We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restauarnt: Bad Experience. Never Again”
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The York Hotel
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I would like to start off by saying I have never typed a bad comment on any public internet site about anything since I first used a computer, so for me to feel as though I need to post a negative comment says a lot.

Well in May my chap and I decided to eat at the York Hotel restaurant because it looked quite pleasant on the outside, the food sounded good and for novelty reasons (my surname is York). When we went in, the restaurant was pretty much empty. Wasn’t quite sure why because it looked smart and there was modern music playing in the background which I didn’t mind but my chap did. Anyways, I decided to treat myself to the £12.95 Chicken Masala (chicken breast in a creamy Masala sherry sauce). My chap had ordered the Chicken Tagliatelle.
Before food was served I took myself to the ladies. That’s where alarm bells started to ring. There was only one toilet. There was no loo roll, the big window was boarded up, the tiles were falling off the wall, the floor was dirty and because there was no loo roll people had been using the paper towels to wipe themselves and flushing them down the toilet, blocking the toilet hole. I went back to the table and said to my chap in a jokingly but serious kind away, “I hope the food is nothing like what I just saw in the ladies restroom”. Well it was.
Food was served. I had literally half a plate of very lumpy mashed potatoes, a mouth full of peas and a piece of chicken you could not see because it was buried under half a plate of a very think sauce. The sauce was disgusting. My chap had one mouthful of my sauce and spat it out straight away and took one big gulp of his drink. Ok I thought I will scrape away the sauce. What was hidden under the sauce was a horrifying piece of so called chicken. It looked more like a rubbery flat pork chop than chicken. I was soooo stupid because despite it looking and tasting horrible I ate as much as I could because I was hungry and just wanted to leave. Whilst waiting for my chap to finish, I was amazed when the couple next to us complained about their meal. They had the steak. The man asked for a partial refund and the waiter said “sorry I cannot do that”. The man was not very impressed. When the waiter went away the couple spoke to us about how they didn’t enjoy their meal and about the loos etc, then they left.
On our way out I remember telling my chap, ‘my tummy doesn’t feel very good’. His didn’t neither, and saw yet another couple complaining. This time I think it was something to do with the hotel. Can’t be sure. Well we hadn’t walked very far when I had to rush into a pub to use their loo. I had the D’s and the taste of the horrible sauce kept coming up my throat. My tummy felt awful and yes it was because of the meal. It kept me awake at night and I didn’t have much to eat the next day. It ruined what started off as a lovely weekend away. The one thing I soooo regret not doing is taking a photo of the meal and toilets. I just hope the above is enough to go by. I would love to see what the food and hygiene people would say about the food we ate. Thank you for reading.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review.
I was very concerned when i read your review & could not understand why you didn't complain to a member of staff & request another meal.? The meal would of been changed or replaced no problem at all.
The ladies toilet are going to be refurbished & extended that is why the window is boarded up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Where do I start!! Having spent a lovely bank holiday Monday,enjoying the weather and the beautiful pier (charge of £1 to enter)we decided to have lunch at The York Hotel. Having ordered 4 fish,chips,peas with bread and butter and tea,we waited and waited.Eventually we were served,two portions ok but the other two dreadful,one meal in particular looked as if it had been thrown on the plate,and we never did get the bread and butter the waitress said she would return with. Having complained to a waitress about two of the meals,she took them away,20 minutes later my brother and myself having eaten our meals,we were still waiting for the 2 replacement meals.I am afraid in the end we cancelled those meals,the Manager came to speak to us,telling us we should have gone to the bar and told her,wasn't it the job of our waitress to inform her that customers had complained?We paid for the 2 meals we had eaten,although in hindsight wish we hadn't as our lunch was ruined by having to go to another restaurant so two of us could finally eat. We wont be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry about your lunch & did come & speak to you on the day.
The young lady that served you it was her 1st day & although this is not a excuse i think she was overwhelmed with how busy we were that lunch time & forgot a few things.
I hope you come back & visit us again.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed for three nights as part of a coach party,so got B&B and EM at a good rate.Plus got the remote for free.Bedroom on third floor was clean and warm,but a bit small.Pidgeon muck on window and condersation between windows.Asked to upgrade to a sea front room,but said they did not do that,even though we offered to pay extra.Having said that,the front rooms are above the bar area and outside bar area,so could have a bit of noise at night.Food was fine and a good choice for the price we paid.It is a bit dated and you do pass the kitchen on your way to the small lift.All in all,a budget hotel with no real problems.But passing noise at night in the early hours,and as it was a bank holiday,could expect that,but were told that some hotels along the front do have problems with young groups at weekends.Weston is a old fashioned resort,and the hotel may have seen better days,but tried.Only a few complaints from others in our coach party,but most enjoyed their stay and not to fussy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are best for the view,but above the bar and in front of the outside bar area,so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycoupleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review.
We have coach groups every week & pride ourselves on the food & service the staff give.
The sea view rooms are used when requested & we do not charge any extra.
unfortunately the outside noise is out of my control.
The small kitchen you pass on way to lift is where we cater for all our teas & coffees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent 2 very comfortable nights at The York Hotel, very good service, friendly staff and manager. The food was excellent with a good selection from the menu, the breakfast was lovely.The hotel has outstanding views of the seafront and there is plenty to keep you entertained all within walking distance. We will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently stayed here and for what I paid for a room you cant grumble at all. It was a nice spacious room and a nice size bathroom. We had breakfast there in the morning as well and that was good value for money. All in all a nice stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Myself, my husband and our son stayed for 2 nights at the hotel in one of the family rooms. From the outside the hotel looks lovely, if a little dated

We got given our keys to a family room, which was spacious but that's about it. Our chief concerns were:



1) Horrid mattress, could feel the springs every time you moved, coupled with a very unstable bed that creaked each time you moved in it

2) Window blind wouldn't close

3) Single bed duvet had ominous stains on it

4) Electrical socket detached from the wall

5 Toilet that made a hideous noise every time it flushed

6) Every time you moved in the room the floor boards squeaked

7) Peeling wallpaper

8) Comedy lift that felt more like an amusement ride



On the plus side the staff were great and the bar area modern and clean looking.

We enjoy staying in Weston, but in future, I think we will give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrysgirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A random walkin on a friday afternoon and nothing was too much trouble. Requested a seaview room (extra charge but worth it) Room 103 must be the best in the hotel. Hotel owner very accommodating and helpful. Had to pay extra for car parking and TV remote but not a problem..... one must imagine that previous guests must have taken the remotes with them.
What a sad situation!
Menu was reasonably priced and service was excellent. Breakfast not inclusive but at £5:95 for starter and full english is good value.
Overall experience good value.

Room Tip: 103 family room as a double is very good. Assume 102 is similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welbeck Hotel
Welbeck Hotel
#33 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
56 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £47 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing