We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”
Review of Queenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queenswood Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We recently celebrated my parents' 60th wedding anniversary and wanted to book a hotel in Weston where they were born. The whole family stayed at the Queenswood Hotel and without exception we were all delighted with the service, cleanliness and standard of the rooms (with views to die for). On the Saturday night Andrew and his team provided a meal for 26 of us which was excellent. We were provided with everything we asked for and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast next morning was superb and we would not hesitate to recommend this fantastic hotel for either a holiday break or a special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just come back from a week end at this hotel. Lovely stay.Clean rooms,personnel service was great.Breakfast yummy.Owners very helpful and friendly. Beautiful building. Would love to stay again.So many good places to eat out too.Lots of information on hand in the hotel.Also got a bit of a discount on line which always helps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed over at the Queenswood due to a business meeting rather than pay more to stay at the Premier Inn so expectations were not too high. However was very pleasantly surprised by this well kept, friendly and extremely well presented building. The welcome was immediate and continued during the stay. Breakfast standard was also very good. The room I had (Room 1) contained everything you would need including hairdryer, ironing and tea and coffee facilities and had a nice little touch of a sweet bowl containing local sea-side rock. It also had very good views of Weston Super Mare and the sea. Parking space is limited but adjacent road parking is easy to find and the beachfront is a short walk while the town centre is about 10 mins away. Reviews should not be used to complain when thing go wrong but to provide advice and preferably justifiable recommendations, therefore as a traditional home from home when away either on business, short break or sea-side holiday the Queenswood is comfortable and welcoming. There is a dining room for breakfast but no actual restaurant for the evening however a selection of meals and snacks are available presumably served in the bar area or as room service at a small charge. Nearby restaurants of varied cuisine are plentiful for all budgets. I'm sure there are more expensive and luxurious hotels available, but enjoyed the stay, appreciated the service and for price alone would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

stayed 4 nights oct 2012. this hotel has some fantastic views, with high standard of cleanliness, lovely furnishings combining modern and traditional styles. About ten mins walk from the main town, up an incline. great breakfasts. on site parking available though a little tight ! would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: fab views to the front and the side, no lift and quite a climb to the second floor. balcony rooms av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferneybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Queenswood Hotel is a quiet, medium-size, clean and comfortable, family run hotel of a good standard. There were odd spaces along the road where we could have parked without restriction had there not been a space on the forefront. We had arrived early on a Friday afternoon in early September and were checked in by the son Andrew who helpfully directed us to a parking space on the small forefront and was anxious to give us a room that suited us. We were given a choice of a couple of sea-view rooms, one on the first floor with a sunken bath, but as there were decorators working outside the window at the time we opted for a smaller but bright and airy room on the top floor that had a walk-in shower in a good size en-suite bathroom, shower gel supplied. The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed with a well sprung mattress, which I understand is standard with this hotel, and there was tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. There is a bar at the hotel but currently no evening restaurant, but we had decided to eat out in the town for the two nights we were at the hotel anyway. There is no lift so it is necessary to climb the stairs to the first and second floors. The hotel is up a hill so if walking, as we preferred to do, it only takes 5 to 8 minutes down to the shops or sea front, and a little longer to return up the hill if you have difficulty in walking. The advantage is that the hotel is in a quiet location so no traffic noise or revellers to spoil your night’s sleep. All in all, we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay for two nights at the Queenswood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmad181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had a 1 night stay on 22/09/12. We checked in and all went well. We were on the top floor. Room 19. Room was spacious and very clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits provided.
Bathroom was ok with a large walkin shower. Unfortunatley the shower leaked from the hose and the head folder kept folding in towards the wall. It was obvious that it had been like this for some time. Wouldn't take much to fix.

Breakfast was a little problematic with my wife being brought the wrong breakfast twice. It would have helped if the waitress had taken a note of the order.

Parking is a problem. I would park on the road. Plenty of space.

Is the room worth £83. If you had a view. Probably. If not. Then no.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

230912 Just returned from an overnight stay at the Queenswood. where do i start! On arrival was it expecting to much to be shown to our room i found myself asking, this was after parking my sardine with the others! On entering the room my mood brightened somewhat as the balcony offered a beautiful view of Weston, this turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Im sure in its day the hotel was stunning, but sadly now looks very tired. On returning from our night out we settled down for a good nights sleep, at 4am my partner woke me, the noise from the room next door(couple shouting and screaming, and clearly fighting) was very distubing, and she was naturally worried for the female involved. I phoned from our room to one of the owners who enlightened me he was not on the premises and he didnt want to wake his father!! Customer care out the window one thinks! So after an awful nights sleep we went down to breakfast, sadly another dated room, scrambled egg dry, poached ,under cooked, not a good breakfast experience im afraid! Having spent £100 i had hoped for something much better. So in summing up a lovely balcony view that will cost you£100, money not well spent!!!!!

Room Tip: room 1 the jacuzzi doesnt work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
631 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenswood Hotel

Address: 17 Victoria Park, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queenswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing