We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, clean room”
Review of Queenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queenswood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, clean room”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

OK shower, as is bed. However, walls are wafer thin so I could hear conversation and snores from next door. Breakfast was really good. Generous size, well cooked, hot, promptly served full English breakfast. Pity about the walls. Not much they can do about that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    66
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
102
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kouvola, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

As soon as we we greeted by the staff: you haven't got a view from your room and as you are only staying for one night, so it doesn't matter so much ( but it was our holiday night so it defenitively matters) we felt that we have seen this place before somewhere. We were also asked to pay for the room, although it had already been paid through hotels.com. The room 5 we were given had no resemblance with the photos of the booking site. The site promised a lovely room with a refurbished bathroom. Our room had a sink in the room itself dating back to 1970's ( see photos inclosed) and the "bathroom" was from the same era. On top of that there was a comlimentary long brown hair under the pillows... During the night the room was extremely hot although the temperature outside was under 20C. When mentioned this to the staff member, his comment was that here in the UK we have a saying, we complain all the time about the weater, it's either too cold or too hot... At 7.15 we were woken by the waste collecting truck emptying bins just outside our window. Maybe that is a perfect time to wake up during your holiday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and i recently stayed at Queenswood Hotel for three nights. As other reviews have stated we were given the choice of two rooms - 1 and 22. It was nice to have the choice, we never have had before. Room one meant paying £10 extra per night. We looked at both rooms and both had a lovely view of the bay so we stuck with 22. The hotel was lovely, very clean with a big lounge/bar with tv and a dining room. It was a very attractive building and only 5-10 mins walk from the seafront, althought its quite steep.

Although we had a good stay there were a couple of down sides.

Parking was quite problematic. The “car park" was like a little drive and fitted about four cars at most. Although we expected the car park to be small, we though we would find a road to park in near by. This was a big mistake as all the roads were restricted or had double yellow lines. It took at least 15 minutes to find a space, and this was restricted from 9-6pm. To his credit the manager did manage to fit us in the car park when we checked in. We decided not to go out anywhere in the car so that we didn't have to worry about parking. Next morning we went down for breakfast at about 8 am. No sooner had we sat down and another guest asked if we could move the car so that she could get out. This wasn't a problem, but it made us wonder how long she had been waiting, and it worried us that we would have to keep moving the car throughout our stay. Luckily this wasn't the case.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. My husband had the “full English" breakfast on the first day. There was no sausage which we found very bizarre. The bacon was fully cooked but had been cooked on one side only and not turned over. My husband who loves bacon said it wasn't very nice. He had egg on toast the other two mornings we were there which was average.

On the whole we had a good stay but the parking and the breakfast mean we wouldn't stay again. Its a shame as its such a lovely place.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of room and can manage stairs go with 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel with a friend. Parking is not great so be warned. I'm not the greatest at parking but I had to parallel park between two cars, on a Steep hill so I certainly got to practice my skills. Upon arrival, we were checked in by a man who was polite. We were given two single rooms, one with a sea view and one without. Rooms were lovely, just what we wanted although they were very warm. Comfy bed, nice ensuite, TV, hair dryer and toiletries. Fresh towels. Breakfast was only till 9.15am but the waitress was friendly and the food was good. Anything we asked for, we got. The hotel itself is in a nice location. Near the sea front. Great crazy golf nearby. Supermarket and off-licence just round the corner. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LTT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are considering a stay in Weston - book here. Amazingly attentive service, beautiful modern room, with a brilliant sea view. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner, and I had a fantastic 4 night stay - thank you. I stay away from home a lot, and I can safely say this is THE best breakfast you will ever experience! The ingredients used are outstanding, especially the bacon which is absolutely delicious. Any combination of breakfast can be catered for, and I can honestly say I didnt eat again until the evening - truly superb. The room was immaculate, powerful shower, fluffy clean towels every day and it had a modern, light and airy feel to it. I had 4 excellent undisturbed nights sleep, this is truly home from home and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I look forward to returning again in the very near future. Thank you Queenswood Hotel.

Room Tip: There are some superb sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tramlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel. It's our second stay and it's lovely in the summer or winter. We stay in room 1 which has a dated bathroom and broken jacuzzi bath yet the view gorgeous balcony and excellent cleanliness make up for it. The whole hotel has a lovely warm relaxed and well kept feel to it. Lovely breakfast with good choices. I have grapefruit and scrambled eggs 10% discount for retuning customers. No brainer! Always worth the journey.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovethebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel has the look outside of a Victorian house. It has been nicely painted on the outside recently. Our greeting was muted but polite and no problem. The public area was not to large with a small bar. No hand pulled beers. Our room was a good size and very clean. It seemed to have been refurbished although in a slightly old fashioned way. The bathroom was very modern and well appointed. There seems to have been an effort to bring the hotel into the 21st century and mostly it has worked. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a very good cooked breakfast served by a lovely and friendly lady. The location is up a short steep hill but close to the seafront and all the amenities you would want. Car parking might be a problem as there is only room for 4 cars although you can park on the street if you can find a space. There is a public car park a short walk away. We were happy with our stay here, it is nothing special but for good clean comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price it was good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
612 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
433 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenswood Hotel

Property: Queenswood Hotel
Address: 17 Victoria Park, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queenswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Queenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing