We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best chips ever”
Review of Cafe la Mer

Cafe la Mer
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional family run english seaside cafe - same ownership since 1963 - great homecooked food, fantastic value & brilliant service.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best chips ever”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we went in for a drink and a snack had the hand cut chips they were crisp and fluffy needles to say we went back 3 out of the 4 days we were there .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cafe la Mer is everything a cafe should be.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stumbled across this lovely English cafe last week and had a delicious home cooked meal. It's cosy and very friendly and the service was excellent. Really inexpensive but quality food, which was piping hot and there was plenty of it too. Would definitely go back if we're in Weston-super-Mare again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_G_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Consistently good quality and value - a lovely little cafe. Friendly owner with graciously charming waitress. Genuine and characterful with the pedigree of long-standing. Very popular with many regulars. All freshly cooked on the premises. I fully recommend this place. (Do be aware however that the seaside photo presented is not the prospect from Cafe la Mer but gives an impression of the holiday feel of Weston-Super-Mare.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VaughanEwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give it a go - you'll be pleased you did!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I discovered this cafe/restaurant the other day after having a tuna mayo sandwich on lovely brown bread full of tasty bits (not cheap supermarket slices) whilst my daughter had a tuna mayo jacket potato, both with a small salad. We also sampled the lovely (non-greasy) hand cut chips.
I couldn't wait to go back, so today my husband and I had the 3 course meal for an amazing £7.35 each. Minestrone soup followed by home made chicken and vegetable pie with hand cut chips & peas, then jam roly poly with custard. I chose the apple fruit juice, roast chicken (very tender breast no bones) with roast & boiled pots, cauli, carrots and peas. Both meals were made to order with extremely fresh produce.
The service is faultless - when the waitress (Mugi) found out I preferred decaf tea, she immediately took the normal one away and brought me a fresh pot of decaf. I didn't ask when I ordered as most places just don't offer it.
Sadly, most people don't get to walk along the road where Cafe la Mer is situated, or prefer to have a sea view whilst eating, therefore staying on the seafront. Yes, the view outside is not the best, and Nick is trying to improve the property, but PLEASE - just go and try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed. They need all the help they can get in these difficult economic times and I for one have become a regular customer even if just for a cuppa and cake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pc1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

8 of us turned up. Coped very well with an order variety that would have confused the best. Gluten free no problem. Recommend Cafe la Mer to anyone. Also reasonably priced. Thanks Nick

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wacker1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe la Mer also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Cafe la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing