good on the sea front room not the best we have had but ok for a weekend could do with double glazing and curtains only had blinds in the room couldnt shut the light out at night would deff go back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from a one night stay here for my wifes 30th birthday.

Firstly you'll be lucky to get anyone to answer the phone regarding booking a stay here, even when we left a message no one bothered to call us back. When we finally did get through and were able to book a room we were able to book a family room at short notice at a reasonable rate. Upon arriving at the hotel we realised there was no parking so had to pay to park in the nearby multi story car park and carry all of our bags to the hotel along with two small children. Apparently the hotel has some kind of deal with a nearby hotel where you pay for a permit to park but this really should have been communicated to us before we arrived, not once we had already paid to park. No obvious signs to reception which is actually at a hatch in the bar. We collected our keys from a helpful member of staff and went to our room on the ground floor. The room was very basic but ok, it was quite clean but the ceiling was cracked and badly stained, a little attention would soon have this looking much better. The hotel is right on the main sea front so we took the children for a lovely walk along the pier and returned to the hotel at 5.30 and went to the restaurant for dinner. No staff were at the bar, reception or in the restaurant but we sat and waited...and waited. We helped ourselves to some menus and waited again. After 15 minutes we went to find someone who then said she would be with us in 2 minutes. After another 10 minutes waiting with hungry two and four year olds we gave up and walked out. There were two other tables occupied in the restaurant, not exactly busy at all so we felt this was terrible service. We found a lovely place nearby luckily. When we returned to the hotel at around 9.30pm we complained to the young guy on reception who was excellent and very apologetic, he offered us all a free breakfast and said how sorry he was.
In the morning we went along to the dining room for breakfast to be greeted by a young waitress with no social skills whatsoever who asked us if we had booked a table, we explained we had been offered a free breakfast and so she went off to check this with someone before letting us sit down, after finally getting confirmation this was ok she let us in and we sat down. The woman serving the cooked breakfast who I assume is the owner then came over to ask us what exactly the issue was in the restaurant so we explained we were staying for my wife's 30th and said what happened to which she appeared quite indignant and did not even apologise to us for the upset. We felt very uncomfortable at this hostile response and ate quickly before leaving. We packed our things and went to 'reception', dropped our keys to the waitress who didnt bother to say thank you or sorry to us before we left.

In short, the hotel is in a great location but that's all. You'll get nothing here which you won't get at the premier inn 3 mins walk away, right on the sea front and you'll probably get a better price too. The saving grace of this stay was the guy who actually did understand the value of customer service when we complained about the lack of service at dinner - certainly the management could learn a thing or too from him.

Would we return? NO

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Recently visited this hotel. We had a family room which was in the basement!! Certainly not the best room ive ever stayed in. Even though it was big enough for 6 beds there was damp on the walls and the outside tables and chairs were at window level so noise was at a premium.It didnt help them putting music on at 8am on the sunday morning!!

The resturant is very nice as is the Wine bar.

No signs for reception thats cos there isnt any!! lol

Good location though so would prob return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccfceuropesNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

had a few days at this hotel A1 overlloking the sea could not fault this hotel will return soon ideal for the shopping arcade near the pier and all its atractions wonderful stay over for families with the beach just opposite first class for a weekend retreat ...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albufeira003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Property: The York Hotel
Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing