We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab for a weekend”
Review of Cabot Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabot Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab for a weekend”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Cabot Court Hotel for just the one night with another couple. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a lovely view of the sea front but over the smokers/outside patio so was a little worried it would be noisy later in the evening but we didn't hear a thing even though the bar stays open till 3am. However our friends had the only ground floor room (which was very large) in the hotel they didn't have a view sadly just a fire escape outside their window and they did here a lot of noise when people were leaving the bars. But the only real problem the rooms have is a green emergency light which glows all the time and if you like to sleep in total darkness (as one of our friend did) it leads to a very bad nights sleep however my partner and I had a brilliant nights sleep as the bed and pillows were lush!!!

We ate breakfast in the bar (bookings do not include breakfast) but as its a Wetherspoons the breakfast was large, hot and very good value for money. We would stay here again but for a couple of nights as one wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Book by phone not on-line so you can speak direct to the nice receptionist who will give you the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    252
    58
    20
    6
See reviews for
163
447
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed the first Saturday The Cabot Court opened as we couldn't wait to try it. Judging by the amount of people there, most of Weston wanted to as well. Check in by friendly helpful staff and then the most beautiful rooms with sea view, we were more than impressed. Spotlessly clean and wonderful comfortable beds. We had a meal in the bar on the evening after only a short wait and once again found all the staff polite and friendly even though they were rushed off their feet. Really cannot understand anyone complaining about noise staying there on a Saturday night as it is a Lloyd's Bar which Wetherspoon advertise as a music bar and obviously something needed in this area.
My only complaint would be that the breakfast is not hot enough and should be served on warmed plates. Something Tim has spoken about in the magazine.
We are real Wetherspoon fans and will certainly be visiting again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Sea view at front of hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanSGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night. Any body booking a room in a Lloyds bar on a Saturday need to understand it WILL be noisy. We were very fortunate to have a sea view at the front with a lovely bay window. The rooms were fantastic. I've stayed in may 4/5 star hotels and this was one of the best. Very high finish to the rooms. The rooms are large with excellent beds and quilts etc. There was tea/coffee/biscuits/spring water/sparkling water all complementary. The reception staff were so helpful. Showing excellent customer service.

We ate an evening meal which was quite late but had no problems with waiting. We also had breakfast the next morning. The only problems really was the food was cold. Not served on hot plates. The staff in the Lloyds bar was also excellent. As this was the opening weekend they were all rushed off their feet. They all smiled and worked really hard.

We have stayed in many of the Wetherspoons hotels and would rate this as the best. It's a lovely building and been renovated to a very high standard. We had a lovely weekend and will visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We thought we would try this for our evening meal as it looked new & fresh, big mistake we had to wait nearly 2 hrs 4 our food which when it came it was cold & got asked to leave twice by a bouncer as kids are only allowed in til 9 we had to keep explaing we had not yet recieved our food ! Plenty of people were conplaining and getting a full refund .. It's ok 4 a drink but do not eat here ...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wheato36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabotCourtHotel, Manager at Cabot Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
I am very sorry for the issues you have listed in your review. You visited in our first 2 weeks of opening and unfortunately we did not get it right for you and some others on this occassion. The combination of a brand new team, building and the exceptionally high trade at the time was the reason for this failing but in no way excuses it. This review along with many other customer comments through our suggestion box has been discussed and remedial actions identified. I am confident that all of the issues listed in your review have been corrected and communicated to the team and that if you were to give us a second chance you would be much happier second time around. I hope you give us the opportunity to get things right .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We are great Wetherspoon fans& wanted to try Cabot court hotel.The terrace entrance had metal steps( slippery when wet no ramp)to the best area for paying guests,as there is an access door to rooms.but only a ladies loo& no bar.Up another level bar, busy & music through late ,Disabled & mens down several levels,if you come in street level bar with the crowds of drinkers hard to get through for anyone not super fit.The sheer volume of crowds,ended in big trouble later that night.The electronic card gave up in the night so no electricityNot enough thought for staying guests,but did like the place!

Room Tip: Try a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemarguerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Court Hotel

Property: Cabot Court Hotel
Address: Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Court Hotel is a newly refurbished GRADE 2 LISTED building. All of our 21 rooms are en-suite and offer tea & coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, and a telephone to receive incoming calls. All of our rooms also house state-of-the-art LCD televisions with most of the rooms enjoying fantastic sea views. We have a great sun deck where you can take in the views of Weston's award-winning beaches and a great views of Steepholm and Cardiff. This is the perfect location for a Great British getaway; enjoy long walks on the beach and everything that Weston-super-Mare has to offer including the world-famous Grand Pier. The hotel is situated behind and above our Wetherspoon & Lloyds No.1 Bar, which has music playing Thursday and Saturday nights till 1am; Entry is free. Please note some residents may experience some noise from the Lloyds No.1 Bar. We are all here to help you in any way we can to make your stay better; if you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask any member of our team. Look forward to seeing you here. Unfortunatly we do not have any parking on site. There are 4 car parks in the area that start from £5.50 For 24 hours. There is a pull in point for the hotel entrance where you can drop off your luggage and we will happily give you directions to the best car park for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cabot Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing