We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Grand Pier

Grand Pier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following the disastrous fire in July 2008 that destroyed the Pavilion at Weston-super-Mare’s top attraction, The new multi-million pound Pavilion, opened its doors in October 2010. The all-weather venue has fantastic views of the shoreline, beach and sea and inside you will discover some of the best coastal entertainment, rides & attractions the South West has to offer.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Everytime we visit the Somerset area we visit Weston as my partner loves the pier and seafront there.

When we arrived this time we were disappointed to see that we had to pay to get onto the pier. Surely they make enough money without charging an entrance fee every time you wish to go onto the pier. We begrudgingly paid, there's no evidence of that money going towards the upkeep of the pier!

We went on some of the arcade games and queued up for the go karts. The lads running the go karts were extremely unprofessional, swearing whilst young children were around, spraying each other with cleaning products and generally being childish and unprofessional.

Would have revisited the pier later on in the day to go back on the arcade but we weren't willing to pay to go back onto it.

Probably be the last time we visit Weston pier on our trips down to the south east. Disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPier, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The nominal £1 entrance fee goes towards the essential maintenance of the Grand Pier sub structure. This has to be carried out annually and costs hundreds of thousands of pounds. Unlike other attractions we are a quarter of a mile out to sea and open to the elements.

We hope you reported the behaviour of go kart staff to someone on the Grand Pier. If you email info@grandpier.co.uk giving the date and time of your visit we can check the rota and find out who was on duty.

Kind regards.

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    792
    543
    228
    218
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amused the kids, but loud and expensive”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

To start with it cost a pound each to enter the pier, fair enough, but everything on there costs a fortune. There is a train that takes you up and down but that is another 50p each. Walking up is empty space, no stalls or shops. Once in its very, very noisy, about ten rides for the kids, £1 to £5 each so it works out cheaper to buy the £12.50 wrist band, my 12 year old got her monies worth. The 4 year old was happy in the play area for an hour or two. My daughter enjoyed the go karts even though she waited over an hour to get on. The kids were amused for a few hours but very expensive for what it is, don't go out of your way for it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPier, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our all day unlimited ride wristbands do offer great value and they are available every weekend and during school holidays.

Kind regards.

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didoct
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but why do they need the music so loud?”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I like this place they have good games but every were you go they have loud music even in the toilets it is mad!
It is one of best places in W-S-M and you do have to pay £1 but that is fine

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LookingMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPier, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We are very pleased you enjoy visiting the Grand Pier. We have been experiencing some problems with our sound system and hope it is now fixed so we can control the volume more accurately.

Kind regards

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly charging to enter the pier which is manned by rude staff. Couldn't understand how we paid yet staff was letting some visitors in free not right.
Then the arcade some machines took your money and didn't work. Then you use the change machine and you get fake coins so exchange them at the kiosk to get more fake £1 coins.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckylusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPier, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Everyone pays to enter apart from children in pushchairs or those with seasonal passes. We take your allegation of fake £1 coins very seriously and hope you reported this to our change booth staff on the day of your visit. We do everything we can to avoid fake currency.

Kind regards.

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive and not enough variety”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We've been here a few times and we always take a stroll along the pier - the kids love it and it's not a bad view from the end. The amusments are a bit brash and loud but typical seaside fayre. The tea rooms are expensive and the quality of the food is not that great - avoid it and go somewhere else is my advice. Once you've done those two things there's really not much else to do on the pier apart from enjoy the view but that's spoiled by the constant piped music. There's not a hope of hearing the sea or the gulls - all part of a beach holiday. And what really turned us off this time was the £1 per head charge just to go on the pier - even children (my youngest is 4) are charged! Unless you love amusement arcades I'd say save your money, buy a bucket and spade and enjoy the beach - much better value!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank branty1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandPier, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We invested £52 million in the re-build of the Grand Pier and we have fourteen major rides. Some are bespoke and unique to the UK. We have an ice cream parlour, self-service restaurant, fully licensed bar as well as our Tiffany tea room. We have catering outlets to suit all pockets.

If you were dissatisfied with your visit to our tea rooms we sincerely hope you let our staff know. That is the only was we can pick up on failings.

Kind regards

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Pier also viewed

Hewish, Weston-super-Mare
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Grand Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing