We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Guest House !”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtland Guest House
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Guest House !”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here last weekend for a 60th birthday party, It was minus 3 outside but lovely and warm inside, had to turn the rad down. Easy to find, easy to park both nights, good size ensuite room, very clean, great picture on the TV, comfortable bed, great full English breakfast in the morning and very sociable owners. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was big enough for a week or longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Jilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thankyou for posting such a positive review. We are really glad you enjoyed your weekend with us, and can I also say that we thoroughly enjoyed your company! Hopefully you will have time to visit us again before the 70th Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

a big thanks to mick and gill for our lovely stay in weston. our room was spotless and was just like home from home. the food was hot and plentiful.the helpful hosts went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable.we would not hesitate to come here again.thanks again to mick and gill for making us most welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thankyou, mary b, for your very positive review. We are really glad that you enjoyed seeing the New Year in with us, and hope that we will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My Sisters and I spent a very enjoyable visit to the Courtland, I might add we are all fussy, but the friendlyness, of the owners the cleanlyness, the overall decor plus the excellent food We would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to anyone thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thankyou very much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just returned from 5 nights at the Courtland, good value especially as no charge for our small Jack Russell dog. Gill & Mick were always happy to help and even provided a small fridge for us so that we could keep the dogs food cold.
We had a Double en-suite room, not a huge room but just about enough for us, would have been a problem if the dog was bigger.
Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice.
Location is good, only a short walk to the beach and a ten minute or so walk into the town.
Weather was ok while we were away, the wind was the biggest problem, making it colder than it probably was.
It was disappointing though that there was not many places you could take the dog, The Grand Pier will not allow them full stop, I can understand in the main building but fail to see why they can not walk along the pier.
We were able to find one bar/pub that was more than happy for the dog to be in while we were eating, Stotties Bar which is attached to The Balmoral Hotel. Food was good value and the portions were large.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoonerNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thankyou, GoonerNeil, for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you felt your break was good value for money.
In light of your comments regarding 'doggie-friendly' attractions and eating establishments we are determined to spend some time this winter trying to formulate a definitive list in order to help our 'pet-loving' guests. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

first time we had been to weston super mare ,mick and gill our hosts were very friendly and made us welcome,we had a double en-suite room which we could not fault and the choices at breakfast ranging from a full english to just about anything including pancakes with maple syrup ,they gave us directions to various places and also a list of places to eat in the evenings allthough a walk into the town you were only a short walk to the beach and if you did not want to walk there was a very good bus service in and out of town buses about every six or seven minutes if we are ever down that way again we would have no doubts about were to stay and that is the courtlands guest house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thankyou very much for your extremely positve review of our Guest House. We always try our best to make everyone welcome and really appreciate your kind comments. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Courtland, arrived mid afternoon after a not too lengthy trip.
Gill and Mick were extremely helpful, gave very useful information about local amenities and restaurants.
Directions for quickest route to town.
A little too far if you had mobility problems or just did not want to walk back and forth to the house before eating.
Local Indian superb service and food.
Three nights food and drink all 3 restaurants acceptable.
Accomodation light and bright, clean and tidy. Lots of cupboards and drawers for luggage, although maybe a few more hangers could be useful.
Tea and coffee nice addition. As with most B&Bs and indeed hotels not always enough supplied but with a Tesco,Coop nearby a pint of milk was readily available.
Breakfast was freshly made, hot and delicious, cereals available and a never ending supply of orange juice.
Weston is a great beach place, The Pier was horrible, claustrophobic and just did not get it. Not much else to do. Luckily we had the best 2 days weather of the year so far.
All in all we would recommend The Courtland, but check out google live have a walk along the street it isn't the best area but The Courtland is better than that.

Room Tip: The room we had was a prettily decorated lilac one, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwonwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Sorry, Iwonwinnie, I have just realised that the reply I posted months ago is still floating in cyberspace! (No doubt I pressed the wrong button!)
We like to reply to all reviews, positive and negative, and take on board any constructive criticism.
As soon as we saw your comments we rectified the coathanger situation, and with regards to tea, coffee etc we are always happy to supply more on request, as our room information folder now says!.
I'm pleased that our local Indian Restaurant was up to standard - we always pass feedback on to them.
Your location comments are fully justified - we are a 12 to 15 minute walk into town - however there is a bus which passes our door every 10 minutes, and a taxi from town costs about £4.
We are sorry that the New Grand Pier didn't come up to your expectations - but really happy that our Breakfast did, and we always have a never-ending supply of Orange Juice!!
Hope to see you again if we have some more good 'Beach Weather'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Will try to write a fair and what I feel to be, a true description of our stay at Courtland Guest House.
Owners very friendly and helpful.
The room we had was dingy, dusty and drab, there was grease stains on the padded cloth headboard, plus lots of dust and hair, although this was cleaned after we had moved the pillows away to show the dust and hair, the grease stains still remained.
Stained carpet.
Shower cubicle tray/floor was clean, unfortunately the glass cubicle walls were extremely dirty with stains and grease very apparent, particularly at the bottom half of the glass walls.
The house smelt musty, except at breakfast time when the house just smelled of frying.
Decor is very dated. No communal areas to sit in and socialize so we felt isolated. being confined to our room when we were there.
The area the house is situated in, appears quite run down and although the beach is accessible at the top of the road, it is on the outskirts of town, to get into town without a car means a long walk to and from the guesthouse or a bus journey not ideal if someone has mobility problems.
Dining room was bright and cheerful and clean, the nicest room in the house.
Tea and coffee is available in all the rooms which is a nice touch.
Unfortunately I would not stay here again, in fact we cut our stay there short as the weather changed and we could not face staying there in the grime and dust.
At £330 for a weeks stay.......unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecats026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian W, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Over the past 13 years we have worked hard to build up a large, regular, client base, with some guests returning several times a year.
We take any comments extremely seriously and always do our utmost to rectify a problem that has been brought to our attention.
If we had been aware of your total dissatisfaction at any time during the 5 days of your stay with us there are several things we could - and would - have done.
At the very least we would have offered you an alternative room
If you had told us you preferred to leave we would not only have given you a refund, but could also have offered some suggestions with regard to alternative accommodation for the rest of your stay, which met with your criteria ie. In the centre of Town and with a Residents Lounge.
Since the reason you gave for cutting your stay short was the change in the weather we felt no obligation to offer any recompense.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and wish that you had given us a chance to address the situation at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#8 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverley Guest House
Beverley Guest House
#9 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtland Guest House

Property: Courtland Guest House
Address: 41 Severn Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing