We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a prime location”
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a prime location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Just across from the pier so it's located well.the staff & food is nice.its a shame the hotel opposite was covered in scaffold so our view was an eye sore.the hotel is very warm but couldn't sleep with windows open as we were above a noisy generator

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenmorgan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    127
    58
    35
    44
See reviews for
68
133
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the York Hotel in August 2013 with my wife and several friends.
Very good service and location with the front of the hotel looking out to sea.
Our room was fine but needed up dating somewhat.
The Hotel share car parking with another hotel some 250 yards away.
Breakfast which was paid extra to the room was also very nice.

Room Tip: Try and get an updated room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

this was a 4 day holiday with national holidays, the location could not have been better, opposite the pier and in front of the shopping centre.the room we had (304) was the woodchip room ,all the walls and the ceiling were covered in various shades of the stuff.couldn`t see out of the windows for the condensation on the inside of the double glazing glass.still it was a small ,comfortable and warm room,clean but in need of modernising and more coat hangers ... should have took our own, only 3 hangers supplied,, we did ask for more but the friendly member of staff we asked thought we were joking, none were supplied .did without..the meals were very good , breakfast a bit chaotic but good grub all the same. entertainment average.would go again if we could stop in a modern room

Room Tip: the front ones on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommoCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just had 2 days at the york in room 308 room was small no views, only scaffolding shower area dirty human hair every where, fittings hanging off , and to top it off a meal of burnt steak never again. And a lump of ply under my mattress very disappointed mr wilson.

Room Tip: Look around first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drainman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I must admit I felt a bit worried about our stay at this hotel from the reviews and correspondence between me and the hotel. After a shaky start we checked into our room. We named it the Harry Potter suite the cupboard under the stairs known as the family room. As I was turning the key in the door I could here raised voices and swearing. Not a good start. Once in the room it was large and clean. So I felt thing where on the up. We had our evening meal booked this was great the food and the service was fantastic our waitress was lovely , if she worked for me I would give her a raise. I think we where lucky as it rained that evening and we where only stopping for one night so the outdoor seating area was empty . I think if this was busy it might be hard to get to sleep as it is right outside the family room. After a good night sleep we woke to a brilliant breakfast . So all in all a lovely stay in a beautiful location over looking the sea. One minus point no hotel parking.

Room Tip: Over looks the sea and pier so worth choosing a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends for a night out in Weston-Super-Mare. Ive got to say this hotel topped off a great weekend.

Positives
-Had a seafront executive room which was clean throughout and very modern compared to most seaside accomodation.
- beds were very comfy and had a great nights sleep
- bathroom was clean, plenty of towells and shower was very powerfull
- 2 minute walk from the central pier and other attractions in WSM
- Staff were all in uniform and very eager to help
- plenty of staff on hand to serve all your needs and throughout the whole day
- I had an evening meal here for just £5.95 and the service and standard of the food was very high.
- breakfast was £4.95 full english plush as much coffee tea toast cerial etc as you wanted .....Bargain.
- eating area was modern and nicely decorated and very clean.
- Bar inside the hotel was stocked with various alcoholic drinks
- Outside bar was brilliant , overlooking the sea with plenty of seating
- only cost £80 to sleep 3 adults ......again bargain.

Negatives
- no lights worked in the bedroom or en-suite??? we could have spoken to the hotel but it was late at night and was we didnt really need them and im sure if we asked they would have been sorted
- no remote for the tv had to get from reception
- Parking was a 50 yards away at a separate hotel, this wasnt a problem but may cause problems for the elderly or with familes with children. There is however a car park directly at the back of the hotel which is £10 for over night

Even though there were a few minor problems that is not enough to put me off giving this hotel 5/5. If you want to visit Weston-super-mare and want a modern hotel, great price , excellent food , friendly and welcoming staff and a good nights sleep....then you should not look at any other hotel than the York hotel. I will be coming back here again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a premier family room for plenty of space and a seafront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorngumbald.Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

luckily members of my coach trip to hotel,helped me with the steps ,also staff were more than obliging.Had I been left to my own devices i could not have managed to climb the stairs and carry my walking frame.There was 1 small lift to floors,but nearly all guests on our trip had some mobility problems.One old lady,who was in a wheelchair,was forced to walk up stairs and consequently fell over a doorstep in the doorway,she broke her shoulder.Despite all of this I thoroughly enjoyed my stay,food was average,rooms could have done witth some attention,but for what I paid I cannot grumble.The friendliness of staff and eagerness to help made up for all of bad points.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakieD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Grosvenor Hotel
Royal Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Property: The York Hotel
Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing