We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality hotel, great trip”
Review of Queenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queenswood Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Staff really helpfull and friendly on arrival and during our stay! Got a choice of 3 different rooms that me and my girlfriend thought was amazing!! Rooms were clean and modern looking, with fantastic bathroom (great walk in shower)! comfy beds too! All in all a highly reccomended hotel for a weekend away! thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We always try to give people a choice of room when they check in if we can because we appreciate people have different tastes. All our double rooms have new beds this year which are pocket sprung and I hope are comfy! All the bed linen, duvets and pillows are also new this year giving we hope a great nights sleep or the best you can get being away from your own bed! We hope to see you again soon and hopefully the buses will work out better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Booking: As it was the bank-holiday weekend we were lucky to be able to find this hotel which was listed on a few websites. We also had the complication of finding a dog-friendly one at the last minute! A pleasant greeting on the phone and we had the choice of two rooms.

Arrival: Quite easy to find. We were slightly concerned about the lack of parking on ariival as the picture did make it look a bigger space, however the owners were accommodating by moving some cars. Still a tight fit so be aware of this. The dog was welcomed and they said they were willing to let the dog stay in the room on its own if required as it was small and would advise us by phone if there was s problem. We asked about dinner in the hotel and were slightly discouraged to do this but the owners were helpful in locating some restaurants.

Location: Very convenient, as it was just up a slight hill from the main promenade and a variety of restaurants and shops. A nice park nearby with a band stand. A few minutes walk to the centre.

Room: We had a choice of two, and whilst it was on the second floor, we went for the full onsuite and layout. It had had, like the other one, been newly refurbished with a good colour scheme and modern furniture and furnishings, nice bed with lovely pillows, linen was new. HD TV, hairdryer and ironing board. The ensuite was tight for space but well equiped with lovely towels and nice shower gel and hand lotion. The only problems with the room was that it faced out to houses opposite and people could probably see in if you didnt have the blind down, there was a shelf above our bedhead that we kept banging our head on, and there were still markings on the ceiling where lights were meant to be fitted. A couple of mistakes in the welcome statement in the hotel information.

Breakfast: Friendly staff and many options for your full english - a hearty well cooked breakfast!

Overall: A clean and friendly family run business and we would stay again!Thank you to Andrew and his family. Perhaps see you again next year!

Room Tip: Book in adavance as Weston is a busy seaside town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topaz_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, Owner at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments with regards to the Hotel.
We have a small dog ourselves and know how hard it is to find a hotel that will allow dogs. As you did we like people to inquire when they book about bringing their dog. We try to only allow a couple of dogs at any one time to be fair to them and the other guests. Yes parking is sometimes difficult at the hotel. We have a small forecourt for 4/5 cars and Victoria Park has no parking restrictions but can be tight in summer especially bank holidays. However we can always find you a space and do have some off site parking available. Unfortunately not all our rooms have sea view but we always try to allocate you one if you visit us again. The room you stayed in was recently refurbished with new bed, linens, carpet and furniture but the new headboard had not yet arrived! I will search out those light markings and the errors in the welcome brochure! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Having booked late via Booking.com after reading their positive reviews we were obviously concerned to then find the review dated Aug 22nd appear on this site describing the hotel as "Awful etc" . Well we booked for Aug 25th,26th and 27th and I'm pleased to say our experiece was totally the opposite to that review. Myself and two friends had rooms Nos 1 and 3 ( a first floor double with balcony and a single room). The rooms were excellent - well furnished and spotlessly clean. In fact all the parts of the hotel that we saw were the same and it has a lovely character. We found the owners David (father) and Andrew (son) very friendly and we would definitely stay at the Queenswood again and recommend it to family and friends. There is one aspect which I would accept could be improved and that was the initial welcome from David. He was in no way rude but to say the least he was certainly taciturn. He didn't introduce himself ( his name was on his top) - there was no 'Welcome to the Queenswood Hotel' - no friendly questions eg 'where are you from?' 'Have you had a good journey?' etc. Minimal conversation until you are given keys to the rooms and told where your room is. No other conversation or information about the hotel. Susequently it transpired he is a quiet, very nice man but I can well understand why a previous reviewer would regard the welcome as 'unfriendly'. I think we didn't worry - just so pleased to find the hotel seemed really nice after being worried by the Aug 22nd review!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken40c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

I am really pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay, room and balcony at the Queenswood. Yes the review on the 22nd was not great for us but I hope not reprehensive of our hotel. However I understand that we will not make everybody happy all the time and not everybody will like our hotel! We would be more than happy to welcome you back to stay with us whenever you wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Polite and friendly introduction to the hotel on arrival, which continued throughout our overnight stay. Double room modern and stylish in decor, recently refurbished we guessed. Single room very floral in design and both rooms very clean, comfortable and equipped with everything we could have needed. Not too sure about frilly toilet roll holders!

Short walk from hotel to seafront, we were very lucky with our parking to find a space so close. Standard range for breakfast, lovely service at table and presentation.

Definitely one to recommend and a safe choice if returning to Weston-super-mare.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank AliCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Sometimes last minute finds can make a night away and thank you for staying with us. Just to let you know the floral wallpaper has gone in the single and the room has recently been redecorated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Horrid Horrid most awful hotel Ive ever had the misfortune to set foot in!
Unfriendly staff, very unwelcoming!
Very very dirty room, months worth of dirt and grime! Tea stains down the wall, black net curtains, dusty dirty bathroom! shabby decor just awful! Checked in and then instantly checked back out!
£100 a night to stay in a flea pit! Never ever again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, Front Office Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

I really do not know how to respond to this review. We try our best to give our guests a good night away in Weston but appreciate that some people will just simply not like us. I find it unfortunate that you did not allow us or give us an opportunity to rectify the tea spillage or offer you a different room. However i appreciate we are not perfect and we are only human and we do make mistakes but do not believe this review represents our Hotel and is actually quite nasty. Please do visit our website or other websites that carry reviews and pictures before using this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We came back on the 31st may for a three day break at the Queenswood hotel, and very happy to say We had a very lovely break.
Has regular visitors to Weston, and have stayed in many hotels there, and the biggest hotels also, This hotel is run by family members and has a very homely appeal.
The hotel was very good standard, very clean and recieved a very warm welcome on arrival. We did not get a seaa view room but over looking our car so we was not to bothered booking only days in advanse anyway.
The room was adequete for a three day stay, very clean, complementary tray, lovely spacious modern bathroom, no problems with hot water. The bed was big and really comfortable, had briliant nights sleep, not cold has reported in some reviews
Stayed at `The Royal` in `Weston ` six months ago and had terrible sleep with the noise from club at the front.
The hotel is set just around the back not far from the sensory and Jills garden, it is on a residential but very quite and sleepy road and can park the car very easily without any problems around the road, if not enough space in the car park.
It can be hilly from one road, but if you follow the road round to the right side from the car park of Queenswood, it is much easier to walk, and foot paths flat to get to the sea front. and there is a paper shop down there to get your morning paper and drinks, toiletries etc.
The Staff where very friendly and approachable, We used the free Wi Fi, for my lap top and our room at the top of the building, and managed to get a very strong signal.
There was a problem the next day because of the B T line, but the hotel manager rang us in the room and was very helpful to get another signal from another sourse. Next day He approached us again to make sure We where able to get a signal okay.
The staff at Queenswood very friendly and served our breakfasts promptly and very efficienttly, coming around regularly to see if We required more coffee/ tea/ toast.
The breakfast was presented very nice and healthy options available,
I had haddock two mornings,
My husband chose the grilled breakfast option, which was plentiful.
there was yogurt grapefruit, and cereals and choice of juices available.
We did not have an evening meal has We where doing the sights,
But would definately go their again for another break.
It is ideal for couples, friends , families,if you want peace and quite and a restful break or holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angel2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for your kind and useful review. We try to ensure people enjoy visiting the South West and our Hotel whilst away for business or pleasure. Look forward to seeing you again and once again sorry about the issues with the wifi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We booked a double room for one night to include breakfast and paid £ 110 - 00 !!!!!!!!
How can they charge that much for a grotty room which needs complete refurbishment the breakfast was at the most average we checked out first thing in the morning and booked into a proper 3* hotel which was far far better in every way and much much cheaper !!!! The Queenswood hotel passed its sale by date years ago what world are they living in ????

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank pinkychriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try as hard as we can to ensure that our guests are happy and the hotel is looked after. Please contact us should you wish to discuss your stay. I will post photos of the room I believe you stayed in (room 2) for others reading reviews to make their own judgements and opinions. We constantly work with many local businesses to improve our property since 1969 and we are very sorry we did not meet your standards or expectations with your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
642 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenswood Hotel

Address: 17 Victoria Park, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queenswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing