We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food”
Review of Bengal Raj

Bengal Raj
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Mendip Hills Somerset
Level Contributor
379 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We love indian food so took a chance visit to this restaurant the first time and have kept returning its so good. Excellent service, splendid food, best curry I have had anywhere, friendly manager who makes people really welcome. Definitely the best in the south west.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    14
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great meal and great value”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Visited on a Sunday evening with our two kids. Took advantage of the 9.95 GBP 4-course meal deal and were impressed that you could choose pretty much anything from the menu for everything but the starters. The food was delicious, everything was well cooked and our only complaint (if you can call it that) was that the keema and cheese naan bread was a little too cheesy!

Throughout our meal the staff were some of the friendliest and hospitable we've found in indian restaurants and they really made a fuss of our children, bringing them complimentary drinks and ice cream. The owner came over and had a chat to us about how importantly he valued family life which I found to be really nice.

Weston itself isn't the nicest seaside resort, but we'll certainly be returning, just to visit the Bengal Raj!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I love this place!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I really have a soft spot for this place, it might be because its just down the road from where I live and I've visited so many times, but there is always a really good atmosphere inside. The waiters are really friendly and funny and make the meal into a really good experience. There is also nice authentic Indian decor and sitar music in the background. The food is excellent. I am not too keen on spicy food, and normally go for a korma, which can taste like a dessert sometimes, but their korma hydrabaddy is my favourite curry ever, full of flavour but not too creamy and sweet. I just love place, also excellent value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iancharmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab Indian restaurant in Weston”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The Bengal Raj is probably the best Indian in Weston Super Mare!
On a Sunday + Thursday they do a 4 course special (starter, any main, any side and either rice or naan bread). It is only £9.95 and is amazing value! The service is normally very prompt and friendly!
They remember your face and ask after you when you go again.
The wine is reasonable and very drinkable, as is the beer.
It is a lovely night out and you leave there very full and content!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, nice place, recommended”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We went on a deal night where you get a starter, main rice, naan or side for £10. Great value, lovely food, funny waiter made us laugh alot. Only thing I wasn't keen on was the lack of lighting, I know its romantic and nice but was very dark, maybe 2 candles per table would have suited better.
Otherwise highly recommended for good eating, good value, nice staff and a enjoyable pleasant evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Raj also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Bengal Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing