We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and great staff”
Review of Cabot Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester - UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and great staff”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Myself and some mates stayed here for one night whilst watching a gig on the Pier. Great hotel, very friendly reception staff with clean and spacious rooms.

Attached to the hotel is a bar and once again everyone from the bar staff to the door security were excellent.

If i am in the area again it is the only place i would stay.

Room Tip: Sea views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    251
    57
    20
    6
See reviews for
163
443
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

HOTEL & PUB ARE LINKED - This was delightful, stepping from the (mostly) peaceful hotel into the lively pub & back, almost like going from one world to another through a (double) door, & so convenient!
CAR PARK - The hotel doesn't have a car park & its drop-off point was full/blocked & finding a spot in the next-door hotel's car-park for drop-off was a nightmare! Also the hotel didn't have an arrangement with the car park a couple of hundred yards away for ease of getting weekly ticket; you have to go to the Tourist Information Centre during its opening hours (9-5 Mon-Sat).
NOISE - It turned out that the Lloyds No.1 Bar in the hotel has a deafening disco on Fridays till 2am & Saturdays till 3am which made our room rattle it was so loud! - & when I complained, they said they knew our room was over the speaker (so why didn't they tell us?!) & that 10 of the rooms are affected & another 10 moderately affected - so out of 29 rooms it's more than 1 in 3 chance that the room will be affected by the disco! However, on Sunday to Thursday the room was very quiet, bliss! (Room 211)
Eventually the hotel arranged for us to spend the night at the hotel over the side road, but only after saying we’d have to drive half an hour to another hotel at 11pm! - & after lots & lots of moaning.
(The hotel over the side road, The Lauriston, is a Vision Hotel, specialising in blind guests - intriguing as I'd not heard of that.)
(This is why we marked down the hotel’s Location rating, otherwise it’d’ve got 5/5.)
ALARM - Our first morning there, the fire alarm went off at 5.45am! - we'd just got ready to leave the room when it stopped. Nothing was ever said by way of explanation, but it went off too long for being tested & it wasn't a drill.
SHEETS, TOWELS & BINS – Sheets - Our bed was remade most days BUT they just used the same sheets - I'd noticed that there was a tiny red dot on it & it stayed in the same place all week.
Towels - Bathrooms have a notice saying to put towels in the bath to be changed or leave on towel-rail if still OK, but on our last full day there the towels were all taken from the rail, as though we were due to be gone that night when we weren't! - Luckily there were some other towels still in the wardrobe.
Bins – our bin was changed twice, but one of those times its liner wasn’t replaced! – luckily we had a spare carrier bag to put in.
HEIGHT INCONSISTENCY! - You have to be over 5'8" to reach the switch for the bathroom fan, over 5'6" to see through the door's eyehole, but under 5'5" to walk under the low, huge ceiling lightshade that was in our room! - dunno if shade height's similar in other rooms.
SHOWER DIFFICULTY - The shower operation is very unusual, with a hidden button under the left-hand knob, but no instructions! - but once figured out, it was good. The bath/shower taps have tiny faint etching on (of instruction icons) but this is in the shade of the shower curtain & so can’t be seen after dark except by torch! – so remember to take note of it during daylight.
Also the floor is fairly slippery & so best not step out of the bath/shower without holding onto the bath’s safety handle, as there’s not a non-slip bathroom mat, just a floor-towel.
DECOR FINISH DETAIL - the room & bathroom were finished to a very high standard, v.neat carpeting, tiling & sealant etc., lovely curtains & matching chair, lightshade & mirrors – we particularly liked the basin’s swivel-plug!
However the basin’s immovable monoblock tap protrudes inconveniently over the smallish basin, making it difficult for me to wash my hair (can’t take shower head down for this as it’s fixed to wall) & difficult for my partner to shave – but the basin’s fine for just washing hands. It’d be much better if the monoblock could be swivelled out of the way.
ROOM SIZE - Our room (211) was big (guess 16' x 13') with big bathroom (guess 10' x 5'9") & a walk-in wardrobe (guess 6' x 6').
ROOM CONTENTS - Our double bed was 2 singles pushed together - OK as the beds are newish & don't sag in the middle yet! Desk was overcrowded with tea stuff & telephone but could easily’ve been twice the size in the large room. Room only had 1 chair, although double room. TV is flat-screen & can just be seen under the low-hanging light-shade from in bed (cos only 1 chair) (TV doesn't have DVD & is Freeview only.)
STAFF - mostly very good (well, except maids slightly dubious, see above!); all friendly & nearly all helpful. I felt sorry for them when we had to moan about the incredible noise level from the disco - they did their best (after initially & persistently saying they’d covered themselves in the small print!) - but management should keep disco much quieter to prevent disco-goers' deafness (& staff deafness, for which they could easily be sued!) & should make sure to warn hotel guests about it in advance, preferably on the website before they book! – the website’s tiny line that they refer to (when I had to moan about the incredible disco noise) about there being a Lloyds No.1 Bar, is insufficient warning!
FIRE SAFETY - Fire doors should obviously fit well, but ours had a wedge-shaped gap under it (converted old building, some floors aren’t level, but no problem to walk on) which was an incredible 2” wide at door’s opening edge. The town’s fire-inspectors should’ve spotted this & ordered it fixed but, as they missed it, it’s possible that other room doors are like this too (didn’t look). I’ll be telling the hotel about this & so I’m sure they’ll get it fixed soon (an easy job for a good carpenter).

Room Tip: Front rooms are over the disco (especially room 211) & so, unless going to the disco, front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights in September.

Hotel is very nice with big well equiped rooms that were clean and well maintained.

Staff were helpful and friendly and the bars have good beers and food with good portions and a wide selection. Service in the bars was good.

No problem recommending this to anyone, a great stay and good value

Room Tip: Remember there is no parking so you have to pay to park somewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

me and my husband stayed here for the night of our wedding. we had a lovely spacious room and bathroom the room was clean and tidy. the view from our room was lovely and looked right across to the grand pier. i cannot comment on price as this was a wedding gift from friends. the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. i would recommend anyone to stay at this lovely hotel and would like to say thank you to the staff for making the end of our wedding day perfect..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in room 106 which was a luxury double room, although it was nice, it wasnt quite up to the standard of the previous Briar Rose wetherspoon hotel we stayed in. Excellent service, receptionist welcoming. Our room had excellent view across to sea front and pier but was loud until 3amish. The door from the bar to the rooms banged loudly everytime someone came threw. Could hear the music and the noise of people sat outside.
Room was clean, tidy and well equipped, but we probably wouldnt return due to the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juberrys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from another visit to this hotel. Our views have not changed. It is very good. The reception staff are extremely helpful and efficient. The rooms and every aspect is of a high standard. A measure of a hotel is how well they deal with problems. The room we had specified was not available – we were upgraded to a much better room with no fuss. A few comments. Booking on the Internet is easy but there may be advantages in phoning. You can discuss any particular requirements and the staff can advise of any local issues. The Internet form does warn of noise from the bars at the weekend but you might miss this. If you are going to stay over the weekend the staff can tell you which are the quieter rooms. Although the hotel is of a high standard the bars and restaurant are standard Weatherspoons. Good food and drink at very reasonable prices with,usually, friendly and efficient service. Formulaic but if you have been to a Weatherspoons you know exactly what to expect. But if you are eating later in the evening or it is school holidays it can be noisy. Not conducive to a quite tête a tête. We ate early evening and had no problems.

Room Tip: Suggest phone and discuss with staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our room wasn't a sea view as we had booked a 'standard' double and we over-looked the car park but nevertheless the room was magnificent and we weren't there to look out of the windows anyway. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Tea & coffee, biscuits and bottled water in the room. My husband asked if they had a postal service and although they didn't the helpful receptionist took our post cards and posted them on her way home! There is a holiday express (or similar) opening close by this Autumn and as a result the Cabot Court will be lowering their prices! book up!! The only MINOR downside I can comment on is that the chef could do with heating the plates for breakfast... A thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay - thank you!

Room Tip: don't book over looking car park as there was a generator (or similar) outside our bedroom windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devina_Teunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Court Hotel

Property: Cabot Court Hotel
Address: Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Court Hotel is a newly refurbished GRADE 2 LISTED building. All of our 21 rooms are en-suite and offer tea & coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, and a telephone to receive incoming calls. All of our rooms also house state-of-the-art LCD televisions with most of the rooms enjoying fantastic sea views. We have a great sun deck where you can take in the views of Weston's award-winning beaches and a great views of Steepholm and Cardiff. This is the perfect location for a Great British getaway; enjoy long walks on the beach and everything that Weston-super-Mare has to offer including the world-famous Grand Pier. The hotel is situated behind and above our Wetherspoon & Lloyds No.1 Bar, which has music playing Thursday and Saturday nights till 1am; Entry is free. Please note some residents may experience some noise from the Lloyds No.1 Bar. We are all here to help you in any way we can to make your stay better; if you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask any member of our team. Look forward to seeing you here. Unfortunatly we do not have any parking on site. There are 4 car parks in the area that start from £5.50 For 24 hours. There is a pull in point for the hotel entrance where you can drop off your luggage and we will happily give you directions to the best car park for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabot Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing