We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel”
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York Hotel
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Was an OK hotel for the price.

Shower was weak, the shower door didn't fully close and the £10 charge for the TV remote was annoying other than that the staff were helpful, good location next to the pier and room was clean with fresh towels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    125
    58
    35
    42
See reviews for
66
132
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently had our daughters wedding reception here, and we could not fault the service we had. Tasteful decor, well turned out, polite staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.a good disco, and the buffet was excellent. It looked and tasted wonderful, a variety of hot and cold dishes, and there was plenty of it. Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I visited this hotel recently. I've been there twice. I love it there and I keep begging my mam to take me there all of the time and it was great. I liked the rooms, the food it was great and the people are nice and kind. I love the staff; the way they treat you. They are very pleasant and very nice. They treat coustomers well, the way they should. I love the view andthe entertainment. I would love to go again - you may see me again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCHASDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After arriving very late in the evening (Well past the advertised 21:00 check in) we were met with a smile and extremely helpful staff. While this stay was only for a single night it was absolutely marvellous and we can only recommend the York Hotel to others.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, the beds were just the right side of soft. The view of the seaside was an added and extra bonus and as the hotel is virtually opposite The Grand Pier we had a lovely view of the lights.

We found the price to be incredibly reasonable so no complaints there. In the morning it transpired that as we were the only ones staying in the hotel the chef and manager were waiting on us! The breakfast was delicious and it has been a long time since I have had bacon prepared outside of my own home that was perfect and done just the way I like it. The dining room had a great sea view and was modern in it's trimmings and decoration.
Without a doubt one of the most pleasant and comfortable hotel stays we have ever had. You never know what you are going to get with an online booking, but the York Hotel surpassed all expectations. If we come back to Weston-Super-Mare then this is exactly where we will be staying. No doubt at all.
Brilliant.

Room Tip: You may want to plump for the King Size Bed as opposed to the double. The price difference is neglig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We visited with friends on a National Holidays weekend trip for £99 each, coach, central hotel, b&b evening meal plus trips to Bath & Bristol. We all had an excellent weekend. And the hotel was the centre of it at no time were we made to think we were on a budget weekend.
Great welcome from friendly staff, our room was small on the third floor, newly decorated, shower needed time to warm up, lift worked all the time, food choice was fine, not fine dining but adequate.
Waved off Sunday morning by "hotel family baby twins" from a great stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cisco66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited The York Hotel, Friday to Sunday to go to the Glastonbury Carnival by coach. Such a friendly welcome. At all times the staff were friendly and helpful. The manager was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy and spotlessy clean. The food was prompt and very nice. No complaints at all. Would not hesitate to go back. Would like to have a good look around the town which was a very short walk from the Hotel as was the pier. Thanks for very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Many have sea views if you put in a request on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Management went out of their way to make my partners anniversary a very special one.
we booked a standard room and they upgraded us to one of their best rooms which was fantastic, I had flowers and balloons in the room for my wife,

The staff cannot do enough for you,

Chef needs to smile a little more and be more approachable

Room Tip: Room 102 is fantastic sea views, plasma TV on the wall,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knighty747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Property: The York Hotel
Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing